We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chy-An-Albany

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Chy-An-Albany
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

860 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 836: English reviews
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have stayed here many times. It was my birthday so we decided to stay again. We had room 4 with the balcony overlooking the bay. A year or so ago we stayed in this room. This time the price was over 80 - winter prices - we saw how tired this room is - the bathroom is so old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bunchofwhiteroses
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

I am so very sorry to hear that your stay here this time was not as you had hoped for. I will be investigating all the areas you have mentioned and were disappointed with. We have a continuous maintenance schedule and we are into our winter refurbishment plans which does include a new carpet for that room but i will...

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The was our second visit and was not disappointed, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and the evening restaurant was stunning, food was just first class. Prices for restaurant and bar very reasonable and views from the lounge are stunning. Parking was easy. We had a lovely room to the front which was spacious. EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY. Definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bartl865
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had stayed the previous night at a hotel we did not like so checked out early and arrived at this hotel last minute. Unfortunately having stayed the previous night in a poor hotel this just did not cut the mustard and we decided not to stay. The room was very basic but it was clean and just about had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T555NA_TA
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Following your very disappointing stay at one of our neighboring hotels when you contacted us we offered you a very reasonable rate for bed and breakfast and my receptionist checked you into the room which you said you were very happy with. The room you had was a standard family room and not sold as a sea facing room, even...

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for 4 nights. Had a deal 4 nights for price of 3. Excellent value, room was lovely, paid for sea view. Had room nos 5 with beautiful sea view and large balcony. Staff very attentive. Clean and well presented hotel. Ate in dinning room on the last night, service top notch food devine. Recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandywoody2
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous week at the Chy. It was our second stay in this very friendly and comfortable hotel. The breakfasts are outstanding and we had our 20th wedding anniversary meal in the dining room which was beautifully prepared and presented. Your chef and indeed all the staff we met are first class. Thank you for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LittleTilly
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

as usual the staff were very friendly and helpful the room was very clean and the breakfast was first class this hotel is fast becoming my favourite hotel in st ives very handy location for the town itself

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ppf1967
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you are returning guests and that we are becoming one of your favourite hotels. We are just a few minutes walk from the town centre and the harbour area but out of town enough to enjoy space for our guests to park free and have the great views over the Bay itself. We will...

Cornwall
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay here while attending St. Ives School of Painting for a Saturday/Sunday course. I arrived Friday afternoon and left Sunday afternoon, and was allowed to leave my car in the hotel car park during Sunday, even though I'd checked out Sunday morning, and as anyone who knows St. Ives will attest, finding free parking in the town is like finding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClaireViaCornwallUK
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review complimenting the hotel and the staff. I'm pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that you felt we offered good value for your money. Parking itself is free for our guests, which is an added bonus when staying in St Ives, and we are always happy to try and accommodate guests arriving...

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful location,very friendly staff,room was kept very clean.the food was excellent could not fault the quality and presentation.would recommend this hotel.only 5 minutes walk to St.Ive.lovely view if the seax

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gillvaughan33
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the experience with us recommendable We aim to offer a warm and friendly atmosphere to all our guests and it is always nice for the staff to get this feedback We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Chose this hotel after looking on tripadvisor. ......not disappointed. Staff friendly , helpful and professional. Room a little small as previous reviews but more than adequate. ......clean, tidy and with all required facilities. Breakfast was to a high standard with no restrictions Would certainly recommend. ......will be back !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chasambiker
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us and that you used the comments and remarks from this site to make the decision to book with us. Yes some of our standard rooms are smaller than others as every room is slightly different in shape and size due to the period style of the building. When booking your next...

Exeter
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Picked this hotel as previously stayed and found is good value. Unfortunately this time we were disappointed with the room we had, it was tired and extremely cold. The staff were very helpful and got a portable heater which did eventually warm the room to a better heat but in all took around 2hrs to sort when we were trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmK5779QD
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

I am very sorry that on this occasion you found the room disappointing and felt it was tired and cold. I have looked into our heating settings and have had the thermostats adjusted so our set back is now 18 and the room adjustment can be put up to 23 for 2 hours. I have spoken to the receptionist who...

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 22 in St Ives
790 reviews
0.1 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#4 of 22 in St Ives
132 reviews
1.2 km away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#7 of 22 in St Ives
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: $100 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Expedia so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chy-An-Albany staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Miami
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Chy-An-Albany staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to front on the first floor and above reception have their own balconies and rooms very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Bartl865, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ring the hotel and state your needs and they are very helpful in accommodating you”
 of 5 bubbles ppf1967, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was on the second floor at the back and it was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ClaireViaCornwallUK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles gillvaughan33, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great position for views and close to the Town but beware of steep steps and no wheelchair access”
 of 5 bubbles B7262MRpeters, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay