We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Boringdon Arms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Boringdon Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

A group of three of us booked for food in the evening - we had a table in the right hand side of the building which was fine. The pub looks clean and tidy since re-opening and the bar was busy. Unfortunately the food service was particularly slow - 45min to get a main course and once it arrived it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bosunchris
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Nicely decorated, full of character, good beer and simple well cooked food. Stopped in this place for lunch after walking our dogs, bar man gave our dogs free snacks and the freshly prepared food was lovely. Looking forward to the colder weather when they will flash up their log burners.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjp1970
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Under new ownership & the Borri is back! The food is up to it's usual standard as the chef is back too. There is a limited menu for the time being, but I'm sure that will change. I had the Angus burger & it was great very tasty. My family all had different meals & all looked & tasted lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billedgar
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Not been here since the re-furb, very nicely done kept its original character Excellent real ales and friendly atmosphere The menu is a bit limited but home cooked And really good value for food and drinks A lovely rear garden to enjoy on sunny afternoons and dog friendly I wish the team well i am sure this venture will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
plymouth, devon
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

So glad to see a nice local pub back up and running again in Plymstock. Used to be a regular here 5 years ago. Only popped in for a drink but saw very reasonably priced meals coming out and clear plates being collected from tables. The pubs been decorated inside and out and the garden has had slabs laid. Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slippery45
Plymouth
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Boringdon Arms had been closed for some time but has now been extensively refurbished and open once more. It has a small lounge, a good bar and a lovely enclosed garden to the rear Good range of Camra ales and good pub food. Staff very helpful and friendly. Its only a 30 min walk from home so will be visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KFW
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

The Boringdon reopened on Friday 4th after a complete redecoration and it looks great! Although the beer garden was not yet finished I look forward to sitting outside soon as it looked lovely I really liked that fact that there are enough areas to have a drink and chat , something rare in other pubs where all available space is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MMAllen
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2016

I stayed at this 18th century pub two days ago and really enjoyed my stay, the landlord and landlady made me feel very welcome and the bacon and sausages at the breakfast would put many more expensive hotels to shame. Yes it is an 18th century building needing some work but the rooms were clean, the view and atmosphere great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petergru69
BoriPL9, Owner at Boringdon Arms, responded to this review

Thank you sooooooo much for your kind words, and we ( and our locals ) send our best greetings and love. Especially Aunty Carol!! see you soon! Danny antd Tam x x x x x x

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Popped in on Christmas Eve for a nice drink after work and have never ever been treated so poorly in my whole life. After ID being requested to be shown the male staff member proceeded to make a joke about the picture on my ID which was very very offensive and ruined my evening. The worst bar staff I have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caroline1209
BoriPL9, Owner at Boringdon Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments,, and we would like to sincerely apologise for any offence you felt. This matter has been dealt with appropriately in house, and IS NOT the way we operate. We should however draw your attention to the facts that a) A number of your party were intoxicated. The licencing law insists we refuse service to these...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

We popped in for something to eat about 4pm on a Sunday, it's the first time we had ever been to this pub, we were thoroughly disappointed as we walked in we sensed a lack of atmosphere and the 2 or 3 customers in there made us feel very uncomfortable, we didn't even finish our drinks before we left.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike p
BoriPL9, Owner at Boringdon Arms, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to The Boringdon Arms, and this saddens us greatly. In addition we would like to apologise that due to the on going gas and electrical repairs we were unable to provide a food offering. This will be rectified presently and we will look forward to welcoming you...

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
6.5 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
5.7 km away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#1 of 3 in Plympton
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,025 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
6.2 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant
Boringdon Arms Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Boringdon Arms

Address: Boringdon Terrace | Turnchapel, Plymouth PL9 9TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boringdon Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Boringdon Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Freckleton, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Boringdon Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Park in the large public car park ten metres away, the locals will appreciate it as the streets are like a cornish fishing village”
 of 5 bubbles petergru69, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Stunning views across Plymouth!”
 of 5 bubbles steverI38HV, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Call ahead and check what availability there is, only two with en-suite, shared bathrooms are clean and in good working order.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyLamnea, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The rooms on the front of the buildind have great views over Plymouth sound.”
 of 5 bubbles 472carlb, 29 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the harbour are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Sueb642013, 24 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5