We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Topaz Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Topaz Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Topaz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 244: English reviews
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Went to book a two night stay at this hotel for an anneversary trip to bournemouth. No answer from recpetion the first time but got a call back from a very rude man. Said i wanted to book a stay but when i announced i had an already pre-paid voucher he became even RUDER and announced that the hotel was... More 

Helpful?
Thank aspencer266
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

0 out of 5. Booked for 4 nights and checked-out after 1. That bad that I didn't even attempt to secure a refund as i'm not one for flogging a dead horse and it was very clear to me that the proprietor is robbing his customers. The experience is not as advertised. Breakfast is a voucher for a local pub.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason_Goddard_303
Anne_and_AK, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Goddard, First, we would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had. We were very concerned with the unfortunate situation that made us unable to provide you with breakfast on your first day here in the hotel. Unfortunately, the cook had called in sick at the last... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We booked a superior room for two nights for our honeymoon. When we arrived we had to wait 10-15 before door was answered. We then were presented with tickets to go to local pub for breakfast every morning instead of breakfast there. Which we weren't warned about. People coming in and out like a youth hostel one bloke with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Missjackson1988
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We stayed here for two nights and a very comfortable stay it was. We've visited Bournemouth a few times this year, usually staying in Eastcliffe, but this time we decided to stay in Westcliffe and so glad we did. As per other reviews, the location of this B&B is excellent; short walk to a variety of pubs and restaurants and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hendricks14
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The best thing about the Topaz is the location - in a decent area a short stroll from the beach, pier and surrounded by pubs and restaurants. It's also a short walk to Poole Hill where you can catch buses to the train station and Poole (handy for the various pleasure cruises you can take from there). The Hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank lemec79
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

So my partner and I have just spent a long weekend at the Topaz, we were welcomed very warmly by the landlady and shown to our cosy ensuite room Breakfast in the morning was plentiful with loads of variety Good location for exploring Bournemouth and surrounding areas

Helpful?
Thank janinedLondon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed this weekend Friday- Sunday. Firstly the car parking area was very tight and hard to park. We then went into reception and found the manager/owner very quiet and rude, barely spoke a word unless it was about the keys. Went into the room, very small, TV was too low so couldn't watch it in bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethany A
Lincolnshire England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We visited the Topaz recently. Very warm friendly welcome. We had a double room which also had a single bed. Bed was quite hard for me really so not very comfortable. The bathroom was very small and taps leaked. Shower quite temperamental . We also found that on our second night the noise from another room ? Next to ours... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fluffyberg
Hammersmith, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a superior double room which had a very comfy bed and ample room. The owners are lovely, very welcoming & hospitable, location is great & breakfasts delicious. The shower wasn't great but that is the only fault we found. Great place to stay! Would definitely come back again.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2016

The hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from the beach and the town centre. It is a very quiet hotel and extreamly clean. The rooms are modern and well maintained and mostly all are on suite bathroom. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has many restaurants and bars just a short walk away so it's not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank j36821

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#47 of 144 in Bournemouth
193 reviews
0.0 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#83 of 144 in Bournemouth
146 reviews
0.0 km away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#55 of 144 in Bournemouth
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#88 of 144 in Bournemouth
282 reviews
0.1 km away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#29 of 144 in Bournemouth
174 reviews
0.3 km away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#23 of 144 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, we are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) & the award winning beaches. The Topaz has recently undergone a full refurbishment, bedrooms are modern "un-chintzy", clean, bright and decorated to a high standard, most rooms have en-suite facilities, all with LCD televisions, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and Free wireless Internet. We offer a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation with delicious continental, full English and other breakfast options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Address: 79 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England (Formerly The Redlands)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $82 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Hotel Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Topaz Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay!”
 of 5 bubbles jenira2016, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back of property would be away from road noise, especially if opening windows at night.”
 of 5 bubbles lemec79, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms I've seen are good, they have many rooms to suite different people's needs.”
 of 5 bubbles j36821, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles R1945FBians, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“do not stay in the small double as the ensuite is very small especially the ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles LisaW955, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay