We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St Mawes Hotel

Hotels.comUS$214*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The St Mawes Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St Mawes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Very nice and beautiful place next to the sea. The village itself is quite small but its really beautiful. The hotel is kept very clean and the staff was friendly. The continental breakfast was good too. We will definitely come back and stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nabin M
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nabin, Thank you for writing a review following your stay with us, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Ben Bass, Manager

Cornwall
Reviewed 15 May 2016

My wife and I stayed here for one night this week, to attend our friends' wedding at the Hotel Tresanton, up the road. The recent renovation is thoughtful and tasteful, with the breakfast room being particularly successful. We were lucky enough to have good weather on the morning after our stay, so breakfast was taken with the balcony doors wide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JosandLou
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jos and Lou Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us last week. It was a pleasure to have you with us and I'm pleased you enjoyed the hotel and would recommend us to others and please do, as a new hotel we are trying to spread the word. We look forward...

Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2016

It was our first trip to St Mawes and we booked the St Mawes Hotel after looking on tripadvisor and the web site. We were not disappointed. The hotel looks as if it has recently been refurbished and is clean and well decorated. The 'distressed' look everywhere may be a bit contrived but the overall impression is good. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanna-7
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shanna, Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, we have indeed just been fully refurbished last year after our owners purchased the property. Thank you for the recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Ben Bass Manager

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We didn't stay here or eat here but we stopped off a couple of times for a drink and a warm at the fire after coming off the ferry. The atmosphere was good, and the menu looked nice, but we were already booked in somewhere else for dinner. If we came back to St Mawes we would certainly try to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Many thanks for your recent review following your visit for a drink and a warm up by the fire. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back next time for something to eat. Kind regards Ben Bass Manager

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We visited this hotel for lunch and a drink, the place was very clean and staff very friendly and efficient. The menu offered was varied and prices reasonable. The food was of excellent quality and and ample portions. I would certainly recomend it to other visitors to the village.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pastelman10Yorkshire
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pastelman10Yorkshire Thank you for your recent review following your visit for lunch. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Ben Bass Manager

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

The St Mawes Hotel is the best hotel I've stayed in in Cornwall and up there with some of the most impressive hotels I've stayed in! If you like Soho Farmhouse, the Firmdale Group and Barrenjoey House in Sydney you will love this place! Perfect for couples, families with children and they even accept little dogs!! Perfect vibe, relaxed but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
StMawes2015, Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte, Thank you so much for your recent review following your stay with us, what great feedback. I think you sum us up perfectly and we are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your feedback to James too. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Ben Bass Manager

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I attended a private evening party in the upper room and did not stay, so I cannot comment on the rooms. The food was well presented and a good selection. The wine list was very good and at a reasonable price. The overall experience was very good and I will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
StMawes2015, General Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Thanks very much for your recent review. We are glad to hear that you will be back and the whole experience was very good. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Ben Bass General Manager

Uffculme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Just been on our third visit to the St Mawes Hotel, right on the quay and with spectacular views across the harbour. The new rooms are lovely and the décor throughout is comfortable and warm – especially the sofas by the wood burners! The food has always been excellent and the team running the hotel are friendly and cannot do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisplush
StMawes2015, General Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Big thank you from myself and the team here, it was great to have you with us again and I'm glad you and the family enjoyed the new rooms and everyhing we are trying to do here. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes Ben Bass General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

First time that we have stayed at the Hotel (having eaten here previously) and it was really very good. We stayed in Room 1 which is a beautifully furnished sea view room, the decor is sleek and modern and the room immaculately clean. The two lounge areas on the ground and first floor have a very relaxed vibe and if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MWCOD1
StMawes2015, General Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MWCOD1, Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your room, the lounge and bar, breakfast and how well my team looked after you. I will certainly pass on your thanks to Jo, James, Toni and the rest of the team. We look forward to hopefully...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Here's a summary of the good and bad points: Bad: - the shower wasn't delivering hot water for me (my partner had just finished a really hot shower) - clearly the hot water had run out for the morning. When I asked the manager about it he said he'd be up in a minute but an hour later I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tonysony
StMawes2015, General Manager at The St Mawes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Thank you for your honest feedback following your stay with us. Obviously there are some things we can look to improve for our guests and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We are glad to hear how you enjoyed your overall stay and we acknowledge your comments regarding breakfast. We are currently looking into how we...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.2 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
370 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
602 reviews
0.2 km away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 5 in St Mawes
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
5.1 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
462 reviews
3.4 km away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set alongside the harbour, in the heart of the village, the St Mawes Hotel has a lively and informal feel, without compromising on taste and style. The warmth of the team, beautifully designed rooms, lively bar restaurant and terrace makes the luxury sea view hotel a place that will draw locals and visiting guests back time and time again. The seven bedroom boutique hotel has bright and airy luxurious guestrooms. Decorated by owner Karen Richards, the interiors will capture the nautical views of the village and harbour. Each room echoes Karen's signature style, a marriage between traditional coastal culture and contemporary design. All front facing rooms offer spectacular sea views and look out over the harbour. The bar restaurant at the St Mawes Hotel is a convivial escape to enjoy authentic quality dishes that will showcase the best locally sourced Cornish ingredients. Menu options include both smaller and larger dishes based on the wonderful produce from the sea, alongside stone baked pizzas and daily specials. Alfresco tables provide an idyllic location to make the most of sunny days and enjoy the spectacular views of the water. Guests staying at the St Mawes Hotel will appreciate the comfortable lounge, complete with compact library and log wood fire place for cosy winter days, with nautical inspired interiors and unspoilt views of the harbour. The addition of an events space and an intimate 25-seater cinema last year completes the package of a wonderful place to celebrate and create special memories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St Mawes Hotel

Address: Commercial Road, St Mawes TR2 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Price Range: $296 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St Mawes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The St Mawes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St Mawes Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 months ago
St Austell, United Kingdom
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The St Mawes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware in the summer months you will need to park in a public car park which is about a 5/6 minute walk.”
JessicaW844, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Village rooms are great value for money. The family room is amazing and provides more space.”
rebnash, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“even the smaller rooms are really acceptable,”
Maximillion47, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book early to secure harbour view”
susiepondplant, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with views at the front can be noisy during the High Season.”
  • St Mawes Hotel - View from Room on top floor
JeffersonLondon, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$214* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$213
Expedia.comUS$214
Orbitz.comUS$214
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates