We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,

    Bed & Breakfast 1 Manor Road, Swanage BH19 2BH, England
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in SwanageSee available hotels in Swanage
    Traveller (10)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Dining (1)
    • Excellent51%
    • Very good27%
    • Average2%
    • Poor11%
    • Terrible9%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (44)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 44 reviews

    Reviewed 5 July 2017

    This hotel was a dream to stay in. The peaceful atmosphere in the bedroom allowed me to sleep soundly, which is rare for me. I fell asleep after gazing at the sea and hills. Then woke just in time to see the dawn break with...More

    Thank lindajoyce2012
    Response from rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,Responded 7 July 2017

    thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.so pleased you had a restful stay and enjoyed roger,s hearty breakfast, looking forward to seeing you both again soon.

    Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

    We booked last minute at The Hermitage as we made a spontaneous decision to stay overnight in Swanage. We called and were told they had a room for £75 for the night. Obviously being the sunniest weekend we have had in a while and not...More

    1  Thank Grace148
    Response from rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,Responded 21 June 2017

    thank you for taking the time to write your review however i would like to clarify some of the negative issues.i spoke to your boyfriend who made the late booking when i clearly stated the room was not en-suite but situated next door to the...More

    Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

    Don't tell anyone... Hermitage House is such a find! What a wonderful, characterful building in the most perfect location... The beds were so comfortable and the views were sublime. The breakfast was so delicious, my children wanted to be adopted... Roger and Susan were such...More

    Thank Jennywill76
    Response from rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,Responded 10 June 2017

    thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review on your stay at the hermitage, we are so pleased you all enjoyed your weekend.your children are a delight and yes we would adopt them.looking forward to your next visit.

    Reviewed 29 May 2017

    How pleased were we to find Sue & Roger could accommodate us for 3 nights May Bank Holiday after our original Guest we had booked decided not to be in when we arrived or available on the phone. We were frazzled when we arrived after...More

    Thank Louise010611
    Response from rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,Responded 31 May 2017

    thank you for your lovely review, we were so pleased to be able to accomadate you both after your unfortunate start to the weekend.the weather wasn,t very kind to you but you battled the wind and rain and still managed to enjoy our coastal walks,...More

    Reviewed 19 May 2017

    We had a lovely few days here at Easter, warm welcome from Roger and Sue and our usual lovely room with a sea view to die for!!!!! It was quite a chilly weekend but the house was really toastie. Excellent breakfasts from Roger as usual...More

    Thank sceatsie
    Response from rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,Responded 20 May 2017

    thank you jackie for your lovely review it was great to see you both again, looking forward to your next visit when i hope the weather is alittle warmer.

    RNLI College
    854 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Poole
    12.5 km
    Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
    2,945 reviews
    #3 of 67 hotels in Bournemouth
    13.3 km
    The Green House
    934 reviews
    #4 of 67 hotels in Bournemouth
    14 km
    Park Central Hotel
    1,236 reviews
    #5 of 67 hotels in Bournemouth
    13.5 km
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 7
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Dorset >
    • Isle of Purbeck >
    • Swanage
    • Also Known As
    • Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast, Swanage, Dorset
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (10)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (6)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby Restaurants
    Love Cake etc
    544 reviews
    .20 km away
    The Fish Plaice
    745 reviews
    .18 km away
    Harlees' The Parade Fish Restaurant
    518 reviews
    .20 km away
    Java Independent Coffee House
    105 reviews
    .25 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Swanage Railway
    2,254 reviews
    .42 km away
    Swanage Pier
    358 reviews
    .47 km away
    Swanage Museum & Heritage Centre
    64 reviews
    .17 km away
    Swanage Tourist Information Centre
    65 reviews
    .44 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast, staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "Room 1 has an amazing view across the bay."
    Read review
    "The room that I was in on the upper floor had great views."
    Read review
    "all rooms are comfortable, but we love the sea view"
    Read review
    "room 1 sea view"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing