We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Star at Alfriston

247 reviews
Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good33%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“south downs way”(17 reviews)
“the pub”(21 reviews)
“modern wing”(4 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (247)Write a Review
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
109
79
35
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
109
79
35
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth downs waythe pubmodern wingfeature roomsnewer partlovely villagewater bowlbooked a tableribeye steakwelcome drinkguinea fowllog fireheritage roomfamily weddinggreat bathroompretty villagedog friendly hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 243 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Me and my husband decided to have our winter wedding at The Star and we couldn’t of ask for a more perfect day! The service, food, staff and venue just excelled. I didn’t once have to think about the running of the day as Grace...More

Thank Nitaxx
Reviewed 2 days ago

We booked to stay a night for my birthday and was very happy with our room.we did find the staff apart from one new lady , to be quiet unhelpful. We had booked a table in the restaurant,and we were unexpectedly joined by two friends...More

1  Thank sandyEastSussex
Response from StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star at AlfristonResponded 2 days ago

Dear sandyEastSussex, Firstly let me apologise if you felt that the staff were unhelpful - this is extremely unusual because most people comment on how friendly the Star Team is. As a popular venue we do get booked up, and we have to retain the...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Booked 2 double rooms through Expedia as hotel direct website wasn't active at time of booking. On checking in at 6pm (Sat eve) was advised by a rude receptionist that only 1 double room had been booked the other was a twin. I instantly showed...More

1  Thank nic0la1963
Response from StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star at AlfristonResponded 2 days ago

Dear nic0la1963, I have looked into the situation and investigated what took place, and apologise for the confusion with the booking. We did have an error with the external systems and our own, and this at times does happen, however, how this is handled is...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Alfriston is delightful - worth spending some time exploring the village and surrounding countryside. The church is known as the ‘Cathedral of the Downs’ and there are many paths alongside the lazy river Cuckmere (but beware of the mud in damp weather).The Star itself dates...More

1  Thank jam1lla
Response from StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star at AlfristonResponded 2 days ago

Dear jam1lla, Thank you for your lovely review of our much-loved inn. I do take on board your point about some additional comfy chairs, but please note that we do supply a basket of cushions to assist with comfort needs! We are gratified that you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I love historic buildings and country inns and have stayed at a number of places of a similar age to the Star so this was an easy choice. We were early to arrive and although we could not check in, they were...More

2  Thank y0ungexpl0rers
Response from StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star at AlfristonResponded 1 week ago

Dear y0ungexpl0rers, Thank you for your detailed and useful review. Firstly, please let me apologise for the heating issues which you encountered. Being cold is not a great feeling, especially with recent temperatures being so incredibly low! I am gratified that our staff sorted this...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345649
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Debra W
24 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from StarAfriston | Property representative |
Please email If this is to do with our June Madness offer please quote this when emailing - it gives you the best room price!
0
Votes
yasminnahmad
20 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from poosey235 | Reviewed this property |
01323 870495 is the number and yes, there is a car park behind the hotel.
1
Vote
Holborn
5 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from No_No_No_Yes | Reviewed this property |
There is no doubt that the many complaints reflect a problem. If I were you, and given you have committed to stay there, I would give them a call in advance and explain your concerns, not rely on the owner reading this. Tell... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Phone Hotel before going to check you have correct rooms"
Read review
"Do not go for a feature room if you are a light sleeper"
Read review
"We choose the older style rooms for the character"
Read review
"choose another hotel."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing