We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

White Hart Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 750: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just spent 4 nights at the White Hart and it was cozy and very friendly staff. The breakfast staff were extremely efficient and a pleasure to greet every morning. The reception were just amazing with so much information about the area and always friendly to see us! The room was warm and clean and very quiet. As we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne1364
Whitehartexeter, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Leanne, Thank you for your feedback. Its great you noticed our friendly team, especially on breakfast. A lot of work has been done over the years to get our offer right for a Pub with rooms. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks

Cornwall
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We have stayed here a couple of times before and this time was just as good. The hotel is in a great position close to all the city atractions with parking which is free for guests.The staff are all very friendly and keen to help. We had a room in the old part which was clean,warm and cozy with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richcoll54
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

I don't like giving bad reviews, unfortunately I am struggling to think of much positive to say about the place. We visited this hotel/pub as a group of four, for a Christmas Meal. We had pre-ordered the food in person several weeks in advance and were slightly confused when they called us on the day of the reservation to remind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katemartin2016
Whitehartexeter, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kate, Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. We did have a problem that day and are sorry it affected you. It was a rare problem but we had 3 parties that day of the same name. We have passed comments on to our Menu development. The building is very much a warren of rooms and parts...

essex
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Stayed for two nights to visit the Christmas market, very good location with free parking, the food was good value and the staff lovely. Nice clean room but cheap toilet paper. There was a fire on the 2nd night and the hotel was evacuated into the car park, the staff were very professional in keeping control, getting everyone out and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsbigfamily
Scotland
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We have stayed many times in the hotel and were excited to have rooms in the recently refurbished old wing. However the room was overly hot even with the radiator turned down as there were hot water pipes running all along the wain skirting. So we windows wide open in id-December we tried to cope with the problem. Even the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selsdon1
Cyprus
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Stayed here for two nights and was, on the whole pleased with the stay. My single room was cosy and comfortable. My bedroom overlooked the car park but I didn't come to admire the view. The hotel is centrally located, so convenient for the city. Public transport options are nearby and a car park is available. The inclusion breakfast (cereals,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyCatCyprus
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Very,very disappointing, the food was lukewarm served up on cold plates, vegetables swimming in water, only served half our parties dinner, 10 minutes later the others turned up!! We had to wait nearly an hour before the sweets appeared!! Not to be recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radleylady
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel, nice breakfast, comfortable beds, very cute old fashioned hotel, small feeling. The Elevator felt a little tired but there are stairs, I think if your visiting Exeter you should pay a visit here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X8183BYtomw
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I hate single rooms but the only one available so expected a small cramped dingy room on the top floor above a pub. I eat my words! Good sized room, yes on top floor but there was a ift. Adjustable radiator so room temperature set to my liking! Very clean, you could smell the clean bed linen. Good size bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent value and friendly staff made this a most enjoyable two night stay at one of Exeter's oldest hotel. The price included the option of a Full English or a Continental breakfast. The English breakfast was a sensibly portioned no-nonsense meal fit to sustain one for the day without leaving you bloated, the bacon and sausage were the best I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyclops1809

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (69)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,413 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 km away
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
0.8 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
White Hart
White Hart
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $97 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 15 is above the cider room and therefore a little noisy, not that this bothered us. The newer wing of the hotel would quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles R1762MAbrianm, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“quiet rooms available”
 of 5 bubbles dustygloweth, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues ring first and discuss room options”
 of 5 bubbles Welshlearner, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 101 was perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles Leanne1364, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 2 and 3 in the old wing until the heating egulation is sorted.”
 of 5 bubbles Selsdon1, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay