We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swanage Haven

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Swanage Haven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

579 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 577: English reviews
Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were delighted to find that this excellent choise exceeded expectations. Arriving too early after a long journey was no problem. A very warm welcome,cafeful instructions, and change of room when mobility problems were seen. A large confortable bed was wonderful and the breakfast catered for all tastes.Flapjacks ' On the House' for a morning snack were a lovely touch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TERESA C
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at Swanage Haven three times now, and it just seems to get better every time. Comfortable bed, large well-equipped bathroom, an armchair each, lots of drawers and hanging space as well as a delicious and varied breakfast. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertbL7225NY
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well what can I say about the Swanage haven what an amazing stay the rooms are beautiful and clean and they breakfast is out of this world the owners David and Dianne are two of the nicest people I've met will definitely be coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essexred2016
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights and we were very impressed with the facilities. Clean and modern. Fabulous breakfasts in a relaxing environment. A lovely stay and we would go again. The area is wonderful for exploring and the beach is clean. Plenty for a family to do in Swanage. We visited our favourite place just down the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally-ann T
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Hi Sally-ann T, thank you for your review. glad you loved Swanage & Studland and what Purbeck has to offer. now you have discovered us you have to come back :) Dianne & David Cole

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I have been to Swanage before - it holds a lot of sentimental value for us and we booked a long weekend with friends to stay at Swanage Haven. Unfortunately on our way down, we encountered a few delays but David and Diane were more than accommodating in waiting until almost 10pm to welcome us. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 04122013sb
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

0412201sb, wow thank you for a detailed review and appreciation of what we have to offer. it was our pleasure to meet you and hope to welcome you again. Dianne & David Cole

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

This is our second stay at the Swanage Haven & it was just as wonderful as we remembered. Dave, the owner, welcomed us like old friends making us feel at home straight away. We had 7 nights in room 6 which was extremely clean, cosy & well equipped with superb views over the garden and the surrounding hills. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james h
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Hi james h, its always great to receive feedback from repeat guests, making sure both experiences were as good. thank you for your review. David & Dianne Cole

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Comfortable clean and well appointed this must be the best B&B in swanage. It's not cheap but it's worth it. From the welcome to the honesty bar to the room to the cracking breakfast, you can't go wrong. It's at the north end of the beach and so it's a nice stroll into the town. This makes it really quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biff61
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Thank you so much Biff61 for your amazing review, we took on board your issue with the shower and have changed it from a daisy shower to bar and adjustable height shower. so look forward to welcoming you again Dianne & David Cole

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Exceptionally clean, tidy and friendly. Great to be able to have a cooked vegan breakfast with no fuss. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable about vegan eating locally. (Not a lot to know lol) They go out of their way to accommodate the guests needs and make it look effortless. The Swanage Haven is a gem! We will return. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markberry01962
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Hi markberry01962, We look forward to greeting you again. We aim to make all breakfast requests, as seamless as possible and glad you appreciated it. David & Dianne Cole

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Our first visit to Swanage and stayed a long weekend recently at this lovely B&B. It was run by a lovely couple. Stayed in a room overlooking their garden and a view of the hills in the distance. A great tasty breakfast with lots of choice. The lemon curd was delicious and homemade as was the marmalade and jam. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley899
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Hi Lesley899, so pleased you loved Swanage and what we have to offer, Glad you loved the home made additions to breakfast. Dianne & David Cole

United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We had an excellent 2 night stay here with lovely accommodation and great facilities offered by really superb hosts. The breakfast was absolutely first class and offered everything you could possibly want with fresh home baked bread and a beautiful array of perfectly ripe fresh fruit and home made jams,marmalade and fresh cakes as well as a high quality freshly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanzavino
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Hi Lanzavino, thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased you liked what we had to offer, we look forward to welcoming you again. David & Dianne Cole

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
825 reviews
1.3 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.2 km away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#2 of 5 in Swanage
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
844 reviews
0.8 km away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
1.4 km away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 55 in Swanage
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated . The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range: $157 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Swanage Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swanage Haven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Contact the owners direct.”
 of 5 bubbles 208teresac, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Superior double was beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles essexred2016, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back bedrooms if you want a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Lesley899, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early to avoid disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieEssex52, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay the little extra for a superior room, you will not be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles lindahI1482PX, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay