We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,357: English reviews
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hotel Royale for one night, we arrived at the Hotel about 2.00 p.m and were checked in and in our room within a few minutes, very efficient service. Our room was very pleasant overlooking the front of the hotel and both the room and en-suite were immaculately clean. After an afternoon exploring Bournemouth Pier, etc., we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank betts_mary
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On what was the coldest day of the year so far at the end of November, we booked into our 'superior' room at 3.00pm. It was freezing. We called reception who said the heating did not come on until 5.00pm and sent us up an electric heater. The first one didn't work, so the porter got another one for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timbercroft
gaetano d, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Timbercroft, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Constructive feedback is always welcomed and without it we cannot hope to improve. All your points have been noted and I sincerely hope that you will return some time to enjoy our hotel. Best regards Gaetano de Rosa

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed at this establishment 22nd to 24th oh November. We arrived around 4.30pm after a long journey from Staffordshire via Brighton (to visit friends). On arrival we checked in and went straight to the room. It was freezing, windows had been left open to 'air' it (which I could understand) but the temperature had dropped outside....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
gaetano d, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Sharon S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Constructive feedback is always welcomed and without it we cannot hope to improve. All your points have been noted and I sincerely hope that you will return some time to enjoy our hotel. Please feel free to contact us directly for the best rate available. Best regards...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I play in a band and we stayed for one night at the Best Western Royale as I was playing at local rock club The Anvil and neither myself nor my wife fancied the drive back to London at 2 in the morning. I have no real complaints apart from the fact that the place seemed under staffed, the barman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Galaxy
gaetano d, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Alan_Galaxy, Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding the staff and service are really appreciated and I hope you will visit Bournemouth and stay with us again sometime in the future. Best regards Gaetano De Rosa

hunstanton
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a few days in this excellent hotel. We had never used the "Best Western" chain for overnight stays . As this was our wedding anniversary we decided to travel to the south coast for a short winter break. Everyone we met at this hotel were doing a brilliant job. They were ALL very polite &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerald c
gaetano d, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear gerald c, thank you for you lovely 5 star review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your function with us and we hope you will return sometime. Our sales team work very hard to ensure our guests will receive a 5 star service, we are very pleased you pointed it out. Best regards Gaetano De Rosa

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

....enjoyed long weekend here. V good service from Reception on arrival to restaurant staff. Food in Bistro was good. Only downside was the room - typical early 20th century building now looking a bit tired. But overall v satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
gaetano d, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Neil D, Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding the staff and service are really appreciated and I hope you will visit Bournemouth and stay with us again sometime in the future. Best regards Gaetano De Rosa

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for two nights in a single room on the first floor and was happy with the stay. I did not use the hotel facilities as I was out most of the time so I can't comment on them. My room was clean and tidy, fairly modern decor, and in good condition. It was a smallish room but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
gaetano d, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Richard W, Thank you for your review. A pleasing review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased it was an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcome you back. Best regards Gaetano De Rosa

Bournemouth
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just had our Wedding Reception here, the room was laid out beautifully the food wonderful and all our guess could not praise the staff and service we received. I know being a Wedding you may think that's how it should be but the staff expecially Mark who stayed with us the moment we arrived until the end. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
gaetano d, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear Debbie P, Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your wedding with us. We are pleased it was a good night, and hope your guests were pleased to. We hope to welcome you back soon again. Best Regards, Gaetano De Rosa

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting family in Bournemouth we needed an overnight stay. The rate at the Best Western Royale was excellent. We arrived late and left early but we had time to have a drink in the Lounge/Bar which was roomy and comfortable. Needed a decent ale at the bar. Our room was clean and comfortable and looked newly refurbished. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FirstTC
gaetano d, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear FirstTC, Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will visit Bournemouth and stay with us again sometime in the future. Best regards Gaetano De Rosa

scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived very early as had only travelled a short distance and went to reception only to ask if it was ok to leave my car in car park. The girl in reception was very helpfull and got me do do the paperwork to save doing it later. Then after making some enquiries she advised us our room was ready. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcwight
gaetano d, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review

Dear dcwight, Thank you for your review. A pleasing review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased it was an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcome you back. Best regards Gaetano De Rosa

432 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Chalet (28)
Viewed
Standard Family Bunk Room (29)
Viewed
St Moritz Suite (44)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 78 in Bournemouth
3,142 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.3 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 78 in Bournemouth
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.4 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 78 in Bournemouth
780 reviews
0.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $65 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Wokingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Cheddar, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room to the side or rear are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 861geraldc, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We have the executive room due to our wedding.”
 of 5 bubbles debbiep480, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 106 has a lovely balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Q8631INshirleyb, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Parking costs £2 per day”
 of 5 bubbles 349darreng, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All 4 rooms we had were wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles AngieW896, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay