We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rock House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rock House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rock House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 275: English reviews
Luton
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Welcoming hotel on the beach in Lynmouth, this small hotel is excellent for families and dogs. The staff are helpful, the decor attractive, although there are occasional Fawlty Towers undertones! Hearty breakfast, basic dinner menu, comfy bar, plus garden leading direct to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BertLuton
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay Please come again. Colin Stapleton General Manager

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Just went for a family roast! I loved my brisket of beef it was very rich! Large homemade Yorkshire and veg! Was nice! Although the little one wasn't keen on her chicken it was small and it was little to posh for her she prefer the common style roast at a carvery! I couldnt fault it though! My husband had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angiemays
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Exmoor roast, i am happy you enjoyed it, please come again. Colin Stapleton General Manager

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This is a BB/guest house in a stunning location. With a good quality restaurant serving local fresh products. I have read many reports on the rock house ,so to set things straight this is not a Hotel as one would expect,, its a BB with clean rooms fantastic setting and a restaurant/bar open to no residents "nothing wrong with that"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjbdrive
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It is nice to receive and honest appraisal and we are glade you enjoyed your Visit. Colin Stapleton General Manager

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is a beautifully located hotel - right on the beachfront in Lynmouth (well worth paying extra for a harbour or sea view). Staff are welcoming, the rooms are good and the breakfasts are excellent. The dinner menu is good but a bit "fussy" and the bar doesn't have the most welcoming ambience - but it is a short walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for posting your review i am glad you liked your room and found my staff welcoming. Our bar like many hotel bars is just that a hotel bar would agree lacks the atmosphere of a public house. but we hope that all visitors can have a relaxing drink and a peaceful evening. Colin Stapleton General Manager

Algarve
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I have been going to beautiful Lynmouth with my Niece and Sister twice a year for the past 6 years. Each time we have stopped off in the Rock House for cream tea which has always been delicious. Today we were more than disappointed when, after ordering, and getting our cups of tea, we were told there was no cream...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mumsqual
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed on your last visit and that we had run out of cream so was unable to serve the Devon cream teas as advertised. Some times it is difficult to estimate demand and on this occasion demand outstripped supple Once again sorry. Colin Stapleton General Manager

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in room 6. Fantastic location. Room was lovely with great view of the sea and river. Incredibly clean and very comfy. Very quiet room. We ate in the restaurant and had the best burger we have had in a long time. Starters were delicious too. Staff seemed a little rushed off their feet but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pasty46
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we are glade you had a nice stay and look forward to seeing you again. Colin Stapleton General Manager

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

My husband and I, we're taking mum for a holiday, she is 84 ! We're staying 4 nights. Unfortunately mum had a fall, and broke her arm, bruised her ribs and was very shaken. She was taken to the nearest hospital. Took her back to the hotel and got her to her bedroom. Decided to get her home as not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rhartland
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you feel the accident was our responsibility, however i would like to point out that the injury happened on the drive way belonging to Lynton and Lynmouth council and not us. Our boundary is the building itself, the garden and the car park. We on our part arranged for first aid treatment e.g 999 service to attend...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Nice location but that stops at the door. Extremely understaffed and could not find anyone to check us in. Found a very stressed barman who was rushed off his feet as the owner was at the dentist and another member of staff was taking someone to hospital, apparently. He couldn't work the computer and our room was not ready anyway....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fanny B
Tamworth
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights for a break. The location is wonderful and the rooms were good and clean even though the building is a little rustic. A good atmosphere. Even the resident dog is very friendly. Breakfast was fantastic. The only problems we found were that the menu shown on the website was not available and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevBarbs
frankie088, General Manager at Rock House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Our website has been completely revamped and is now online, including our updated menus. Colin Stapleton General Manager

London
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This could be a really nice place to stay - as lots of reviews, when we booked, seemed to say. Great location, great views, car parking, reasonable prices, etc. But, oh dear... what has gone wrong? The first impression of the hotel, as you arrive, is of staff members sitting outside smoking cigarettes and (often) drinking alcohol (including beer for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tumbaparrot

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
439 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
223 reviews
0.4 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
176 reviews
27.4 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
634 reviews
0.3 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Rock House Hotel

Address: Manor Green, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Price Range: $143 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rock House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Lynmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rock House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
england
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rock House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles catherinesarahhills, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 1 is probally the best for views”
 of 5 bubbles Bristolian_Traveller, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sea view rooms a must!!”
 of 5 bubbles pjbdrive, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to get a sea or harbour view, otherwise you're not making the best of the great location”
 of 5 bubbles 29nigelc, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice to have a see view”
 of 5 bubbles rhartland, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5