We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Torbay Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Torbay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Torbay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 645: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We stayed for 3 days in this typical Bay hotel. Having stayed a few times in a Shearing hotel we found this to be the best one as far as the décor was concerned. We have learned to pay that extra to get a better room,This time overlooking the harbour. Very spacious. My husband is on a Gluten Free diet....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jean186411
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jean186411. Thank you for your review and I am glad that you found the décor of the hotel to your liking and your bedroom choice. I am sorry that there was a mix up with your husbands gluten free diet, as we are very well prepared to deal with any dietary requirements and gluten free is a dietary issue...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

the torbay hotel his a decent hotel for the money paid the food his not that good the breakfasts are good but the main meals are not do not ask for the fish its awfull i think they need a new chef the room number 100 was a lovely room could not fault it and it was very clean we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dragoon876
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi dragoon876 and thanks for posting a review of your stay at the Torbay. I agree that we offer are great value for money and room 100 is in a great position in the hotel. Its disappointing to read that you weren't entirely satisfied with the evening meals as we do get some great reviews regarding the food we offer....

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Clean room but far too hot and it wasn't a warm weekend so don't know why the room was so hot. Window only opened a tiny amount so we struggled to sleep. The breakfast was the most disorganised breakfast I've ever been to! We had to wait nearly 30 minutes for a table and then had no cutlery for ages...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank buzzybee74
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi buzzybee74 thanks for taking the time to review your stay and I am surprised that there was an issue with the breakfasts during your stay. I will look into it as we generally receive good comments and reviews regarding the food and service that we provide. Thank you for your praise of the receptionist Aaron, who will be pleased...

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Great position on the harbour front in Torquay. Lobby and lounge area very nice and kept well. Even on site disco / ballroom and with its own swimming pool. Not used by us however. Breakfast on the Sunday stopped at 9.30 which meant either up and down early or miss out! The later for us. Bedroom was tiny with ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike W and thanks for your review. As many have mentioned, we are in probably the best location in Torquay. We have recently refurbished our ground floor areas including our restaurant, so I am glad you enjoyed it. I am sorry if you felt the room to be not as large as you would have wished, but hope that...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Food was first class.The room was nice and very well cleaned every day.The hotel is a very short walk to the harbour and the ferry,the bus stop is just across the road.reception was very helpful,Touquay is a lovely place to have holiday

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronoli
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ronoli and thank you for posting a review of your holiday with us. I am glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including the food and bedroom. We are in a great location which is handy for all that Torquay has to offer and hope to see you again soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We stayed on a Monday to Friday break at this hotel as part of a Shearings coach holiday.First impressions of the hotel were very good. There are three or four steps leading to the main door. Later on we realised, others doors in the hotel could be opened up for wheelchair access onto the pavement on the main road. There...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank flowerbasket
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi flowerbasket and thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Torbay. I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you found everything to your satisfaction. It is always nice to hear such positive feedback for the hotel and especially for the staff. Marta will be glad to hear that she looked after you so...

Uxbridge
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I was quite shocked on arrival that my room allocated involved using a lot of stairs after getting out of the lift. I panicked because I knew that I could not "do the stairs". I returned to reception after seeing the problem and the receptionist (Carolina) resolved the problem quite quickly and managed to get me another room where only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ann T
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ann T, thank you for your review and I am sorry that we are not deemed suitable for a future visit to us, but I am glad that our staff were all helpful and did their best to cater for you during your stay. I know that they will all be pleased to know that they have been mentioned...

Aldridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Good food excellent waiter, George, Lovely quiet bedroom number 236 but lack of cupboards so a small amount of clothes were kept in the suitcase. We went on 2 trips Michael the driver was excellent. Entertainment at night was good especially the singer, Tuesday night the show at Babbacomb was very good. a very good holiday, well worth the money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bot-the-golfer
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Torbay. I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday and that you were well looked after by George in the restaurant. I will pass on your comments to him and to Mike, your driver. 226 is one of our newly refurbished bedrooms and I am glad that...

Solihull
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Another wonderful stay at the Torbay Hotel. Lovely to see some familiar faces on the staff, who remembered us. Food was EXCELLENT! As usual our cleaning lady Jane was pleasant, helpful and thorough. Special mention to our waiter in the Dining Room, George. Did his utmost to make our mealtimes a pleasure. Special mention also to Aaron on Reception who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard E
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Richard E for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed another stay with us. Its always good to know that we are maintaining the standards that you expect, especially as returning guests. I am sure Jane, George and Aaron will be happy to know that they looked after you so well and we look forward to...

Reviewed 9 August 2015

Stayed in superior twin room on 1st floor for 3 nights, Friday to Monday on a Shearings break. The room was lovely and clean and it was very large with 2 beautiful French doors over looking the harbour. However, not the hotels fault but the room was so noisy on Friday and Saturday night when groups of drinkers turned out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maddymoomoo
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Maddymoomoo for reviewing your stay with us and I m glad that you like the room that you stayed in.105 is a nice large room, but I m sorry if the late night revellers caused you a sleepless night or two. It can get noisy on occasion with being on a busy seafront but I hope that it...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#22 of 89 in Torquay
456 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
2,350 reviews
0.8 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#24 of 89 in Torquay
977 reviews
1.2 km away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $133 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
birmingham
7 months ago
over a year ago
Bedford, United Kingdom
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms have a great view of the marina.”
 of 5 bubbles Di_Traveller11, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we had a standard plus room on the 4th floor, I bit of road noise but otherwise quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 945jeaniem, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front facing and high floor”
 of 5 bubbles margarets589, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms best for views but also sometimes has noise from night revellers!”
 of 5 bubbles LynneKenilworth, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a front facing room, it's noisy and you can only see trees!”
  • My sea view or tree view! Cleverly called
  • Very impressive, large room
 of 5 bubbles lulawriggles, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay