We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,184: English reviews
Start your review of The Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had our wedding at The Grand on April 15th and we couldn't have asked for a better venue to spend our special day. We only wanted a small wedding (around 18 guests) and the staff were more than happy to cater to our needs. From our first initial meeting with the Wedding Executive Lauren, we instantly felt comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jakat88
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the outside the hotel looks a bit tired but inside looks a lot better. Having stayed here before I knew that it is worth paying for a sea view refurbished room. As others at back of hotel very shabby. The room was lovely and the view of sea was good although you had to climb through window to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie e
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie e, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us at The Grand. I am disappointed to read your comments regarding delays during dinner, and do apologise, and I have shared your comments with our Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. I am pleased to read that your found the...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently stayed in the Grand Hotel for the Young Farmers AGM and we were all made so welcome. We can appreciate that sometimes young farmers can be rowdy and disruptive but all the staff were so friendly and helpful to us. They kept the bar open 24/7 for us which was very handy. I booked a family room with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becky H
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Becky H, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us this weekend. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and the AGM was successful - we certainly enjoyed hosting you! We look forward to welcoming you back in 2020. Kind regards

South Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Relaxing unrushed Sunday Lunch, great food, and very attentive service. We will be back. Nice to see white linen on the tables and to have polite helpful service. We shall return. The food was well above expectation and beautifully presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth021
Matt_Grand, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth021, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent visit with us. I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us, we receive a lot of positive feedback regarding our Sunday Lunches and have developed a following of Sunday regulars. Thank you for your positive comments about our staff,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon arrival it seemed to be a very nice hotel to stay in. If your travelling there in a car be warned the parking is slim pickings unless your lucky enough to get a space and leave your car there during the stay. From the description and the fact it is advertised as a 4* hotel i had high expectations...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Darren A
Matt_Grand, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Darren A, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us. I was encouraged reading your review especially all the nice comments you have written about our staff. I was on duty during your stay and was impressed by the way our staff went the extra mile to help with some of...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The building itself is most definitely grand but the bedroom, efficiency of service and quality of food really impacted our experience in a negative way. I’m not sure we’ve ever seen so many staff in a bar area or at breakfast service, but neither have we seen staff be so inefficient! To their credit, when we did talk to staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mosschops999
Matt_Grand, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mosschops999, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that you found our staff to be inefficient and can only apologise if you found this to be the case. As with all staff training our heads of department regularly assess our teams and provide training and...

Bristol, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just read review of couple in room 112, well we were in room 114 and paid £168 per night for same experience although we were initially given key to a fourth floor room with tiny window. Luckily surprised naked man already in occupation so we were given 114. This did have a better sea view which was what I paid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Riverbankannie
Matt_Grand, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Riverbankannie, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us. I was disheartened to read that you found your initial room to be occupied, I am glad that our staff were able to relocate you to one of our sea view rooms on the first floor. As the Hotel is over 130...

Broadwindsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner booked this as he's been here before. But we were both very disappointed with our stay. 17th to the 18th April. We stayed in room 112 was very small but we thought for one night it didn't really matter. We had a couple of drinks in the bar which made us giggle as the lady who served us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tink198332
Matt_Grand, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tink198332, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that you found your room to be small, with regards to your comments concerning bar staff uniform and behaviour I have passed them on to our Bar Manager to action. We do have a uniform policy for...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We want to say thank you very much for all your individual and team hard work in making our Mum's 90th Birthday luncheon an amazing success. The attention to detail, coping so kindly with the guests caught up in a traffic delay, checking that all was going well was truly appreciated by everyone. The food was delicious and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TVTeign
Matt_Grand, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TVTeign, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent function with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves and that your Mother had a fantastic birthday with all of her friends and family. A lot of your guests commented to us on the day how much they had enjoyed their lunch and...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I went for what was supposed to be a fun surprise 46th wedding anniversary short break at the Grand Hotel, Torquay. Unfortunately, rather than a relaxed couple of days in a Devon four-star hotel it turned out to be something of a nightmare. Shortly before our trip we received a phone call from the hotel offering to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank healthybookman70
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear healthybookman70, I am most disappointed to read your review following your recent stay with us, and that you were not satisfied with Matthew's response to your letter. I am aware you spoke with both Nicola & Jason during your stay, who took the time to resolve the issues you highlighted, and I do regret that you did not feel...

500 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (476)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Other (184)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
2,602 reviews
0.6 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 88 in Torquay
1,049 reviews
2.3 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 88 in Torquay
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
4.9 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
462 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $142 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay extra for refurbished room”
debbiee38, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
healthybookman70, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms have a great view!”
JMSHorsham, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are good.”
jamesmK3843ZV, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A sea view room would be a good choice.”
Simonthejeweller, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5