We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glendower Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Glendower Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 246: English reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

My boyfriend and I booked after reading the reviews on trip advisor and were expecting good things. But what we got was much more than expected! After a 6 hour journey we were met by Bob who made us a coffee and had a chat about the area, what to do and about the B&B. He then showed us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzie F
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Izzie many thanks for your brilliant review. Didn't use the car all week, I think I just mentioned that in a previous reply. Our location is perfect, everything is so close and easy to get to on foot and parking charges in the Bay make it a great choice to walk. Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and we are...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Sure it was peak season, but at the higher end of the prices, expected more. There were no tissues in the room and only instant coffee and no herbal teas. Parking was an essential request but it is mostly tandem so you get parked in. Wifi did not work first night. Décor pleasant enough but very fake Victorian. Only one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidrrcross
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about us with Tripadvisor. We note that it is the only review you have ever done so your stay with us must have been very disappointing for you and we are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. However, that said, we would like to address your issues in turn: Top end of the...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Despite our very last minute request for a family room (for just one night) we were very kindly offered a lovely room. Upon our arrival, we were made to feel very welcome and at home, with cups of coffee and delicious slices of banana bread. Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and homely, with comfortable beds. Our every need was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Josh exceptional breakfast, spacious room, spotlessly clean, amazing sausages and a lovely stay, we have done our job. A brilliant review which is very much appreciated, thank you. We do hope you will come again soon, there are lots more restaurants to try :-) Thanks again Carla, Bob & Lesley

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We stayed at the glendower bnb in August 2016, we had a very welcoming and warm stay throughout. We throughfully enjoyed our breakfast every morning and nothing was too much to ask from the owners of the bnb. It was close to beach and other facilities to enjoy. We would very much recommend this bnb to anyone wishing to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davestew72
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Dave thank you for your review and recommendation and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Lesley, Carla & Bob

Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We had an amazing stay with a lovely friendly family. Room was spotless and bed was so comfortable. They made our stay very comfortable and cater for dogs too which is a bonus. We will definitely stay again. Barley loved the sausages specially made for the dogs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lainey192016
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Lainey an amazing stay is about as good as it gets and we thank you for taking the time to tell everyone on Tripadvisor. Dogs are very welcome here at the Glendower and they do indeed love the sausages for breakfast. We look forward to seeing you next time. Best Regards Lesley, Carla & Bob

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The Glendower has so much to offer. Perfect location within walking distance of all that Torquay has to offer. We stayed in the family room which was very spacious, clean and the beds were soooo comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous and offered all you could want. Most importantly we were welcomed by the lovely owners who were friendly and were more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bash9201
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Bash "cannot fault" and "will be returning", that really does sum it up nicely. Many thanks from Bob, Lesley & Carla

Reviewed 5 September 2016

I stayed here for night on a recent business trip to the area. What a great surprise when i got thier the bedroom i stayed in was very clean and well presented. Bob made me very welcome and told me all about the amenities and nothing was too much trouble. They have a lovely cosy bar area which is ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordon b
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Gordon many thanks for your excellent review. Whether you are here for a night or a month you will always get a warm welcome, a clean and nicely decorated room and a hearty breakfast that lasts many of our guests all day. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Many thanks again. Carla, Bob &...

Reviewed 5 September 2016

what a wonderful find. we stayed for three nights and would loved to have stayed for more.we were made so welcome in such a clean and friendly hotel and all i can say to anyone is .the breakfast is a feast ! so much choice but do save room for the homemade babana bread its amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

H Barbara a lovely review, thank you. The breakfasts are indeed a feast and Lesley now has to make a new banana bread pretty much every day, everyone loves it and some ask if they can take some home with them. We hope you can join us again one day. All the best Lesley, Carla & Bob

Reviewed 5 September 2016

After reading reviews on here I knew I must definitely book this b and b and I am so glad I did! The staff are absolutely fantastic and make you feel so welcome, our rooms were very clean and the breakfast was delicious! I would definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone and hopefully will be back to stay in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suman K
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Suman many thanks for doing a review for us and really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you all back one day. Regards Bob, Lesley & Carla

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Just arrived home from another lovely stay at the Glendower. The hotel and the experience gets better every time. Nothing is too much trouble, such a welcoming atmosphere, Bob Lesley and Carla are really lovely people and we have such a good, relaxing time. The home made preserves are to die for and the breakfast is superb. Are we going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mootiemeister
bob p, Owner at Glendower Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Mootiemeister it is so good to have so many guests who are returning again and again. We look forward to seeing you again soon. It is nice to know that we made you welcome and that you felt at home and that it is getting better each time. We will keep working on making things better and better as...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,594 reviews
1.0 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 153 in Torquay
212 reviews
0.1 km away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
278 reviews
0.3 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#8 of 153 in Torquay
353 reviews
1.1 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location Location Location They say location is King and if it is, the Glendower is certainly royalty. We are lucky to have one of the best locations in Torquay with the International Conference & Leisure Centre just over the road with its excellent swimming pool and first class facilities and right beside that is Torre Abbey and its 800 year history and beautiful gardens. We are just a few hundred metres from the main beach and a mere 10 minute stroll to the harbour with all it’s shops, bars, cafes, restaurants and clubs. As well as all this, imagine, after a blissful nights sleep on what many of our guests describe as the most comfortable beds they have ever slept on, you come down to a fresh, cooked to order English Breakfast with local free range eggs, sausages hand made for us by our local butcher and delicious thick cut bacon from the same butcher. Image also fresh bread (granary and white), and tasty jams and marmalade to spread onto them. Finally we also provide a range of tasty, healthy yogurts to accompany your breakfast. Well imagine no more, if this ticks all your boxes then hit the check availability button and you can look forward to a warm and friendly welcome from your hosts Bob, Lesley & Carla. But it’s not just our fantastic breakfasts that keep our customers returning. Our rooms, which are constantly being refurbished and upgraded, are large and well equipped. Each has a 19″ flat screen free view TV, personal security box, hairdryer, iron & board, free high speed wifi throughout, complimentary tea/coffee (and biscuits) and of course all our rooms are fully en-suite. Also, our bar/lounge is open every evening for your pleasure. All our beds are of an extremely high standard with a deep luxurious mattress covered with a thick quilted topper for that extra bit of comfort. Being so close to everything means that many of our guests park the car for the duration of their stay and either walk into the harbour through Torre Abbey Gardens and along the seafront or use the bus that passes our front door. We are the ideal location for both holiday and business guests. Breakfast. To drink, we have fresh filtered coffee, Tetley tea, fruit teas and fruit juice. We also offer a healthy option of soya milk and fruit. Toast is available from the breakfast bar and we will be along for you to order your choice of cooked breakfast from our menu. We can also provide an early breakfast for guests who want an early start or for guest travelling on business. One of the best locations in Torquay, large rooms, great decor, very comfortable beds and a brilliant breakfast, it doesn’t get much better than the Glendower. Check out our reviews, on any of the booking sites, and of course on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you to the Glendower Torquay. Your hosts Bob, Lesley & Carla ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glendower Bed and Breakfast

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England (Formerly Glendower)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $128 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendower Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glendower Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Bed And Breakfast Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glendower Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Seniors should ask for ground floor rooms.”
lindaf934, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was lovely and catered for all of what we wanted.”
marysharp42017, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor and very quiet”
janet270, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think any room would be great”
suehamer71, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had room no 3, single, nice view from the back, very quiet, lovely decor', very comfy bed.”
tonpac, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates