We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Old Palace Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Old Palace Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was with my boyfriend and we felt really good, they are very nice people, we tried the typical English breakfast and we loved it. The rooms were clean and we would certainly repeat. I advive old palace guest house!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes F
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have just stayed here for two nights. As a single men traveller I was made very welcome and felt very comfortable here. I had the single room which was small but perfect, it had everything I needed and was spotlessly clean. I liked having a comfortable chair in the room and although I didn't need it there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mtn S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been at Old Palace in october with a friend of mine, for few days. Everything was good, the room clean, daily cleaning and clean towel. The location is nice and the breakfast has a very good taste. Staff polite and nice. I will come back, definitely. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goodtravel85
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed two days for work and Im very satisfied.Staff were always kind and with a smile.Rooms are comfortable and quiet.Breakfast was very delicious and fresh.I wanted poach egg and ıt was great. The best in Brighton.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aksinyaanelia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Travelled from London to Brighton and we were so lucky to find this place also location. Breakfast was really good everything is freshly cooked and served.The staff were very helpful and friendly and I will definitely stay there again if I am in Brighton. The staff, the room, the food, the price and total atmosphere was fabulous. We will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Merry F
Greenwell Point, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The ads for the Old Palace Guest House advertise free wi-fi, and to a narrow extent, this is accurate. I arrived after eight in the evening, and was given a key to my door, and wi-fi access details on the back of the tag, I was told. So far, so good. Imagine, though, a wi-fi system whose latency is measured...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kit L
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here in September 2016, the location was perfect just a few minutes walk from the beach. There were 3 of us and although the bathroom was very small it was fine. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was next door but very tasty and staff very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doreen F
Reviewed 19 September 2016

While the Bed is Ok. The rest of it is horrid. The bathroom is tiny and the shower area is even smaller, can barely move in it. the room has feels dated. my room door looks like it has been forced a few times. While the there is tea and coffe facilites in my room i would not use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matan D
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Matan we have done all we could to make your stay better but we couldn't, you told us you came for the conference so you had the have breakfast early we even made it early for you to make you happy but no, you weren't happy since the beginning. My staff were everywhere, we do check ins and check...

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here recently for my birthday but had to leave after one night due to no running cold water and dangerous electrics. Tried to complain but manager became verbally aggressive. Terrible place and very over priced

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

hi there, your tap was broken which was working before as we use them for cleaning, that was the reason cold water wasn't coming from your tap. but shower was working. i have told you politely with smiling, if you were going out i was going to have a look what was wrong with it and fix it. But you...

Reviewed 9 September 2016

Triple room was good value with a small en-suite gave us what we needed for the night. Great location to the beach, pier, Kemp Town and the Lanes. Breakfast is actually at the hotel next door, which only has a small room and is only available between 8.45 and 9.45am. We had to wait outside for about 15 minutes for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lachkeira

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 km away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#70 of 99 in Brighton
75 reviews
0.1 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#42 of 99 in Brighton
127 reviews
0.1 km away
New Madeira Hotel
New Madeira Hotel
#67 of 99 in Brighton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kempfield House
Kempfield House
#34 of 99 in Brighton
305 reviews
0.0 km away
The Beach Pad
The Beach Pad
#54 of 99 in Brighton
82 reviews
0.5 km away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#22 of 99 in Brighton
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Old Palace Guest House

Address: 7 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Budgies Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $101 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Palace Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budgies Guest House Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Palace Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Palace Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just do not book here”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2 triples, one on ground floor but probably more noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles serena99, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No lift so if you have trouble with stairs ask for the ground floor when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 216iwant, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on fourth floor facing front. Sideways view of ocean and ferris wheel. Bay window. very small bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Fornowsky, 25 May 2015 | Read review
“Narrow staircase made it difficult to carry bulky luggage, however, the host helped us. Sash windows rattled at night.”
 of 5 bubbles tracieo129, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay