We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Slipway

Expedia.comUS$160*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$160*
US$160*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Slipway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 369: English reviews
Start your review of The Slipway
 Click to rate
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our 4 nights at The Slipway. It is more than just a B&B since it is also a pub with very good food and a great terrace. Located by the harbor and close to the Coastal Path it provides a great opportunity for experiencing the wonderful ambience of Port Isaac. The breakfast was very good - order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank couture3
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived in the middle of filming for Doc Martin and a little miffed to be stopped from entering by one of the film crew. Once told that we just wanted to check in he let us through, as we approached the door we spotted Martin Clunes off to the right. Our room was well furnished and the bed very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnDaniels51
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi John Thank you for the lovely review. The Doc Martin film days can be a bit tedious but they do bring a great revenue to the Village. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also I hope the coast walk treated you well :) Best Regards Phil H

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fab place would go back again slipway hotel excellent very friendly staff and one homely feeling would recommend this hotel to my family and freinds and will be back again in the near future thanks to all the staff and management for a lovely weekend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Andrew Im Glad you enjoyed yourself. We love getting customers that become friends and regular visitors. Dont forget to contact me direct for booking next time Regards Phil

Brighton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just returned home after a four night stay at The Slipway. We really enjoyed staying there & had a wonderful view of the harbour. Our room was lovely ... peaceful at night & the bed was very comfortable. What really makes the hotel special are the ever smiling, friendly staff who go out of their way to be helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChristineBrighton
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Christine Thank you for your lovely review, You picked just about a perfect week with reasonably good good weather and Doc Martin filming. We do pride ourselves on our rooms with most nearly finished their refurbishments and the new mattresses which you were one of the first to use :) Please remember to contact me directly if you visit...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2017

To us what makes a place is the people you meet. Here at The Slipway Phil is making constant improvements to make it more comfortable for his guests. The staff he has chosen seem to be happy where they work and consequently give off a happy vibe to the guests and are always so generous with their time in answering...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank millie507
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Millie507 Thanks for your wonderful review and your email. I agree that the loft suite is great. plenty of space and a grand view. We are always happy to help with early breakfasts, late dinners, etc for guests as we know that travelling can be stressful and sometimes that little extra 1/2 hour can make a huge difference. Theres...

Lingfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

A very pleasant modernised room overlooking Port Isaac Harbour. Bathroom was small but perfectly adequate with a good shower. Awoke to see from our window filming of a Doc Martin episode in full swing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan O
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Alan Thanks for the review. We are slowly getting the old building back to its former glory. My wife and her team, doing each room as quickly as they can :) Im glad you enjoyed the Doc Martin filming, a treat for Doc fans :) Regards Phil Hardwick Owner

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Though this would be a nice place to stay. Wrong. Nice place to visit certainly but to Stay, sorry not for me and not what I thought I might get given images on web site. Just my opinion. The words that comes to mind is poor value for you hard earned buck. I paid over the odds for what I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gizors
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Dear Gizors Sorry that we failed to impress you. I must admit, you are in the minority since we have taken over The Slipway. Unfortunatly since you have neither used your real name or mentioned which room you were in, I cannot address most of your concerns. Most our rooms have had recent upgrades and the photos on our website...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Nice top floor room overlooking the slipway. On the small side but its an old listed building. Don't expect to swing the cat! Recently redecorated with brand new carpets throughout the residents and eating areas. Good choice of breakfasts and a new evening menu which was excellently created by Ben the chef. Good portions and variety. Could eat in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine11_h
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Christine thanks for you lovely review and helpful tips. You are right about the Doc Martin filming, they are filming in Mrs Tischells Chemist today so the lower village is packed :)

Sheffield,Yorkshsire
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This 16th century building is a wonderful spot to "feel" old Cornwall with a view out to the fishing boats moored in the harbour. The relatively new owners are welcoming and friendly. Both breakfast and dinner were really good: we were fortunate to be present for the new summer menu -- first class!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunsleeper
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Sunsleeper Thanks for the lovely review. We too, consider the harbour to be enchanting. The new menu is going great, thanks for your views. Regards Phil

London
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Nice landlords and great breakfast, unfortunately we booked on a Groupon deal and apparently you can only have a small double and no toiletries if you book via Groupon, room was so small my bag wouldn't even fit on the floor. Apart from that it was great grub, great hospitality and lovely locals, I've always loved Port Isaac so this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
kiwiphil, Owner at The Slipway, responded to this review

Hi Melanie Sorry you wern't happy with what is provided on the groupon discount deal. Our premium rooms are of a larger size with some being a suite. Please contact me directly for an unbeatable premium deal, next time you want to visit. Regards Phil

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
1.3 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
3.2 km away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
218 reviews
0.1 km away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
486 reviews
6.9 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
918 reviews
10.1 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Slipway

Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Price Range: $150 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Slipway staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Slipway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The loft room is spacious, with a harbour view and recently renovated”
  • View from the Loft window!!
millie507, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a harbour view”
872alano, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 overlooks the slipway and is top floor away from the pub.”
christine11_h, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for sea view room . Room 11 (family suite) is lovely but be warned on the very low beams. They add to the quaintness.”
Dee602014, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we had a sea/harbour view”
chrisbabiy, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$160* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$160
Hotels.com
TripAdvisorUS$160
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates