We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

White Hart Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 770: English reviews
Start your review of White Hart Hotel
 Click to rate
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

we booked a table in advance as we hadn't eaten here for ten years or so, it bought back lovely memories. if you like the old beams uneven floors and loads of character then this is your place. the 1600 century pub is split down the middle by a medieval undercover footpath. very quirky not far from the hotel de...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl67_12
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ok.... Where to start? The staff. From front of house reception, waiting staff, bar staff, housekeeping..... What a great bunch of people. A credit to the management for getting this group of hardworking individuals and creating this apparently happy team. Bravo. The room. Clean. Immaculate actually. Comfortable. A tad hot for me, even with rads off and windows wide open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay here with us. We are absolutely delighted that you had a great time with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back again hopefully very soon. Many thanks Myles

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is amazing. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Yes the cost is a little more than other branded hotels but is well worth the money. We managed to get a room on the side of building in the new part and was very quiet even with window open. There is a small wait for food but at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback regarding your stay here with us. We are delighted you had such a pleasant stay and what better way to set you up for a good day than taking advantage of our all you can eat breakfast selection. We do hope that you visit us again very soon. Many thanks Myles

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great for a city stopover to visit family. Very welcoming and good central location near the Cathedral quarter. Excellent breakfast and good atmosphere in the bar. Have had problems with parking availability at other Exeter hotels but no problems here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us this lovely feedback. We are delighted you had such a lovely stay with us. We do aim to create a home from home experience for all our guests and hope we managed to create this for you too. We are so pleased you thought our breakfast was excellent with the offering of all...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A couple of minutes walk to escape the shoppers in Exeter high street for a quiet pint in this real oasis. The Secret Garden is a sun trap inside a listed old character hotel. Nice pint of Old Wallop - will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dchittle
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely feedback. Our secret garden is a perfect place to enjoy a sunny afternoon. We hope you will be back to visit us again and please bring the nice weather with you so you can enjoy a nice pint of Old Wallop back in the garden. Many thanks...

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked last minute, easy hassel free booking, room lovely, staff very friendly. Menu and venue good so didn't venture out although the food a little disappointing in the evening. Breakfast was really good. Hotel itself really nice, clean and atmospheric with great location. Would thoroughly recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this lovely feedback. I am very sorry that you found the food a little disappointing in the evening, if you wish to discuss this further please feel free to give me a call I'd be more than happy to talk to you. We are so glad you found the...

Launceston
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a real gem and right in the heart of exeter! It was clean, friendly with a lovely breakfast . Free parking! We slept well, Teas, coffees and biscuits in room! Wifi all worked, lashings of hot water everything you could want and so cheap! Would definately recommend highly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deb m
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay here with us. We are delighted that you had such a fantastic stay and we hope to see you back again very soon. Many thanks Myles

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying in Exeter for two nights with friends and wanted somewhere nice to eat on 13th Feb as travelling on the 14th. Stumbled across the White Hart. Checked offer of 3 course valentines dinner fir two for £25 and bottle of prosecco for £9.99. We booked in for 7.30pm. Duly arrived in the main bar and after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your visit to us. We are truly sorry for the little incidents that you mentioned if you did wish to discuss further please feel free to give me a call I would be more than happy to talk to you about them. We do hope you...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place great staff so handy to town centre will be back enjoyed the breakfast "the quay was handy to walk to . When we was here there was a Christmas market very good , we parked car up in car park and used local transport so handy to get other towns

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your stay here with us during the Christmas period. We are very lucky to be situated in the heart of the city so access to the Christmas market, cathedral, shops, restaurants and quay are close to us and within walking distance. We are so pleased yu enjoyed your...

St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I last stayed here 7 years ago, & was happy then, but I have to say I have never been anywhere where every single member of staff was outstanding, couldnt do enough for us. I booked 2 rooms, One for a special needs couple and 1 for myself and carer, it was a very special occassion for them for valentine's,&...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosieribbons
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us this wonderful feedback regarding your stay on valentine's night. We are delighted you enjoyed our special valentine's menu and had such a pleasant stay. We do hope Davey and Sarah enjoyed their special night and that you will be back to visit us again very soon. Many thanks Myles

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (69)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,444 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.8 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
579 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
White Hart
White Hart
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $104 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better to stay in the new wing, the older hotel rooms only have intermittent Wifi”
 of 5 bubbles K5907HOelaineb, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For a few extra quid, get the family room, even if there's only two of you. Large, with Sofa and big ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles jameslB8522KN, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 15 is above the cider room and therefore a little noisy, not that this bothered us. The newer wing of the hotel would quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles R1762MAbrianm, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“quiet rooms available”
 of 5 bubbles dustygloweth, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues ring first and discuss room options”
 of 5 bubbles 49sunshine, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5