We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Colindale Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Colindale Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were welcomed by Barry who immediately made us a pot of tea even though we arrived earlier than the check in time. When he realised we were sharing a bottle of wine in the evening he started to leave out some wine glasses for us too. Breakfast was fantastic - perfectly cooked and an interesting set of choices. We... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank KarenP2109
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Colindale Hotel for 4 days, from the 2nd of May to the 5th of May. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. We arrived in the afternoon, and we were immediately greeted by Barry . He kindly took our luggage and provide tea for us in his elegant drawing room which contains a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank IvanItalian
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We felt very unwelcome at Colindale guest house. From the other reviews I can see when Barry is nice he is very nice, but when he is not in a good mood, he is horrid. The only person in over 50 places, we stayed on our trip, that we found to be so rude and very nasty. The room we... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Rose62nev
LondonMajordomo, Owner at Colindale Guest House, responded to this review

I find it rather strange that you have waited 5 months before posting your review.I feel I was justified to tell you that you had arrived in my breakfast room 30 minutes early.During your stay with us you constantly found fault with everything and we found it difficult to please you.Your personal attack on me and my establishment will be... More 

Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I were very lucky in getting a room due to a late cancellation, and what a find for the Bank Holiday weekend. Barry, the proprietor is an absolute gentleman, ably assisted by the lovely Cara! The house is clean, airy & bright. Our room (No 3) had comfortable twin beds, en suite shower room with plenty of... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CMRMidlandsUK
LondonMajordomo, Owner at Colindale Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind review.It was a pleasure to have you both here as guests.Cara and I hope to see you again one day.By the way the photo was great ...thank you. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Oh Dear spring to mind. I stayed at the Colindale. The first morning as i was going down for breakfast a grey cat was walking over the kitchen top.There also got a small dog. The dog was running around the dining room which i don`t think is very nice. The room was in need of a bit of cleaning. as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank steven g
LondonMajordomo, Owner at Colindale Guest House, responded to this review

My rooms are clean see previous many reviews.You don't like animals.Too bad.Go elsewhere then. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We recently stayed with Barry whilst in Torquay, the house is nicey located in Torquay close to the train station if you do not have your own vehicle. Within 15 -20 minutes walk to the central area with shops and restaurants etc along the waterfront, a very pleasant walk. The room was spacious and well equipped with free wifi and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kplceurope
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

First class host with first class breakfast. Quiet but near to main road train station buses and beach. Room at a glance very bright and clean. Twin beds were not very comfortable they creek and wobble, on suite rather small but serviceable. Shower very gentle, toilet paper stuck round the bristles of the toilet brush. Bin in bathroom not emptied... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hazel J
LondonMajordomo, Owner at Colindale Guest House, responded to this review

During your stay with me here,you were probably unaware that I was running this big house single handed as I had been badly let down by my chambermaid/ assistant. Firstly let me apologise that your bed linen was not changed on the 4th day of your stay as is my usual practice.The hand towels and shower mat which you placed... More 

Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Barry the proprietor could not be more helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfasts were great, perfectly served with a good choice, but no pancakes. Unfortunately our room (blue room), one of only four, was quite small, the en-suite very small and poorly maintained.

Helpful?
Thank Lee D
Zürich
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have stayed here twice so far and recommend it to all my friends in Switzerland. Barry is a lovely host who looks after his guests and makes sure you have the best of stays in the area. Actually I can't wait to find another excuse to go back. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the breakfasts plentiful and delicious.... More 

Helpful?
Thank carohuer
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

First class from start to finish. Barry greeted us as though we were old friends and this set the tone for our break. Room 5 was spotless, all mod cons, en-suite and a few little extras which was a nice touch. Breakfast is top draw. Great selection from start to finish, all cooked fresh to order. Great location for all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Warriorblue

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.7 km away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
491 reviews
0.1 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
175 reviews
0.8 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 89 in Torquay
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
492 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.5 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#29 of 89 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A small charming very individual Victorian guest house in a quiet location very near to the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colindale Guest House

Address: 20 Rathmore Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $90 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colindale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Colindale Hotel Torquay
Colindale Guest House Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colindale Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get the Blue room. Neighbours dogs barking and train noise Don't come 5min early for breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Rose62nev, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Blue room is on the rail track side with very small en-suite, avoid.”
 of 5 bubbles LeeD334, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
“All rooms of very high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles Warriorblue, 8 Feb 2013 | Read review
“I was leaving on Sunday afternoon, and when all the other guests had checked out I was given a tour by Sven. I can honestly say I would mind staying in any of the rooms as they were all decorated to a high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles RAOCLondon, 18 Sep 2012 | Read review
“if you want a good hotel to stay in book direct with Barry Greenwood the owner do not use Laterooms”
 of 5 bubbles cookie1006576, 16 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5