We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Torbay Hotel

Save
Traveller (227)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (32)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good42%
  • Average18%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“front facing”(61 reviews)
“dining room”(76 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for Bay Torbay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
240
332
150
48
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
240
332
150
48
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront facingshearings holidaydining roomsmall liftshearings hotelsself drivelarge treesbig wheelour waiterfourth floorevening mealcoach driverswimming poolsea viewcar parkwaiting staffexcellent position
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We decided to take a Spring break & head to Torquay with Shearings who own the hotel. The hotel is well situated on the sea front. It is a very large hotel with a fascinating history which can be found on the coffee table in...More

2  Thank noorcaughley
Response from SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay HotelResponded 13 April 2018

Hi noorcaughley. thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Torbay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and note the comments you have made regarding the issues you encountered and will look into them, specially the maintenance...More

Reviewed 11 April 2018

Lovely, clean hotel. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly throughout the stay. I was especially impressed with how they handled my dietary needs. I have had mixed results before so was apprehensive but was extremely well catered for. We mentioned on the booking...More

1  Thank Dairyfreetravel
Response from SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay HotelResponded 13 April 2018

Hi dairyfreetravel and thank you for writing a review of your holiday with us. I am so glad that your dietary needs were well catered for and that the menu offered was suitable for you and that the staff looked after you during your stay....More

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is well situated on the seafront looking out across the bay Customer service needs to be reviewed no one smiles and everything is too much trouble for them The food was poor quality and not as described on the menus and on several...More

1  Thank rmargaret2013
Response from SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay HotelResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Margaret 2013 and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am somewhat surprised at your comments, as so many other reviews speak positively about many of the areas that you did not seem to enjoy. I hope...More

Reviewed 9 April 2018

Very good value Hotel in great position. Went in January Hotel and bedroom lovely and warm. Five minutes from Torquay town and marina. Situated on sea front with bus stop opposite. Torbay Hotel staff all very helpful and pleasant.More

2  Thank Michael B
Response from SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay HotelResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Michael B and thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that we had to offer and that in particular you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We are in a great location...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Room 226 was a little disappointed upgrade too standard plus which. We paid extra £28 each expected a larger room with bath and little extras. Food was good salads were excellent well done kitchen staff chef and staff waiters waitresses work very hard well done...More

1  Thank glascoed2014
Response from SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay HotelResponded 9 April 2018

Hi glascoed20147 and thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and in general were happy with the hotel, staff and food. We are in a great location, if not the...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Torquay
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$106 - US$308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$106 - US$308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (227)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (32)
Pool & Beach (9)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sue H
2 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SimonwMurray1 | Property representative |
Hi Sue H. Yes hand towels and bath towels are provided in the bedrooms for your use
1
Vote
Sue H
1 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SimonwMurray1 | Property representative |
Hello Sue No 220 dosnt have a front view
1
Vote
glascoed2014
31 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Shirley C | Reviewed this property |
Pretty sure it's 8-9.30. Breakfast can be earlier on day of leaving for coach parties. Depends on region of return as to how much earlier. Can't forget meal times once you've booked in advance meal times are on the key card... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"find another hotel"
Read review
"Ask for the sea view room. Well worth the upgrade!"
Read review
"Ask for the best rooms .brochure does.nt reflect the rooms you see ."
Read review
"Rooms at front with views over harbour"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing