We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Agoda.comUS$82*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$166*
US$82*
Great Deal
US$83*
US$83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
 Click to rate
Didcot, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

Second choice (due to a "double booking" by a well known .com booking company!) No great expectations other then comfy bed but it *well* exceeded that. Initial impression: great building, foyer furniture wearing out, carpets a bit tired, front bar hadn't been cleaned. Not a good start but all up from there. Staff very helpful, efficient luggage leaving service, Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DidcotBob
Bournemouth, Dorset
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with a friend and had a great time. Service Was great, all staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was amazing inside and modern rooms. Only a few minutes walk into town for local restaurants and a great location for seeing Exeter. Only downside is the car park is very small, so if there's a wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nai55
About Hotel's Favourite Review
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nai55 Thank you for the lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont. It is lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay and were able to park at one of the nearby carparks from the Hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent location for the centre of the city and central railway station. Room was excellent but suffered in its position overlooking front of Hotel by noises outside. Unfortunately my stay co-incided with the local football tweam winning their semi-final!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoff G Thank you for your lovely comments. It is great see that you enjoyed our new bedrooms. I hope that we can welcome you back soon Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great hotel centrally located with very helpful and friendly staff. Bit noisy at night but the facilities are very good. Check in process very smooth and staff helpful with information on local things to see and do

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeezS2
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LeezS2 Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay. I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although clean and efficiently run, this hotel is not the best. From the awful decore in the rooms which I hope they are refreshing to the eco-friendly towels that need to be changed for a better colour, they just look dirty (im sure they're not though). On top of this, I was lucky to get a parking space at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben S Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to see that you were disappointed with the decor of our £2.1 million pound bedroom refurbishment. I appreciate that the design might not be to everyone's taste but I do think that the comfort and modern amenities that we now provide in our bedrooms should please everyone. With...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is lovely, clean, stylish and well situated in the centre of Exeter. I was welcomed by a very polite receptionist who was very helpful when my room was not ready when I arrived and got this rectified within minutes. The room was truly lovely... large, well appointed, clean, extra large bed, modern bathroom. Breakfast was what one would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike4ffun
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike4ffun Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel and indeed your great comments about the staff and Jess. Although we have recently undergone a £2.1 million refurbishment of the Hotel, our staff also make our Hotel stand out compared to other properties in Exeter and we are all very pleased to see that...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stay here when we drop our daughter off at Exeter Uni. The staff are friendly, the service is good, the rooms are ample and well cleaned, the food is well prepared. It's a good hotel that offers good value for money. It is ideally located for the centre of town. We'll keep going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter M Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we can welcome you back for regular visits to visit your daughter! Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Here all week because work. Hotel located in a listed building in the main centre of Exeter. Staff very young and friendly, breakfast is quite simple, nothing special but does the work. I am a bit disappointed by the fact of having to pay £10 a day for the car park, breakfast also charged separately. Overall is a great hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro L
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pedro L Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. Due to our city centre location, we have limited carparking space at the Hotel, which means that due to limited availability there is a charge of £10 overnight. This is one of the cheapest carparks in the city centre for our in-house guests, but...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for last game of season and we could not of asked for more.Friendly and very helpful staff all weekend.Room are in excellent state of repair and very clean.Short walk to main street.Ideal if arriving by train.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john1965_11
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear john1965_11 Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay at the Hotel. As we have just had a full Hotel refurbishment it is lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were extremely friendly. I hope that we can welcome you back - even if it is not to watch the football. Kind...

Horrabridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very lovely hotel in the centre of Exeter, perfectly positioned for shopping, restaurants, bars and all that this wonderful city has to offer. The hotel was excellent, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable and we really enjoyed our stay - we will certainly be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandi_Barnett
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mandi_Barnett Thank you for your great feedback about your recent stay. The team at the Hotel values all feedback, however it is comments like yours that makes all of our hard work to look after guests even more special. I hope we can welcome you back soon Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.7 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,560 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
845 reviews
0.3 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
591 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel is a recently refurbished classical Victorian hotel in Exeter city centre, close to the cathedral and directly opposite the railway station. The Mercure Exeter Rougemont has local attractions including the Castle and Rougemont Gardens within easy walking distance, with other attractions including stately homes, theme parks and the racecourse a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Address: Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SP, England (Formerly The Rougemont Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $121 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rougemont Hotel, Exeter Hotel Exeter
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel Devon
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Totnes, United Kingdom
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It may be that not all bathrooms have been refurbished - ours (321) was. 303-321 (I think) have rear views out of city.”
DidcotBob, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't book single occupancy - you'll be in a shoe box!”
, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Parking on site is limited, so I recommend you arrive early if possible, and costs an extra Ten Pounds for an overnight stay.”
MargaritaDevon, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ensure you are on floor 2-3.”
martinwM8032JW, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The fourth floor is quiet (no street noise) but hard to access”
rbgs, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$82* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$83
TravelocityUS$83
AMOMAUS$166
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates