We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 477: English reviews
Gloucestershire
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my birthday, and Clovelly was one of the places on my wish list. We chose this particular hotel as it had parking on site. We drove down the steep, narrow road to get to the hotel, where there was a maritime festival going on in the harbour, which was very entertaining. The lady...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alibee_10
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I'm delighted you enjoyed the Maritime festival so much. I am sorry to read your comments on the restaurant. The menu is changed seasonally and we have ever changing dishes and specials each day so there is plenty of choice. the restaurant is like other parts of the hotel, in keeping with the styles and design of the Village. There...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We were greeted by the friendly staff and had an upgrade on our room everything was perfect until we went down to the restaurant in the evening the size of the portions and the cost was a bit OTT. I made a complaint to the waiter and logged it in reception, The next morning the Hotel manager came to see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roger U
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I was delighted when you said something about the portion size we didn't get the food right in the restaurant but you pointed it out and we were able to make amends. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us ands look forward to welcoming you back again soon. The new seasons Grouse arrives on...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2015

The service was as unbelievably poor as the staff were incompetent and surly. The seafood sandwiches were good according to some of our party but those who chose the cream tea will live to regret it (hopefully). It is never a good sign when the scones are removed from a bag to the microwave and then to the plate! As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarvissheffield
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to Clovelly and the Red Lion. We do on occasions get very large infused of guests and as all our food is cooked from fresh it odes take time. We bake all our scones daily and only warm them in the microwave as we believe it makes...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We stayed at the Red Lion in Clovelly for 2 nights in July 2015. We knew it would be a truly unique setting and it is - a stunning position in the quaintest of villages. It is like stepping back in time. My only reservation with the Red Lion, through monitoring the TripAdvisor comments, was the somewhat inconsistent reviews of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gazzy2015
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I don't believe you should only read review sites to gain a true reflection of a hotel and what it offers. Please forget we serve upward of 140,000 people a year and do get swapped on occasions. We are always reviewing our menus, and finding ways to deliver the best possible product to the guest. You...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for one night on our way to St Ives to break our journey up. We stayed in the Sail Loft Room 17 and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was beautifully decorated to a high standard with a lovely large comfy bed. It was very spacious with a nice seating area to relax and unwind. The ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The beef we use is Ruby Red a Devon breed and they due tend to have a firmer texture than other breads but have a flavour to die for. I hope you are able to span more time on your next visit with us Best wishes Nick

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

We paid £7.50 for sausage roll and chips. Too expensive, lack of cutlery and 2 empty bottles of tomato sauce made for our first and last visit. Beer was good though. Staff seemed disinterested and stressed. Shame because you have a lovely village to ply your business in.☹

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda P
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, I'm sorry you felt we were expensive. We believe our prices structure is inline with other hotels of a similar standard within North Devon. Please remember we have to pay 20% vat on all food sold as well a pint many people don't realise or forget. I'm also sorry you found the staff a little stressed...

brighton
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

We found Clovelly on a guide booked and booked without knowing too much about the village or hotel. We had no idea we were in for such a treat! We fell head over heels in love the second we arrived. The hotel is right on the harbour with such a beautiful view. We were lucky enough to stay in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmsphoto1
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. Please call me when you wish to re-book as we have many shooting parties over the winter months and We would like to make sure you have a once relaxing time again Best wishes Nick 01237 431237

Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

We visited the Red Lion twice during our stay in Devon. The staff where fantastically friendly. Beautiful pub at an amazing location. We stopped for a well earned drink after our walk down to the harbour on a wet day. Then our second visit involved a tea and coffee in the sunshine over looking the harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katharina M
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks, its lovely when we get feed back from people who get what Clovelly is really all about Best wishes Nick

Reviewed 17 July 2015

You must visit this area, it should be compulsory that everybody should go to Clovelly, it is truly good for you, what a lovely and magical place to go. Walk up the village, no cars, cobbled street, fantastic shopping, friendly locals and get a Landrover ride down the very steep road back to the hotel, and beach.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kestonsmith
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review its lovely to get such great feed back! best wishes Nick

amsterdam
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Hidden in a bay the Red Lion Hotel has some surprises on its sleeve. First the rooms are very good, with a great view on the bay. In the evening when the few tourists whom found Clovelly are gone - the guests of This hotel have the bay for themselves. Tranquil. The sun will slowly set putting the ocean on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mareku
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

We are all delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and I hope you will come over again soon best wishes Nick

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.2 km away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
171 reviews
5.9 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
328 reviews
8.5 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
699 reviews
21.1 km away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
24.6 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: $139 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Clovelly
Red Lion Clovelly
Clovelly Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Honiton, United Kingdom
7 months ago
over a year ago
cornwall
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd recommend room 5 as it has a view of both the bay and over to the village.”
 of 5 bubbles K9TLS, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 18 or 19 at the annex”
 of 5 bubbles 1hpb, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea-facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Yonaton47, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sail loft rooms are superb.”
  • Nice seating area, one chair missing out on the balcony!!
  • Very large bath, space for two...
  • Entrance to room 15 and the
  • Oops, slightly messy, but superb comfy bed with great sheets
  • It is over the car-park, but still a great view.
 of 5 bubbles Tricky273, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have sea or harbour views. Personally, I find the harbour views a tad more interesting.”
 of 5 bubbles Cappycat, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay