We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elfordleigh Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Elfordleigh Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elfordleigh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 390: English reviews
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Spent the week end at this hotel for a hen party. The hotel and grounds are absolutely beautiful, the staff here could not do enough for us, they were very organised, helpful and accommodating. The spa facilities were so clean, and the therapist Hannah was brilliant at her job, Could not fault a single thing apart from having to leave.

Helpful?
Thank smiley14
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments, I will ensure the whole team are made aware of your review. We are spending a considerable amount of time and effort to refurbish all areas of the Hotel. Myself and the Team have been working very hard to ensure minimum impact on our customers during this process. I do hope you... More 

Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Purcahsed two tranquility Spa's. Have constantly tried booking however they decided to fix the spaa during Easter Break meaning we could not book in for our paid for Spa day again! staff are unprofessional and did nit seem to care about customers with flipant comment like ' well at least we let you know the sauna is broken, we could've... More 

Helpful?
Thank Triple_J76
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry that you feel let down by the way the you were treated by my team. This was actually planned maintenance to refurbish the sauna and steam room so we would not take any bookings for these dates to ensure our customers would not be disappointed with there visit. I am pleased to say the sauna... More 

Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2016

I went up to my room (Carnoustie, 29) after a long trip and upon entring noticed an odour of dampness, cheesiness. Assuming it was my feet after the long drive I took a shower and went to dinner. In fairness, the dinner was good. On returning the smell was still there but I couldn't track it down, and being dog... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Please accept my sincere apologies, the head housekeeper would also like to apologise. This obviously should not of happened, we now have put measures in place to ensure this will not happen again. I am sorry to read that the offer of a complimentary room would not tempt you back to the Elfordleigh. If you do change your... More 

Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We had an excellent stay for 2 days to celebrate my Birthday. We stayed in Room 1 (The Belfry) which was huge by any standards and a massive en-suite too with both bath and separate shower. The leisure facilities looked OK but the steam room that would have interested me was broken and has been for some time looking at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Delboy1948
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities at the Elfordleigh. The steam room and sauna have now been refurbished and are fully operational. We hope to see you soon, so you can relax in our refurbished lounge. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2016

The room was big and clean. The bathroom was just too much of the same tile. The staff were friendly and to a degree helpful. There were no two pin (euro) sockets. There were a reasonable selection of channels on the TV but the screen is too small to be seen from the bed. The wi-fi was non-existent and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Elfordleigh Hotel Golf Leisure, I am sorry we did not meet some of your expectations. We are looking for alternatives to solve our signal strength but being in the countryside our choices are limited. Our refurbishment programme is in full swing and hope to complete soon. We do hope you... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2016

This was a return visit and It was just as good as my first time. The food was excellent and very good value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful too. All the starters on the Easter menu were GF and I was able to have a GF main and dessert. I look forward to returning.

Helpful?
2 Thank theoangel
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments, we are working very hard to build a team of chefs whos food will compliment our refurbishment projects and put us firmly on the Plymouth map. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager More 

Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Stayed here for two nights. Rooms were big and clean. The hotel is undergoing renovation but we were never disturbed from that. Food was bad. The first day I had the fish and chips that was under cooked. Second day I had the steak, ordered medium, served beyond well done. I won't eat here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Senator-no1
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, Please accept my apologies for the standard of food you received. We are at present in the process of changing our menus and recruiting a new brigade of chefs. I do hope that you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Plymouth so we can show you this is not... More 

Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Brilliant stay! Upon arrival I was greeted by a friendly, welcoming receptionist. She gave me my room key and provided information on times meals were served and information about the spa and leisure facilities. She also offered me a wake up call and newspaper delivery. I then walked to my room and had a nice surprise of an upgrade! Instead... More 

Helpful?
Thank caitbarlow
mike l, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review the Elfordleigh. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. We are in the process of updating our rooms and always give our guests the best available room on the day. We look forward to your next visit. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Unfortunately this hotel is well below par (excuse the pun) and I am not referring to it being above average. Over the past 18 months I have stayed in over 40 different hotels in the South West and this place was by far the worst experience I have ever known. On arrival I was welcomed by a very dull run... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eddie W
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Firstly let me apologise for you experiences you had at our Hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing our Hotel as you will have seen during your visit, as your room has been partially furnished. Obviously there is no excuse for mouldy bread or sour milk, please be rest assured the chef has been brought to task... More 

Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Had a look at 'Reviews' before we arrived and although some were less than complimentary booked anyway; it was the right location and not too expensive. A lovely surprise ! The Receptionist went above and beyond to make us welcome, her job is at present a difficult one as the Hotel is undergoing a process of upgrade and refurbishment. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank DEXREE
mike l, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments, as you stated we are going through a refurbishment at the moment which we have tried very hard to not effect our customers. The team at the Elfordleigh have worked very hard over the past and coming months to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay, I will make sure the team... More 

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.1 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.5 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,668 reviews
8.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,314 reviews
3.2 km away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#1 of 3 in Plympton
426 reviews
7.5 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $120 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elfordleigh Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Elfordleigh Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“has spa and golf course”
 of 5 bubbles 70Maddy, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cecilmagovern, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room No 3 Sunningdale”
 of 5 bubbles 9CaroleB, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take a tent and a sleeping bag!!..”
 of 5 bubbles tiaraqueen, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are a generous size”
 of 5 bubbles 424jacquelinee, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay