We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Heritage Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Heritage Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Visited Torquay for 2 nights with a friend. Paid £38 per night each with this price including continental breakfast. Cannot complain for this price. Hotel clean and rooms comfortable. A lick of paint here and there would not go amiss, but this hotel represents brilliant value for money. We both paid an extra £6 for a cooked breakfast, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
London
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

It looks ok from the outside but once you cross the threshold its downhill all the way. It needs a lot of money spending on the fabric of the building for this place to get anywhere near an accecptable standard. My room was a sad sight and no mistake , it was only for one night for work purpose so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ActonDude
Reviewed 4 October 2016

i'd like to start my review with a positive - the rooms are quite big and the staff are quite friendly. unfortunately the rooms were looking a bit tired and could do with a bit of a modernising and the room we were staying in had a musty smell and also the window didn't lock/seal properly, so we could hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This hotel really good for service and accommodation. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, I use this hotel whenever I am in the area. The rooms are clean with lovely views of the sea, I have stayed in a different room each time that I have visited and have not been disappointed yet. The breakfast is good with hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate it, please take advantage of our loyalty card offer, when you booked direct with us you will receive a loyalty card entitling you to a free cooked english breakfast every time you stay.

Tenerife, Spain
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a room as I have previously been before and what a difference. It's really gone downhill. The room we were shoved in over looked the bar so we couldn't open the window. The bathroom had hairs in the shower, urine stain up the wall and broken crisps on the carpet in the lounge. Dusty everywhere. We asked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahcarebear
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Frankly I am very disappointed to read this very unfair review, we work very hard to maintain a high level of standards throughout and to receive very false unfair reviews are just not wanted, whilst we openly invite fair reviews. We have a very good customer base who return regularly all of whom I'm sure would disagree with the appalling...

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We popped in for a quick evening meal. Staff very polite friendly and helpful. Good deals in the menu such as 2 for £10 fish meals. The mixed grill and rack of ribs are outstanding. Sports channels covered on several screens including one outside. There was more on the Scampi picture below photo was an afterthought.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim U
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, we work hard to deliver good food at very fair, competitive prices, we have two meals for £10 served all day everyday.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here recently (was originally booked for 3), but left one day early. The location is very good, close to the waterfront, restaurants and shops. The food in the restaurant (at the Heritage) "Appleby's" is also very good. There was sufficient parking space. The room itself was a disappointment. When I walked in I noticed a stale...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie U
Lyth Hill
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Paid a little under £50 + vat for 2 people in a room with a small double +a single bed for one night. Man on reception Sunday afternoon 11th September was far from welcoming + had to wait for him to arrive over 10 mins left hanging around. Hotel in general very tired and in need of refurb badly. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as fancied a long weekend in Torquay, my partner chose this hotel for it's location and price and we weren't disappointed. Lovely rooms with plenty of space, comfortable beds and newly refurbished bathroom and a fantastic view of the bay. Towels and tea/coffee, milk portions replenished daily and beds made up too. Complimentary biscuits also replaced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark b
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I booked a room for me and my partner, to celebrate his birthday. I thought the room we had was big, clean and the view we had was amazing. I had a good night sleep. In the morning the staff was very friendly and helpful, we both had the cooked breakfast, it was worth the money. I am going to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerry h

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
576 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
387 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
668 reviews
0.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $96 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Heritage Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Heritage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for rooms that are well away from the party rooms”
 of 5 bubbles SuzieQDevon, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I cannot say any thing about any other room but 15 is a good family room”
 of 5 bubbles mrmayle, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Belmoral”
 of 5 bubbles A5782SWandyp, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles lorraineg569, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Family room easy access from carpark and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Q6244RPkarenl, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5