We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mountbatten Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mountbatten Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 31: English reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June, brilliant value for money at the time and good transport links into town via train or bus. Room was cosy, and bathroom modest but again you get what you pay for and it was more than adequate. The couple who own it were lovely! I would definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirsten m
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016

My wife and only visited the restaurant of the is hotel. The weather was fine and so we had a meal in the hotels restaurant. Which is quite a large dinning area with plenty of seating. The food was really good and fresh and hot. The portions were really very generous in all that was served. The prices were more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan8301953
Norfolk
Reviewed 11 August 2015

I was most surprised when I read the previous review. I probably wouldn't have seen it had I not been looking up the telephone number on line in order to make a reservation. We have stayed at the Mountbatten twice now. The room we stayed in on both occasions was large and airy with a beautiful bay window overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Parsonsbytheriver
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We stayed here for three nights during July 2015 and were really disappointed with the drap, tired, old fashioned room. The bathroom was so small it was difficult to move around in. The bedding was so depressing in a horrible wine / gold damask colour. The pillows were so cheap foam filled and very uncomfortable. Along with green drap curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethiemae2015
TheMountbattenHotel, Owner at The Mountbatten Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review of your recent stay with the Mountbatten Hotel - although it is very disappointing for us to read that you weren't satisfied with your visit. As with most other accommodation providers, we care about our customers and strive to offer a good service. It is unfortunate that you didn't raise...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Excellent stay, Dave and Sally made us feel very welcome and kept open until we arrived. Super value for money. Would extremely recommend as a place to stay. The beds were fantastic, best night sleep we have ever had in a hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jayne K
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2014

I've stayed at The Mountbatten several times in connection with sailing activities around Plymouth. It's a small, tidy establishment with friendly owners and staff. The rooms are clean and tidy and have all the usual facilities including free Wi-Fi. What they don't have is huge prices! It's extremely good value for the money and has always felt to me like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graham H
UK
Reviewed 13 October 2014

My husband and I were visiting my brother who lives two minutes from the hotel so the location was perfect for us. Even if you didn't have a car then access would be convenient as Devonport railway station is around the corner with links to Plymouth centre and onward locations. We were able to park right outside for free which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Square1975
Reviewed 20 September 2014

I have stayed at the mountbatten a few times now easy to find a very lovely welcome they make you feel at home as soon as you walk through the front door. I have taken my best friend and her husband and grandchildren they all said that is very nice they would go there again and again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nellies78
Aberdeen
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Previously stayed here in 2010 and again during August & September of 2013. Renovation work completed (refer to my last review) and an obvious change noted. I was met by Dave and Sally ...only to be notified that they had upgraded me to a double room at no extra cost. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Tea / Coffee making...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Medicos
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you're using the adjacent centre; pricewise worth the extra imo. Full English breakfast did not include any cereals etc which I'd normally expect at a B&B, but a plateful of good hot food - fair enough I suppose ; maybe they put out more food if theres more guests (we stayed Midweek). Id gladly stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d1verchris
TheMountbattenHotel, Owner at The Mountbatten Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although I think you are referring to a different hotel (there is another hotel in Plymouth with a very similar name). Our hotel overlooks Devonport Park and is not adjacent to any centre and we offer a good selection of breakfast cereals.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
2.2 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
736 reviews
2.3 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
579 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,813 reviews
2.7 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,225 reviews
2.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Mountbatten Hotel

Address: 52 Exmouth Road | Stoke, Plymouth PL1 4QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $82 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mountbatten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountbatten Hotel Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mountbatten Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Mountbatten Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice view across the park at the front.”
Leeh19178, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Excellent value, nice view of park, very quite”
Tinabailey2, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you're visiting Plymouth from afar. just use the given postcode in your satnav and you'll be fine.”
Allan8301953, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all fine. You may need to drive around a little to get a good parking spot on the street, but that's the only minor negative to a stay here. And that's common to many hotels in residential areas, so no big deal.”
grahamh532, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the park. You can watch people rushing to where they're going while you sit back with a complimentary hot drink!”
Square1975, 13 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5