We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. Vincent House

Booking.comUS$80*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
St. Vincent House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for St. Vincent House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have just had a short break at St Vincent House and cannot recommend it highly enough. The owners, Peter and Daphne, are so friendly and make you feel at home straight away. Nothing is too much trouble. The Guest lounge is really welcoming with a roaring open fire, large comfy sofas and a well stocked bar. Our rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 447CarolM447
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

We are very glad that you had a good time. Hope to see you again soon. Peter & Daphne

Devon
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Hosts were very welcoming and the guesthouse was incredibly dog friendly! Very useful if you want to go walking with your dog. Rooms were very clean, well kept and cosy. The house has a lovely feel to it. Breakfast was amazing, homemade bread and homemade fruit compote. All food was sourced locally and good quality. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrissie S
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure looking after Logan. Peter & Daphne

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We intended to stay here for a couple of nights for a birthday weekend away. Unfortunately the day before, there were unprecedented levels of snow in the South West. The A39 into Lynmouth was closed, as were most of the smaller roads in the area. As the met office issued an amber alert and recommended cancelling all non-essential travel, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aled B
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

We are sorry that the guests felt dissatisfied as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We do feel, however, that the cancellation was made unreasonably late. We were surprised that the booking had not been cancelled in the days before arrival in view of the weather forecast, but having spoken on the phone with the guests in the morning...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Very nice hosts Peter and Daphne (and their cute dog). We stayed in the Orion room, overlooking the little garden, very comfortable. We ate dinner there one evening and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas F
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. Hope to see you again. Peter & Daphne

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2013

For a comfortable stay in Lynton: clean and comfy rooms, good food - homemade bread and icecream - and very helpful and hospitable hosts - there is no need to look further... Thank you Daphne and Peter!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumthemarvel
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

We are both glad that you had a lovely stay. Hoping that we shall see you again. Peter & Daphne

Chipping Norton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Peter and Daphne who made us tea on our arrival and sat us in front of a nice open fire. Just what we needed after a rainy day driving down! Our room, Victory was everything we expected and it was such a luxury being away and having time to appreciate a bath. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

We are both so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Peter & Daphne

Lampeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Many years ago I happened to drive along the A38 from Barnstaple to Bristol and looked down on Lynton and Lynmouth. That brief view made me promise myself that, one day I would return and stay. Luckily, we booked the St Vincent purely by chance. The twin towns are wonderful places and our stay at St Vincent only served to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

We are both very glad that you had a great time. Some useful tips for other guests. Peter & Daphne

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Welcoming hosts, who were friendly and attentive but not over the top or too intrusive. On arrival, Peter took us and our luggage to our room and then made us a cup of tea, which was lovely after our journey and which firmly placed the emphasis on a warm welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were holidaying with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan A
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Cbeebies certainly seemed to be a hit! Peter & Daphne

Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We received a really warm welcome, were helped with our luggage and generally made to feel at home. The room, 'Irrestible' was lovely, all wood panelling and the bed was huge and really comfortable. Our room and in fact the whole place was exceptionally clean, and nothing was too much trouble, from coffee when we arrived to directions to petrol...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0uiseB124
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Peter & Daphne

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2012

When I rang to confirm whether we could bring our dog and Peter asked whether we would prefer the second-best bedding in case the dog wanted to get up on the bed I knew I'd found the right place. We were all (my husband and I and Maddie the dog) made most welcome by our most accommodating hosts, with Daphne...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this review

We are so glad that you had a good time. All three of you were most welcome and we hope that you will be back again soon. Peter & Daphne

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.4 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
317 reviews
0.2 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
483 reviews
0.1 km away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
121 reviews
0.6 km away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
146 reviews
0.3 km away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#10 of 24 in Lynton
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to St. Vincent Guest House where Emma and Michael invite you to enjoy English hospitality in the comfort of their elegant Georgian grade II listed home. The hotel has comfortable and atmospheric bedrooms, six ensuite and one with a private shower room. All rooms are individually styled. Log fire. Cottage garden. Close to coastal path. Terrific value for money. Genuine hospitality. Non smoking. Children welcome but no pets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Vincent House

Address: St. Vincent Castle Hill Market Street | North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Price Range: $132 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Vincent House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your St. Vincent House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St. Vincent House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Colossus room was a good size and quiet”
Phantasialandfan, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Outside noise wasn't a problem. Even though St Vincent Guest House is in the heart of the town, it is tucked away from the main road.”
r0bb0wker, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ensuite.”
746wendyb, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you choose a room facing the square you can hear the ocean in the distance at night.”
juliod301, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great location, and lovely welcoming people”
carolynn_venables, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$80
TravelocityUS$80
Hotwire.comUS$80
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates