We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,267: English reviews
Huntingdon
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Excellent position but bedrooms poor, too small with very limited room in bedroom itself. The bathroom had a tiny basin that was barely useable. The set menu didn't vary so if staying more than 2 days very limiting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogerp319
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Lovely hotel which retains character yet boasts a stylish modern interior. We enjoyed a room upgrade and dinner was lovely. Our room was clean and the bed was huge and very comfortable. We will return to this lovely hotel and it's friendly staff again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theaep123
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

A clean and modern looking hotel. Loved the design of the room with roll top bath, shower cubicle and huge bed. Service was good. Check in efficient and a smashing champagne bar to visit! Quiet and well situated for discovering Exeter City centre.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AgentLight
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Great location, excellent rooms with comfortable bed, staff first class. Meal in the restaurant was delicious and the service was perfect. So glad we chose this hotel for our impromptu night in Exeter.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 582Anne
ABode Exeter G M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review

Dear 582Anne Thank you for picking ABode as your impromptu hotel of choice and for sharing your wonderful review, that we are thrilled to receive.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We booked on the Monday for the next Saturday and having paid £170 for a desirable room was told by reception they were so desirable they had over booked .A suggestion of complimentary prosecco just wasn't good enough as we could have booked elsewhere at much less money .I suggested if we had the standard £110 rate we would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tasty1111
ABode Exeter G M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review

Dear tasty1111 Thank you for your feedback and once again we are very sorry for having been in an overbooked situation with your preferred room type. Your feedback is being utilised in our training sessions so that we can ensure that we continue to evolve and further improve. We hope that you will stay with us again and allow us...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

A great hotel in an lovely location. On arrival the staff at reception were polite and professional. My room, although not the largest in the world, was well appointed and immaculately clean. I would defenetly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DanPenfold
ABode Exeter G M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review

Dear DanPendfold Thank you for sharing your feedback of our wonderful hotel. I have shared your comments with our team who are delighted that you have taken the time and trouble to share your thoughts. We really look forward to you staying again and hope that it is really soon.

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I hired a private room for my 70th birthday lunch with friends. The choice of menus was excellent and prices reasonable. I sent in our menu choices and was delighted that each friend had their personalised menu at their place. The food was absolutely delicious, the wines good and the service friendly but discreet. Nothing was too much trouble -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Celia T
ABode Exeter G M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review

Dear Celia T Thank you for sharing your feedback following your 70th birthday lunch which we were delighted to host. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful occasion and do hope that you have the opportunity to return soon.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I like this hotel having stayed there a couple of times and I want it to be good because I now have cause to visit Exeter more often in my new role as Hon Prof at the university. The hotel is superbly located in the cathedral square surrounded by bars and restaurants and the cathedral itself is stunning. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alastair2013
ABode Exeter G M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review

Dear Alastair2013 Thank you very much for your detailed review and congratulations on your new role at the university. We can certainly understand that the minor points that occurred need to be addressed which will be done so immediately by the senior team. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to demonstrating that we have...

WOLVERHAMPTON
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Bad nights sleep in an upgraded room due to noise of on going deliveries from very early. Told reception who ignored issue. Did not even apologise !! Rooms were quirky and interesting. Some dust and lightbulbs not working

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janeamos
ABode Exeter G M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review

Dear janeamos It is with regret that you were disturbed during your stay with us, we endeavour to ensure that noise is kept to an absolute minimum in the local area to the best that we can. We will discuss your feedback with our front office team to ensure that we learn from your feedback.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stayed here for a birthday party which was being held at the event. Admittedly we did have a preferred room rate but the bedroom was tiny, quite 'tired' and the air conditioning unit was incredibly noisy. The food served at the party itself was excellent, especially for a mass-catering event but sadly the breakfast was quite a different matter...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirky72
ABode Exeter G M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review

Dear Kirky72 Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted that you chose to use our special rate for attending an event here at the hotel, although it is regretful that the allocated room was not to your satisfaction.

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
1,172 reviews
0.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,481 reviews
0.6 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed

Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $149 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed Devon
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rebuild as it was”
 of 5 bubbles B7739KQjanetw, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't have room 110 it's a disgrace for the money”
 of 5 bubbles tasty1111, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay at the hotel but had a lunch at the hotel restaurant, using a private room”
 of 5 bubbles 675celiat, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“312 faces cathedral and is a decent size comapred with eg 311”
 of 5 bubbles Alastair2013, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cathedral facing room on a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 922patriciaa, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5