We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Langfords Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Langfords Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice but small room. Very clean. Everything we needed in the room. Only staying one night but if staying longer would probably ask for bigger room. Friendly staff roof top bar lovely and busy. Good value for money. Would we stay here again, Yes but bigger room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MojoAberdeenshire
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this no nonsense and super review. It is much appreciated, more so coming from such a prolific TripAdvisor contributor We always enjoy welcoming our guests from North of the Border and are very much looking forward to seeing you again. Meanwhile, renewed thanks

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice location and adequate parking. The room was ok, clean and sufficient for an overnight. The shower was ok but the towel rail was broken and hairdryer didn't work, the entrance area to the hotel spacious. The desk clerk was welcoming but wanted a £50 returnable deposit ...for what ? The lady desk clerk was not helpful in fact pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is something of a mixed review and we were sorry that your stay did not hit all the right notes. We have asked that our General Manager makes contact with you to find out more about your time at the Langfords as it sounds like a few small changes would have transformed your experience These issues notwithstanding, hopefully we...

Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Shower was too hot but not able to regulate. Health and safety hazard. Hand basin blocked. Mattress old. No hairdryer in the room and when I mentioned this I was told they were available at the Reception but nowhere was this communicated. Very disappointing stay. I'm glad they don't do breakfast as I am sure that would have been awful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julia_i_rose
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

No details of the room have been given so we are left struggling as a result. Hopefully we can however reach out to this guest through the good offices of Trip Advisor This guest is quite wrong however to make any judgment about a service which is not provided [breakfast] and we have no idea what "V&H" might be or...

Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Room was basic but clean. But in need of some repairs... I was surprised an additional £50 deposit was requested at the time if check in.... You'd expect girl to be pristine in this case!!! There was a tile missing from bathroom.. bedside lamps were tatty and broken. Paintwork and decor a bit tired. I booked last minute to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jme1967e
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This dear lady made a non-refundable booking through a well known on-line travel agent. From that site it is clear that the hotel does not offer breakfast - our guests were telling us this was not a key service - far more important was fast reliable and free WIFI Whilst we were of course sorry this patron's stay did not...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

A beautiful old building on a nice street by the water, very poorly kept up- dingy, dirty, don't think the carpets get vacuumed ever. For the price it should be a LOT cleaner. The throw pillows on the bed were disgustingly dirty. Desk staff not very friendly. The plumbing leaks. It's still a great location and a nice building but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hilaryprongs
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We were naturally sorry to read this review and while there were positives, clearly your stay did not hit all the right notes. I have asked my management team to review urgently as a result. Although you do not say which room you were staying in, hopefully we will be able to discover this information Coincidentally, I was in Vancouver...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Parking - it says no parking in list of facilities. There is parking in certain bays on the street outside for up to 11 hours. (Parking restriction 9am - 8pm.) However you can only pay for 2 hours at a time at the machine... So would have to return to pay every 2 hours. We arrived at the hotel at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hayley D
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is clearly something of a mixed review and we were sorry to learn sleep was disrupted because of the inconsiderate behaviour of other guests; ideally one should let reception know so they can take direct action Street parking is not the hotel's responsibility and while we cannot therefore comment on the situation you describe with the meters, what is...

london
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Family stay with 2 kids. Positives - staff were friendly, location is decent (it is in Hove); 5 mins from beach; £7 taxi or 20min walk to Brighton, parking no problem (only £7/day), evenings are calm and quiet. Negatives - everything in the hotel looks tired and it could do with a 1/2million pound make over! There is lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amit p
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this detailed critique and for your various suggestions; we appreciate your interest. We had a large delivery of beds and mattresses earlier than planned/just before the Bank Holiday which is of course great news for our guests [once deployed] but left us with a short term logistical issue - they are not easy to hide As you...

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

A shabby budget hotel set in a pleasant road in Hove. One member of staff was so abusive you would think she was doing it for a bet. Take my advice, pay the extra and stay somewhere nice instead - I wish I had!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yipyip2014
Allegra-Sussex, Guest Relations Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

With no details of when this guest might have stayed and/or the room involved, I am at a total loss in terms of trying to reach out to them and discover what may have happened. We can only hope that they contact the hotel proactively However what is being said does sound rather far fetched - I mean why would...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Start with the positives; room was clean. The rest unfortunately did not live up to the price tag. Upon checking in, and the hotel taking full payment from me, I was informed i could not get a receipt showing full balance paid until check out. Pretty useless when claiming expenses on a 5 night trip. Check in lady was blunt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lulucane
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is clearly a disappointing review and we were sorry to learn there were issues with your stay, with in turn impacted on your overall enjoyment of the Langfords. Until a guest physically checks out, we cannot issue an invoice [this would also be the case with hotels which pre-authorise a card on arrival] but a pro-forma or similar could...

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I have stayed at Langfords for about 14/16 weeks while working in the area, staying for 2,3,or 4 nights per week. Beds always have nice clean white sheets & pillars and bathroom towels the same which are changed regular. Rooms are always clean and tidy however, general painting decorating on some rooms needs attention. The hotel is very convenient for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeB8395LC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is a super review, fair and much appreciated as a result. You are an honorary member of Team Langfords now and Riba and her team are over the moon as a result Our works in the rooms are an ongoing so your comments are timely Hopefully when your works eventually finish you will be able to then visit us...

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 44 in Brighton
519 reviews
0.3 km away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
460 reviews
1.4 km away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#34 of 44 in Brighton
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#30 of 44 in Brighton
204 reviews
1.3 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#23 of 44 in Brighton
1,402 reviews
1.5 km away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $67 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Langfords Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Langfords Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rear rooms are much quieter”
 of 5 bubbles mikeB8395LC, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear offer views of the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Rod1444, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles chilliboxer, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the back of the hotel so very quiet therefore probably best option.”
 of 5 bubbles sheilas482, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles joecO9089HJ, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay