We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red House Hotel

Show Prices
#54 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 175: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 4 night's, the room was clean and just beautiful. Beds very comfortable, we had a full English in the morning which was also very good. Me and my partner used the Jacuzzi, pool and sauna alot during our stay all of which were very warm and clean. The hotel staff was so friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
Rachel R, General Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you . Great to hear you enjoyed your stay . Hope to see you again . Take care .

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have frequented this hotel because the pool is warm and the Jacuzzi works but sadly the décor and fittings are tired and worn, tiles missing and paint peeling etc. Although it appears clean it lacks a fresh lick of paint and repairs are desperately required. After a swim I ordered lunch in the conservatory dining area, the menu seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Culture-Zoo
Rachel R, General Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your feedback . I can only assume your stay was over 6 months months ago as the menu you have posted is outdated and the way our pies are produced has been amended , so it would be problematic to rectify your concerns retrospectively but we apologise that the food fell below standard during your stay ....

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in the Redhouse late October for 3 nights in a family room with two bedrooms, both had TV and lots of space, excellent breakfast and a very reasonable price We did not use the leisure facility however it look fab also

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
Rachel R, General Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback ,it is appreciated and helpful. Regards Rachel .

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Good value for the money , considering that the hotel is rated just 2 star. Swimming pool , sauna and jacuzzi included in the price .Friendly staff with good customer skills . Pampering service offered on request by a lovely lady called Katie .Strongly recommended .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emartin_12
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for leaving us feedback . The staff are a credit to themselves and Katie is lovely . Take Care . Regards Rachel .

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as our niece was holding her wedding reception there. When we arrived we were greeted by a gentleman who was very friendly and welcoming but when he was showing us to our room it was quite dark in some of the corridors and he told us that at this time of year...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuareet2015
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your feedback . We will investigate all negatives and work hard to find resolution and praise the positive ,the staff wotk incredibly hard .

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The staff were all very helpful and knowledgeable. I was able to check in early without any fuss. The room had everything - TV, kettle, etc. The decor was a little jaded and the bathroom a bit cheerless. Having a free swimming pool was a big plus - this was open from 7.30 in the morning. The pool was smallish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your feedback . We can offer an earlier breakfast on request and will be giving the decor the TLC it rightly deserves now we enter a quieter period. Thank you for your praise of our hard working staff . Regards . Rachel .

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Held our wedding here mid August. Booked rooms for our guests and then held our day and evening reception here. The staff could not do enough to help us and the service of our 3 course wedding breakfast was seamless. The rooms were comfortable and large. We and all our guests had a wonderful weekend and cannot thank the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelallan385
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you . So glad you enjoyed your special day and wish you every happiness for the future . Regards x

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Looked like a great hotel, but rooms were a tad tired and a little dirty. Room wasn't even cleaned one day during our stay! Also work being carried out underneath the room which went on well into the evening. Breakfast was good, but evening menu left a lot to be desired. A once lovely hotel,that could be again with just...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DavidinBury
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies if your room service was overlooked ,if bought to our attention we do our upmost to rectify any issues or oversights. Your other observations are helpful and unfortunately the work was unavoidable . Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback . Regards Rachel .

london
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a visit to family was only supposed to stay one night loved it that much booked extra night. Stuart is the one who gets my praise working over 14 years in hospitality I am not the easiest to please as I know exactly what guests should expect from a stay and let me tell you this man...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachyb34
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback . I am uncomfortable at the derogatory judgements you have made about Hannah (blonde girl ) on such a public forum ,irrespective of their possible validity I would have pursued the matter at the time or privately emailed .It is not in my opinion empowering to belittle .Our managerial styles obviously differ. We are pleased...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Just had another fantastic whole day out,for the bargain price of £12 for myself and my son to use the whole range of facilities here everything is v v clean,spotless infact, all the staff r a credit to the hotel management u can tell they take great pride in their work

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
Rachel R, General Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Brill ! I am pleased to hear you and your son had a good day ,it can be hard to keep them entertained cant it ! We hope to see you both very soon . Regards Rachel .

278 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Indoor Pool and Jacuzzi (6)
Viewed
Large Family Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard Family Suite (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Triple Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#24 of 89 in Torquay
976 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,036 reviews
1.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 89 in Torquay
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.8 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
340 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WE ARE A FAMILY RUN HOTEL WITH LEISURE FACILITES ,WHICH INCLUDE A GREAT SUN -TRAP OUT DOOR POOL ,OR INDOOR FOR THE LESS SUNNY DAYS .WE SERVE HOME-MADE FOOD ALL DAY ,HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY ROAST AND YOU CAN BOOK HAIR AND BEAUTY TREATMENTS .ALL ROOMS ARE ENSUITE AND OUR STAFF GO THAT EXTRA TO ENSURE YOU HAVE A LOVELY STAY . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red House Hotel

Address: Rousdown Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $96 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Torquay
Red House Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#22 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles Culture-Zoo, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Value Hotel with a pleasant team , Mark the owner is also on hand daily”
 of 5 bubbles iand904, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Unless they make improvement I am afraid I could not recommend any”
 of 5 bubbles tuareet2015, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't book no 4. Very small and tatty.”
 of 5 bubbles 300janettea, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“One room has a 4 poster bed (room 2, I believe )”
 of 5 bubbles patricia_knapman, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay