We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,971 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,932: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Ship Hotel
 Click to rate
Stanmore
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

very clean hotel great service good staff we had a sea view room with large bed as most are small double beds noise from outside could be heard a lot they do supply free ear plugs but i cant use them my wife did but she could still hear some off it thursday 23[02[2017 late at night untill 4-30am party...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reginald G
Nuneaton
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Good location. Only fault was the lift! Waited 10 minutes one day (have a problem with stairs so had no choice but to wait). Very slow and very old, supposed to hold 6! The hotel decided to test it at one of the busiest times, would have helped to have known this. Room 508...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
Mumbai
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel is close to the Train Station. We were given a sea facing room, so the view was a million dollars worth. The staff was absolutely lovely. The hotel vicinity can be a bit noisy especially during weekends with unending pub hoppers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoctorSKR
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GlobalProfessor, Thank you for your time to leave us this great review. It was great to learn, that you find location of the hotel central. We would love to provide our services to you once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Second time in 2 years staying - comfortable rooms that are clean and warm .. so warm that you have to leave a window open at night and that's were the problem is ... The double glazing in the front of the hotel does not work even if the windows are shut, so all you hear is a continual drone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthouse99
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Arthouse99, We are very sadden, that you had decided not to stay with us again. Radiators are individually controlled, for our guest comfort, and I can only assume, that you had not reported any issues while they accrued, and decided to sleep with open window, in this lively City. We work very closely with local authorities, and police is...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was the 5th and last leg of our 14 day trip to England. We had started off in Kensigington @ Copethorn, then Warwicke Castle, then Craig y Nos then Thornbury Castle and arrived here at this lovely and quaint Hotel. My wife booked this as our final stop as we wanted to be closer to Gatwick for our departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 928nikolai
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 928nikolai, Thank you for this AMAZING review. We are so pleased, that you decided to stay with us. Being the oldest hotel in Brighton, dating back to 1559, this is history in it's full glory. I will personally make sure your review is seen by all my colleagues, as for reviews like yous is worth to go the extra...

Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booking in went smoothly however discovered one of our rooms had been allocated as a double when twin bedded had been requested. This was efficiently sorted out except that the rooms were then on two different floors. We then discovered we could not control the radiator in our room. The weather had turned very mild & the temperature throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyle281
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kyle281, Please accept my apologies in a first place, if we haven't delivered what we had promised. Regarding the bedrooms, you put a request, but haven't booked this room type. Unfortunately requests are fulfilled only according to availabilities, and rooms are allocated per room type booked. I am really sorry, if this had caused inconvenience to you. We strongly...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

There doesn't appear to be a separate listing for the 'steak by sea' restaurant so it's going here... What a lovely place, plenty of olde world charm, with friendly and helpful service and a live accompaniment for the meal (not on every night though). The prices are surprisingly good for the quality of the food and the food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael N, I'm so grateful you decided to leave us this amazing review on the TripAdvisor. We do offer great value food in our recently refurbished Steak on sea Restaurant. My advice would be to try our Sunday lunch menu, which is very popular. I will personally make sure your comments are passed on to the Head Chef and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night and loved it. The hotel has a very nostalgic regal feel to it that gives it quite a charm. Its on the seafront and we had a room with a sea view, which I would recommend anyone to request when booking. I woke up early and was able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahhobbs88
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sarahhobbs88, We are extremely delighted, that you had such an amazing time with us. You are absolutely right, the view from the bedrooms is priceless. It just opens up in front of you, doesn't it? I'm really glad, that you appreciate the charm of this hotel, as this is the oldest hotel in Brighton dating back to 1559. Please...

Brighton
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Incredible meal In a fantastic surrounding, downstairs in the hotels old cellar rooms! Staff were great too and the hotel is clean and lovely! We are distant relatives of Captain Nicholas Tettersell who bought the hotel many many years ago!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amie T
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amie T, Thank you so much for this incredible review. I will personally make sure your words of compliments are shared with the rest of the Team. Cellars are spectacular and unique, and I'm really pleased, that we could have been part of your creating memories with your family and friends. With warm wishes Miriam, Guest Relations

Dawlish, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our second time at this Hotel. It is in an excellent position, right on the sea front ,near to the pier & easy walking distance of the shops ,pubs & restaurants. Very good breakfast. The rating would have been higher , however we had a sea view room & the noise from outside can be heard until the early hours,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VegasJ29
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VegasJ29, thank you for your review. Being located in central Brighton, certain amount of noise must be expected. All our windows are double glazed, and I'm sorry if your sleep was disturbed. We have letters in the room to advise our guest what to do if sleep is interrupted. We hope to welcome you back to Brighton on your...

885 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (595)
Viewed
Room/Suite (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (66)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (251)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,294 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,078 reviews
0.5 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $117 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rear of hotel away from road”
 of 5 bubbles 407reginaldg, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a Sea view will enhance the stay quality.”
  • Lobby
 of 5 bubbles DoctorSKR, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a sea view or side sea view room until they put in double glazing that works !”
 of 5 bubbles Arthouse99, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Earplugs were offered in every room and there was a note not to call the authorities if too noisy, find no fault with this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 928nikolai, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you request a sea view - it's so worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahhobbs88, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5