We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin Exeter

Agoda.comUS$102*
View Deal
#14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$107*
US$102*
Great Deal
US$107*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin Exeter
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,185: English reviews
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

A really good buddy had booked us in for a nights stay, along with a spa treatment and evening meal. This hotel is a really good location and if by chance there is not enough parking on site, then the Magdalen street car park is just across the road Very warm friendly welcome on arrival at reception and we headed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bobalobajob
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and your kind words on the team and their efforts. It is good to know that the training pays off. Sorry to hear that you experienced delay that particular evening but I am glad you enjoyed the food served in our bistro and that you also enjoyed our new breakfast menu and buffet....

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

I booked a spa day with my Mum for her birthday. We opted for the chapter pamper. Overall the experience was disappointing and I felt embarrassed to have brought her here. On arrival we ordered coffee in the bar and we opted to open a tab that we were informed could be settled at the end of the day. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ZJL123
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you for your most valued review, I must that I was also very disappointed to read of the poor serviced you received on this occasion. I can assure that this is not how we usually entertained our Spa Guest. It is important to us to regain you trust in our restaurant and we would very much like the opportunity...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

First time going under new hotel owners. Had heard some negative reviews especially in regard to service. However we had no problems at all We sat In the bar and had quick service which you'd expect. Bottle of fizz was chilled and our friend enjoyed their gin Think they should have some more nibbles available to order with your drinks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Passp0rtAlwaysReady
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

SO glad you enjoyed Friday Fizz! It is a great Friday evening institution in Exeter and it does get busy! We will most definitely look at the nibbles available on the night. Hope to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Guillaume

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

After my stay in March 2015 I wasn't sure whether to return, however it might look like only the name has changed but the experience is better. I still had to park across the street and pay for the privilege (it is safe) but staff were brilliant, very professional and helpful. Previous visit to restaurant was disappointing but this time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vickicheltenham
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your vote of confidence on the changes that we are implementing. it is still in its infancy but work is coming a long nicely! Watch this space for 2017! So glad you enjoyed the food and you are right the hotel is a popular spot to be seen in Exeter on Friday night! We have...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I treated my friend for her birthday a spa day the treatments we had were very good followed by a dreadful lunch empty restaurant cold food very poor service we have been there before but not again in the future

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lyntrevelyan
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience. We would love the opportunity to put this right for you. Please contact me directly. guillaume.lesage@hotelduvin.com I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Guillaume

Somerset
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed on the Sunday night special of the room for £25.00 when spending a minimum of £75 in the restaurant. We stayed the night before my birthday which was lovely. The only downside was the car parking facilities or lack of them. We did park in the car park adjacent to the hotel but could only stay until 8am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahsmith110
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. Rest assured that Nicole has been made aware of it and she extremely pleased that you had a wonderful time. It is good to know that you took advantage of the Sunday Night Stopover offer! it is a fantastic deal! I have made the team aware of the lighting issue on that...

poole dorset
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed with friends on their Sunday night offer of room for £25 if you send £75 in the bistro. One double room was fine but the other was very very small and claustrophobic. The food in the restaurant was very poor. The fish soup was really tomato and lukewarm. We waited a very long time for our main course...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ticaramist
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and for your kind words on the team and also good to know that you took advantage of the Sunday Night Stopover. It was disappointing to hear of your experience in the restaurant. We have made the appropriate changes and we would very much like the opportunity to welcoming you back and for...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We had a lovely room 215 on the 2nd floor overlooking the road. Despite it being on a busy street you could not hear the traffic. The room was so luxurious with a lovely bathroom. The bed and the pillows were the most comfortable I have known in a hotel before I slept really well. The hotel is very different...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanette W
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed room 215! one of my favourite. You are correct the secondary glazing on these rooms, is extremely efficient! We are very fortunate to have some parking space at the front but only 12. there are on a first come first served basis but I am glad you...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Visited the restaurant for lunch for my sisters birthday and have to say overall our experience was very disappointing. The food was nice but was overpriced for what it was and the restaurant definitely lacks atmosphere. The staff are quite slow and not particularly friendly or helpful. We wanted tea and coffee after dinner and were told we couldn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stephparker86
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you for your most valued feedback, I was disappointed to read of your latest experience. We have now retrained the team and addressed the service issues you encountered. I would very much like the opportunity to have you have back for Lunch or dinner so that you could try our new menu. Please contact me directly so that I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is a good hotel but should be a great hotel. We booked a studio suite on a Friday night deal and to be honest the hotel is in need of a re-furb slightly in some of the bedrooms. Which I have been informed this is happening as it has recently changed owners to hotel du vin... The bedrooms was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ruddle
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Dear Ruddle, Thank you very much for your feedback and rest assured that I will pass on your comments to Laura who looked after you and it is always good to know that the customer service training they receive is paying off. You are correct, since the change of ownership we have been planning refurbishment of the bedrooms and the...

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (259)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (27)
Viewed
Feature Room (31)
Viewed
Feature Room Garden View (27)
Viewed
Feature Room Super King (29)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Regular Double Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Single Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,529 reviews
0.2 km away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
259 reviews
6.7 km away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $178 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Exeter staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
6 months ago
Upminster, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
Great Torrington, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Exeter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the tiny single rooms”
127RichardB127, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had room 007 so only one other room near us so no noise at all over night”
cbharrispm, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a rear room, it's quiet and the view lovely”
timdX8595RY, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a large one! Otherwise you may get claustrophobia!”
L6186CTpauld, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford it plash out on one of the attic rooms”
Emma_292_000, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$107
Expedia.comUS$107
TravelocityUS$107
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates