We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rainbow International Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rainbow International Hotel
Rainbow International Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rainbow International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 852: English reviews
St Clears, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

In all fairness our stay included breakfast and evening meal and was very reasonably priced. The breakfast was quite good but dinner left a lot to be desired although I did notice that there were excellent comments written(I can't understand why!) As a vegetarian I did not take the carvery option. The first evening I had a savoury tart which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz S
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Outdated but clean wouldn't go there again. Mouthwatering deserts, well jelly fits this just like water coloured red!! Stodgy pudding and thick custard!, watered down juice. If you have a car you may get blocked in by the many coaches, it caters for the elderly, Monday until Friday then Friday until Monday.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Annie P
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Stayed recently for four nights. Can identify with some of the criticisms but all in all found the hotel more than adequate for our needs. The lack of a bath mat (which was there for the first night, but then removed, never to be seen again!) was a bit of a brain teaser! No complaints about our room, although from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marilyn S
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

The food was fantastic, good entertainment each night and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel needs an update and better layout, lots of stairs and corridors. The swimming pool was very pleasant, I swam a few mornings at 7am, so it was quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janno55
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review, it is appreciated. As you have mentioned, there is a lot of stairs & corridors in the hotel. Because of this, we do recommend guests contact us prior to arrival should they have any mobility problems. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rainbow soon. Roger

Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Booked a double room got a family room. One towel in the room for two people isn't correct surely. Poorly cleaned rooms. No hand towel or bath mat. No complimentary soaps etc. Lumpy mattress. Very disappointed!. And charged 90 pounds for the night!!! OVER PRICED.!!!! Will not be staying here again id rather sleep in a doorway.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank josjosh
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the rainbow hotel for one night we had booked for a family room for my mother myself and three daughters aged 7,5 and 1. We were asked to bring our own travel cot as they couldn't provide one fine not a problem when we turned up with bags travel cot three tired children and my mother with...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Ruthie179
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to respond to a few points made in your review to clarify a few things! Firstly you mention that we did not have a cot available when you booked. You actually spoke to our Reception Manager to make this booking. She offered you a cot - at a one-off charge of £10 to hire this. She did...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Stayed for two nights 23 & 24th May Check in was quick and easy.We were allocated room 137 which was down the bottom of a mixture of long narrow corridors and stairs. The room was spacious with plenty of storage space.The bathroom was large with a bath and overhead shower.Plenty of really nice hot water with good water pressure.Everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neds Teresa H
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Room was clean but decor very dated. Nowhere to hang towels in bathroom nor was there anywhere to put your toiletries. Shower over bath very low and plug had been disconnected from the chain so no way of pulling it out of plug hole, nor was the light over the sink working. When we went to have dinner we were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Charlie P
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We went to The Rainbow for a few days and had a really good time the hotel looks a bit tired from the outside but work is going on . The room was comfy and clean the only thing was it was a long walk to reception . The food was very good and all the staff where very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank irene s
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2015

stayed for 3 nights, arrived at 1.30pm could not check in till 3.00pm reception staff were friendly took our bags locked them in a room for us we called back later to check in.lot of stairs corridors not very good for the elderly depending which end of hotel you are in.but they made up for that with the entertainment and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomas_r681385

411 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (208)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double with Twin Beds (30)
Viewed
Standard Double with Twin Bunks (26)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
1,105 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,462 reviews
0.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#60 of 89 in Torquay
652 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,131 reviews
0.9 km away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 89 in Torquay
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $94 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rainbow International Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
3 months ago
South Wales
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Rainbow International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms near reception and restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles L9784VHjohne, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“under the restaurant the rooms are quiet until people start walking in to breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles JuP695, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Two chalet type rooms outside were allegedly very good.”
 of 5 bubbles Hazel123474, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have trouble walking or a lazy git, ask for a room near reception.”
 of 5 bubbles stevepeacock, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Phone ahead with special requirements”
 of 5 bubbles popothepixie, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5