We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red House Hotel

Show Prices
#55 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Due to an unexpected excellent trouble free journey down the M5 we arrived at the hotel at 8am. The manager informed us that our room was ready, he showed us around and said breakfast was available if we wanted any. Which was certainly very much needed as we'd been up since 3.45am The hotels facilities were excellent, the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kt21t
Rachel R, General Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your kind words ,I am really glad you enjoyed the hotel and the staff did us proud . The wedding went smoothly and you had a safe trip home so happy days . Regards The Red House Hotel team .

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

i had canncellmy trip to abovemonday iwas told 10 pounds canncellation fee which iexcepted told remaining deposit would be returned with in 48 hours 5 days later no sign plus 2 emails be ware i do not think they care if they do or not john/judith parsons

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank littlejohn424
Rachel R, General Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Ty for your feedback . It is however inaccurate and unfair and I will be reporting it to Tripadvisor as such . It was clearly explained that refunds can take up to 5 working days to reach your account ,during the phone call to cancel your trip and via Fb in a private message after you slandered the hotel ....

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Affordable quality hotel i enjoyed my stay at the red house hotel the service and hospitality were great.Not only that but the staff were a good laugh which adds to the bubbly environment.I would highly recommend a break away at the red house as there is aways something to do there,They were spot on with leisure facilities and gym and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tesla P
devon
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Needs a huge amount of TLC , care attention and a good clean , I'm talking about the swimming pools. Difficult to access , walking around waiting to get in to pool area , locating locker key , not streamlined at all. Carpets and changing rooms really dirty and you fear your going to contract something nasty. Outside pool grotty,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lulubelleDevon
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your feedback . I have not seen an email on my desk or had a message via social media so was unaware of your concerns ,had I been I would have apologised for your disappointment and offered a full refund . I am more than happy to provide the documentation for the testing and cleaning of the...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Booked on booking.com requested 2 rooms close together and on 1st floor due to my parents are not very good with stairs... parents got room 2 up 2 sets of stairs I got room 10 up more stairs... rooms not very clean need a good vac😠 Everyday we had to ask for more milk for the rooms as was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your feedback . I have spoken at length to staff and aim to improve our housekeeping and table -setting proceedures . It is a shame the rooms were not situated as you had specified ,apologies . We value your opinions and hope to use them to good effect .

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel rooms stated as a double were extremely small. The shower was over the bath at knee level so to shower you had to kneel in the bath. There was no soap, towels and bedding weren't replaced after one or two nights. The bar stated to be open till 11pm shut at 22:15 and the staff would not open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilksiboi
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback . It appears you had numerous issues during your stay ,I do recall my husband trying to rectify the curtain rail problem . The bar should not have been closed and we have made our staff aware of this . Housekeeping have been shown your comments and we can only apologise that we fell short ....

Seagrave, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Luckily I only booked for 1 night. Grotty room, curtains hanging off the rail, very old décor. Just awful. Manager didn't speak to us at all apart from goodnight. I didn't eat breakfast but my partner did and wasn't happy with his. The pool indoors was ok but small. Will not be returning I'm afraid

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette A
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback . I hope you reported these issues during your stay ? Breakfast is usually enjoyed but we would have happily replaced whatever your husband did not enjoy or offered him an alternative . We value guests comments and apologise that we fell short of your expectations .

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We stayed here for four nights. The room we had (room 3) was in need of some attention. The curtain was not attached to the rail at one end with some fittings missing. The bed linen could have done with ironing. The window frame had black mould and flaking paintwork. The waste bin in the bathroom and also in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia_knapman
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your feedback . We value guests comments and take on board your concerns . I have noted the main issues and will make the tweeks you suggest . I apologise you were not wholly satisfied .

Reviewed 30 June 2016

5* we got there at 8pm, and were still able to go in the indoor pool and jacuzzi was lovely. the foood was beautiful and now thinking of booking our wedding here for next year, beds are comfortable, rooms are modern, noise is anything but loud its really is a lovely hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your feedback . We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay .

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Myself, partner, two children under 5 and then in laws stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of June. We had a fantastic time. The hotel is located a lovely 10 minutes walk to the seafront with a bus stop outside, Although we never had the need to use it. Their is also a lovely family pub about 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne J
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank -you for your feedback . We are incredibly pleased that you enjoyed your stay .

278 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Indoor Pool and Jacuzzi (6)
Viewed
Large Family Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard Family Suite (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Triple Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#24 of 89 in Torquay
972 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,034 reviews
1.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.8 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
340 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WE ARE A FAMILY RUN HOTEL WITH LEISURE FACILITES ,WHICH INCLUDE A GREAT SUN -TRAP OUT DOOR POOL ,OR INDOOR FOR THE LESS SUNNY DAYS .WE SERVE HOME-MADE FOOD ALL DAY ,HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY ROAST AND YOU CAN BOOK HAIR AND BEAUTY TREATMENTS .ALL ROOMS ARE ENSUITE AND OUR STAFF GO THAT EXTRA TO ENSURE YOU HAVE A LOVELY STAY . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red House Hotel

Address: Rousdown Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $94 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Torquay
Red House Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#22 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles Culture-Zoo, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Value Hotel with a pleasant team , Mark the owner is also on hand daily”
 of 5 bubbles iand904, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Unless they make improvement I am afraid I could not recommend any”
 of 5 bubbles tuareet2015, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't book no 4. Very small and tatty.”
 of 5 bubbles 300janettea, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“One room has a 4 poster bed (room 2, I believe )”
 of 5 bubbles patricia_knapman, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay