We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Torbay Hotel

Orbitz.comUS$89*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$127*
US$89*
Great Deal
US$90*
US$90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Torbay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

716 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 716: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Torbay Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely room, sea view. Very good food. Attentive service. Hotel is very near to Town, harbour & amusement arcades. Easy walking distance. Good choice of shops,mincluding a department store. Will definitely return this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JEANBEAN79
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you JEANBEAN79 for your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay here. I am glad you return to us in the future and I hope to see you again in the future.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled here independently by train and booked through U.K. breakaways. We arrived mid afternoon and given our key quickly as we were the only ones checking in. Our room was at the back where there were plenty of trees to look out upon. It was a very nice room with a seating area and a Lovely king size bed. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cliden
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cliden, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your Easter Break here. I am glad you found the food to be 'excellent' and that you enjoyed your breakfasts here. The buffet set up is great as you able to choose exactly what you like and how much you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location we booked a superior room sea view it was worth paying the extra money very comfortable and great view breakfast was self service with good selection of fruits and cereals followed by a full English pleasant stay would go back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maureen M
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay with us and its pleasing to note that you enjoyed one of our superior rooms. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and we look forward to your next visit.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Super Hotel and staff Please check yourselves before Young Farmers conference made it a Not very good weekend except we did meet friends outside Torquay. We have visited in the past and had a great time it was just YFC.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter H
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Peter H and thank you for review. I am glad that you have enjoyed stays with us in the past. Yes, it was young farmers in town that weekend and we did endeavour to contact all guests in advance of their stay that the town would be full, and offered alternative hotels on arrival to those guests who did...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had five days at the The Torbay Hotel, good food, lovely room looking out over the gardens, good selection on menus , fabulous entertainment each evening, Hoping to be back in the next few months.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jean w
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi jean w and thank you for your review of your recent holiday with us. Its pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you very shortly for your next visit.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Shearing 's 5 day holiday spoilt by a broken lift which, I was informed by a local resident, "is not the first time". If this is true it is a disgrace to allow elderly guests to stay. Although the lift had been broken prior to our arrival we were not informed and would not have travelled in the first place...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hullah
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay with us and it is regrettable that the lift was out of action during your stay.It is I know difficult when these situations occur, but we do try to contact where possible in advance, if there is a particular mobility issue, however it is sometimes not possible to contact everybody. Myself and...

Chester Cheshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointed that what was supposed to be a restful 4 night break prior to heart surgery was spoilt by having to climb 3 flights of stairs as the lift was unavailable for the whole of our stay.Otherwise we had a lovely room,the meals were very good and the staff friendly.Saying this more information from management would have been appreciated

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maz6766
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi maz6766 and thank you for your review of your stay with us. I'm sorry that the lift was inoperable during your stay, which did cause some difficulties for you and others, but it was beyond our control. We tried to keep everyone updated with the situation, but there was not much more we could say, as we are reliant...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled with Shearings. Paid for an upgrade, Shearing took the money but didn't inform hotel. Given room on 2nd floor. Joseph and Mary would have rejected it. It was dark, dirty, the bathroom heater wouldn't turn off so bathroom was overpoweringly hot. The "view" was of a brick wall less that 3 ft away. Beds and bedding grubby. Dinning staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linz R
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Linz R, it is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I believe we offer a geat product which many many other positive reviews on here will attest to. We try our best to satisfy all our customers and it's a pity that on this occassion, we were unable to satisfy you.

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite what the hotel may tell you this lift does not look like getting repaired soon as it is obsolete there was 105 stairs to our room, why were we not informed before we went . there was people there in their 80s with walking sticks struggling. THIS WAS NOT GOOD ENOUGH, it spoilt the holiday despite being told the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank boomerangles
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi boomerangles. I am sorry that you struggled during this difficult time with the lift being out of action during your stay. Unfortunately it is a situation that is beyond our control and we did endeavour to contact as many guests as possible prior to their arrival. I am not sure of your information regarding the lift being obsolete as...

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just come back from the Torbay Hotel,The staff all very friendly .The only setback was there is only one lift and it was not working and watching some of the elderly people struggling up the stairs was worrying, The food was very good ,waiters top class. You need a jumper in the ballroom,, We had a sea view on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M3422RUdavid
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi M3422RUdavid. Thank you for your review of your stay with us. It great to read that you wee very happy with the service you received from our staff and it's always nice to hear that you enjoyed the food. It was a difficult time with the lift being out of action, but I am glad to see that you...

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
482 reviews
0.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
2,664 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
2,245 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
4.0 km away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $122 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can pay extra for rooms facing the sea”
cliden, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Possibly near the lift if you have any walking difficultys.”
jeanw560, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are not good at climbing stairs insist on a low floor room.”
Hullah, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel.”
728linzr, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book a standard plus room.”
boomerangles, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$89* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$90
Booking.comUS$90
LateRooms.comUS$127
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates