We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Richwood

Booking.comUS$103*
View Deal
#53 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$123*
US$103*
US$123*
US$103*
US$123*
US$102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Richwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Richwood
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We have today arrived home after what I can only describe as a shocking stay at this 'hotel'. I would like to start by saying I have never ever found the need to write a negative review! After reading the mostly positive reviews for this hotel I was stunned! We arrived at The Richwood and immediately discovered it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
40Thank Sue C
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

How can one reply to such a review? Do we really have to defend ourselves against such vitriolic? Do we have to justify our existence? So utterly depressing. The one thing I will say is that Sue C was on a cheap deal, the fine print and our T&Cs are very clear. They were not overcharged. The bullying of my...

Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

I highly recommend the richwood.. me and carla really enjoyed our stay and was made to feel very welcome by the owner.. very helpful and everything was spot on.. would definitely stay again, hopefully with better weather and in the summertime...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff H
richwoodtorquay, Manager at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thanks for the glowing review - it was great having you here!

Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

We would like to thank the richwood hotel for a great stay, we were made to feel so welcome, definitely by far the best hotel we have stayed in. They are so kind and caring, and cook an excellent breakfast! Would definatly recommend staying here as we had a fantastic stay and will definatly be going back in the summer!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tiffany F
richwoodtorquay, Manager at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you both for the glowing review. It was a pleasure having you here! Roll on next summer!

UK
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed for the weekend,the rooms were clean with a lovely homely feel to it. breakfast of toast and cereals were Included in price but we chose to pay extra for cooked,we were told about the bar and dinner options but chose to go out - there was no pressure to buy which was good. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dawnandgerald
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Dawn and Gerald - thank you so much for the great review. We are looking forward to the next time!

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

I would just like to thank Veronica, Sadia and Jo-Jo for a lovely stay,we where made to feel so welcome, the breakfast was lovely,we also had an evening meal and that was also lovely, rooms where very clean, don't listen to any negative feedback.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Racheal B
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I had previously booked at another B&B in Torquay but thought it would not be suitable for my mum, and booked The Richwood after seeing an advert. I stayed at The Richwood with my 89 year old mum, our room was on the top floor, a nice size room, clean and bright and very comfy with a view over the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacqueline P
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Jacqueline for saying it as it is! We look forward to the next visit!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Great place, staff are so friendly, could not do enough for you. The rooms are clean. Terrace is lovely. Breakfast is amazing. Close to all the tourist spots. My family and myself really enjoyed our weekend there. Thank you so much.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shereen P
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

A great review from really great guests! Thank you , we enjoyed having you!

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We checked in for three nights in September, the room we were given was so small,we had to upgrade, for this we had to pay an extra £23 per night, the net curtain was filthy and torn, 2 tea bags and 2 coffees,no biscuits, we asked for more but was told the charge was 50pence,for clean towels the charge was...

 Report
Helpful?
27Thank Pat19492014
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

This person was on a VERY cheap deal. On booking she was given the opportunity to upgrade from our small standard rooms to a premiere room for £18 per night: she declined. On arrival she decided she did not like the small standard room and, having seen our "deluxe" room, upgraded. She seemed very happy to do so for an...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We stayed here in June and got a good value for money 3 night stay. Our room was very nice and the breakfast was lovely. The venue also has an outdoor pool, which was a bit cold but ok once you got used to it. there is also a hot tub which is available to use at extra charge. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie D
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

I was super excited about staying at the Richwood, but I have to say it wasn't what I expected. The place was very old, it has a cold damp feeling to the place and smelt a bit unpleasant. The owners and staff were great, but I was disappointed. The room was big but very standard not great, we had one...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank H K
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you felt the £56 per night you payed was not worth the money. And yes! The Richwood IS old - it is over140 years old! We had had some torrential rain prior to your arrival and the humidity in Torquay was high - so maybe that was...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
353 reviews
1.0 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
179 reviews
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.6 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#47 of 89 in Torquay
105 reviews
2.8 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
The Beirut Bistro at the Richwood
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $116 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Richwood staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Taunton, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Penzance

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Richwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“worth upgrading for to better room from basic.”
dandjm52, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you get a taxi back from town tell the driver you're staying at the Richwood not the Richmond”
paulapage27, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room facing the pool as this hotel is on a busy road.”
JetSetterJane, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a small room at the front, were not bothered by noise. As advertised, small room are small, but perfectly adequate for a short stay”
508JudithH, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only took a standered others were at request for extra fee.”
josiet929, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$103* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$103
TripAdvisorUS$102
Hostelworld.comUS$123
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates