We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Edgcumbe Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Edgcumbe Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 341: English reviews
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was elegantly decorated and had everything you needed from a hairdryer to hot chocolate and coffee! The bathroom was modern and a nice size with very hot water! Nice big tv and comfortable bed and pillow with warm duvet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emy880
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Edgcumbe Guest House and for leaving a review. I'm delighted you liked the extra touches that our guests receive and that you were warm and comfortable on a very cold night! I hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Plymouth. More 

Penzance
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed our one night stay. Lovely room, clean and great breakfast. Would definitely come again in the future! The owner Carla was very friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfy and all up to date facilties.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sparki_860997
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, your room and our breakfasts. We strive to offer guests the absolute best of everything and I look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Only stayed one night so cannot be more specific. Guest house located directly onto the hoe. Clean, comfortable, good breakfast. Parking very limited, only three spaces . Warm and friendly, difficult to judge further.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are lucky to be in such a great location and be able to offer guests free use of our limited private parking. This is quite a rarity in this area as most other guest houses are not able to offer this. There is always ample street parking which... More 

Newent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Could not recommend staying any more strongly. Not one element failed to be top class. Proprietor friendly and helpful with local knowledge for our business trip. Details already forwarded of the property to both business and personal acquaintances

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank divingandmarine
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and for recommending Edgcumbe Guest House to others. I'm delighted that you found everything to be top class and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a cramped room and toilet was in a cupboard by the bed.The bed was a small double and lumpy.The toilet on the landing had a clear glass door and no blind!! Very strange and unusable.Would not return

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank julietX776GH
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay and wish you had told me while you were here. I assume you chose this room based on tariff alone. This is our smallest, most basic room and is clearly described as being more suited for single occupancy and therefore offered at a bargain price. The bed is a standard... More 

Biddenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted a base from which to visit our son at university and explore the area. We we hoping for a nice room for us and our dog, good internet facilites and pleasant company, a friendly b&b to which we could return in future. Carla and her team provided all this in abundance

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted that you chose to say here and that we ticked all the boxes for you. I'm thrilled that you will be coming back to Edgcumbe Guest House when you next visit your son at Plymouth University and look forward to seeing you all again soon. More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Our room (4) was very small and the shower and toilet were part of the room - not ensuite as indicated. Location was good for waterfront views. Place was ok if you don't want to spend much time in the room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. You booked via my own website so when choosing the room you wanted you would have seen the description for room 4 which states "First floor room has double bed with pocket sprung mattress. The shower cubicle is in a corner of the bedroom and there is a small en... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great value, friendly helpful staff, best breakfast fresh fruit, eggs benedict etc, on the hoe, so great position, on the no 25 bus route which takes to the city centre and then onto barbican and back to the B&b,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona O
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Edgcumbe Guest House. I'm delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Guests rave about our breakfasts as we do offer a great array of choice, some say better than many larger hotels. I hope to see you again if you come back to beautiful Plymouth. More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Edgecombe Guest House just for the night as had travelled to Plymouth watch Tom O'Dell. Carla was very welcoming on our arrival. We stayed on the top floor in a nice room with four poster bed. Room was very clean. One suggestion would be a bath in the en suite, given the size of it. Had a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JenkoBoy
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated your room and breakfast too. I hope to see you again should you come back to Plymouth. More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

fantastic definitely stay again helped with forgotten birthday candles for sons birthday cake and he was also able to stay for breakfast {he is a university student living a few doors down from the B &B].Clean and tidy very accomadating .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sfay_481495
Carla W, Owner at Edgcumbe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. I'm delighted that I was able to help out with the birthday celebrations - the cake was delicious, thank you! We frequently have sons and daughters coming over for breakfast with their visiting parents. I very much hope to see you the next time you come to Plymouth. More 

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,009 reviews
0.4 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
541 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
5.8 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highly recommended guest house offering superb bed and breakfast accommodation a stone's throw from Plymouth Hoe and the sea front. All rooms en suite, delicious breakfasts freshly cooked to order using top quality produce, warm and friendly welcome, limited private parking, ample roadside parking, free unlimited wi-fi, hairdryers, free tea/coffee/hot chocolate, toiletries, ironing facilities. Newly refurbished to the highest standard. Top quality furnishings and bedding. We value our guests and strive to offer them the best of everything. We are within easy walking distance of the city centre, historic Barbican and Royal William Yard, Theatre Royal and Plymouth Pavilions. Close to University and Brittany Ferries. Check in is available up to midday and from 4-9pm. Please advise preferred arrival time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edgcumbe Guest House

Address: 50 Pier Street | West Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $112 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgcumbe Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Edgcumbe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Edgcumbe Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the Four Poster is our choice - every time”
 of 5 bubbles revianb, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in downstairs room, very quiet, no traffic noise or noise from other occupants. Excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles YveA_12, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Family room can be as double / single or 3 singles.”
 of 5 bubbles iangk148, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“4 poster in room 6!”
 of 5 bubbles michaelcR3531UE, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All good been both sides of b&b”
 of 5 bubbles Cokayne, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay