We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Guest and the City

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Guest and the City
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
Start your review of Guest and the City
 Click to rate
Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Fantastic B&B, excellent service from David and Eric, nothing really was too much trouble and the breakfast was amazing beautiful room in a great location, will definitely be staying again would highly recommend to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bexsiee
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just got back from a lovely stay. David and Eric were wonderful, even leaving little Easter treats in the bedroom for us. Brilliant location for walking into town. David even helped me find a parking space, which was very much appreciated. Breakfast was lovely and with good quality produce. I would recommend them highly and would definitely stay with them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaylea2015
daviduson2016, Owner at Guest and the City, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review and kind comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you will be returning in the future. Will be very nice to see you both again. Thank you once again. Kind Regards David & Eric

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very warm welcome from Davis and Eric who were very attentive, nothing seemed to much trouble and they were most helpful. Rooms nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious. Great location to visit the attractions of Brighton.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaynemorris1
daviduson2016, Owner at Guest and the City, responded to this review

Thank you Jayne. We are happy you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast! Thank you also for sharing your experience with this review. We really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards David & Eric

Birmingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is excellent. The house is spotless and breakfast substantial with top quality produce. David and Eric are very charming and helpful. Whilst the room was small, the shower was excellent and bed extremely comfortable. It is a model bed and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulamartyn
daviduson2016, Owner at Guest and the City, responded to this review

Hello Paula, Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very nice meeting you all and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards David & Eric

Solihull, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights. Excellent location - very close to Brighton Pier, shops, bars and restaurants. David and Eric were lovely hosts, the breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice and good quality and the room was very clean with a comfortable bed. We will definitely recommend Guest and the City to our friends and would not hesitate in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne_and_Brian
daviduson2016, Owner at Guest and the City, responded to this review

Hello Joanne and Brian, Thank you once again for staying with us and ,taking the time to share your experience and your very nice comments. We enjoyed meeting you both and we are looking forward to your next visit. Thank you Best Regards David & Eric

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We'd planned to stay one night in Brighton as we had tickets for the Pink Martini concert at the Brighton Dome. Not having visited Brighton before I picked Guest and the City based on the excellent reviews I read online. I wasn't disappointed. David was an excellent host, helping us get the car parked in a nearby street before settling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fsgaskell
daviduson2016, Owner at Guest and the City, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write this review and your very nice and kind comments. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Hope you had a smooth journey back home. It was very nice meeting you both and we hope to see you again in the future if you rerun to Brighton....

Morzi
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Guest in the City for the first time last week, David was an amazing host and like all the reviews say 'NOTHING is too much trouble'. David greeted us at the door and we found parking right outside. Everywhere is within walkling distance but there are plenty of buses as well. The breakfast choice and quality was amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance A
daviduson2016, Owner at Guest and the City, responded to this review

Thank you Lance! We really appreciate your review and very nice comments. Great to hear you had a nice stay and enjoyed our hospitality. We are looking forward to welcoming you both back soon. Thank you. Best Regards David & Eric

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last week. Very clean and well maintained. Great location. David and Eric very helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend. Breakfast is high quality and you can choose exactly what you want. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusieLongLegs
daviduson2016, Owner at Guest and the City, responded to this review

Thank you once again for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience of Guest and the City with this review. We really appreciate it. We hope you will return in the future and to see you both again! Kind Regards David & Eric

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never experienced such fantastic hospitality, except on our previous stay at Guest and the City! On both occasions we have stayed over the extremely busy Brighton Marathon weekend. A stressful time for all B&B owners, but you wouldn't know it from the welcome that we received from David and Eric. Nothing was too much trouble for the team....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoeandtim99
daviduson2016, Owner at Guest and the City, responded to this review

Hello Zoe! Thank you so much for staying with us again this year. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate your review and kind comments. It was very nice to see you all again and we hope you will be able to return for next year Marathon's. But if you don't please...

Woking
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This it the third year that I have stayed at G&TC. It's always at the same time, over the marathon weekend. I have left a review on each occasion because I honestly feel that the owners deserve it. My last review was fairly detailed and I won't write it all over again. Suffice is to say that it remains modern,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
daviduson2016, Owner at Guest and the City, responded to this review

Hello Jim, Thank you once again for returning to Guest and The City and taking the time to review your stay for this second visit too. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. Sorry you were not feeling so good on your last day. Hope you have now fully recovered. As always, it was very...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,118 reviews
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,419 reviews
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 97 in Brighton
1,326 reviews
0.0 km away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.4 km away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guest and the City is a boutique Guesthouse that reflects all that we love about Brighton. With seven private bedrooms, situated in the heart of Kemptown, minutes from the centre of Brighton, 30 seconds from the beach and opposite the famous Palace Pier, it’s the perfect location to explore Brighton for Business or pleasure. We want our guesthouse to reflect everything we like about staying in Brighton. Guest in the City therefore takes the best bits of a traditional B&B – a relaxed, friendly service, a central location and of course a top-notch breakfast with locally sourced ingredients – and puts them in modern, high-spec surroundings. The result is a boutique feel without luxury prices. To us, that’s what Brighton is all about – finding new things that surprise you and make you smile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Guest and the City

Address: 2 Broad Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $165 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guest and the City 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Guest and the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest And The City Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Guest and the City staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Guest and the City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If staying for longer than 3 days, you may want to ask for a larger room”
paulamartyn, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we choose a small double and had no issue with noise or size”
77lancea, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room overlooking the back of other properties which was very quiet - one level below the attic rooms”
samanthawL3236VF, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bedroom at the front has the most amazing stained glass window”
953SharonB953, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Georgian townhouse so be aware of Stairs if legs unsteady.”
Littleauks, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5