We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Brighton

New Steine Hotel

667 reviews
Save
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (5)
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“sea view”(41 reviews)
“triple room”(13 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (667)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for New Steine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
250
198
88
41
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
250
198
88
41
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotel next doorsea viewtriple roomtop floorsea frontfull englishfriendly hotelroom was clean and comfortablehen partybrighton pierbreakfast was includedfew minutes walkcooked breakfasttown centrestayed here for one nighttea and coffeeseafront
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
331 - 335 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012

On arrival, which was late, about 9pm, I have to say at first I didn't find the staff particulary pleased to see us, or that;s the impression I first got, this was a touch dissapointing as we had travelled from Cardiff and were tired and...More

Thank Debgav2009
Response from GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine HotelResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am so glad, overall, that you enjoyed your stay with us. You did raise some negative points - I am sorry if the greeting on arrival was not as the rest of the stay was. We...More

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We've just returned from a weekend break in Brighton, first time for my wife and I, have to say we had a lovely time. Booked to stay at the New Steine a week or so before the weekend, paid 236 pounds for a Saturday and...More

Thank Rob C
Response from GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine HotelResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and may I also thank you for all the nice things you said about our Hotel - I am so glad that you had a good stay overall and that you had an excellent breakfast and excellent stay....More

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Superbly positioned near the sea and city centre. Be careful which room you choose. Ours was unacceptably noisy owing to night staff treading the boards above all through the night. No positive action to rectify this in spite of strong complaints. Breakfasts are excellent –...More

Thank louiseabbott
Response from GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine HotelResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and your comments - I can assure you this matter is taken seriously and though we cannot resolve your direct issues now, we have, this week, started a process of re-laying boards and carpets in areas around the...More

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Really disappointed with our stay here as I think their descriptions of the rooms and the hotel on their website are extremely misleading. The New Steine is definitely not a boutique hotel as advertised and it's definitely not worth the money we paid in my...More

2  Thank L K
Response from GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine HotelResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Guest, I am sorry you did not find the Hotel to your liking. We are listed as a Small Hotel, as opposed to a B&B, due to the standard (4 star as recently renewed by the AA) and the services we provide, such as...More

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We chose the New Stein Hotel after looking at their website which advertises a boutique hotel and shows lovely photos of the rooms. The room we chose was £119 a night (we could have paid an extra £20 a night for a sea view but...More

Thank AndyK90
Response from GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine HotelResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am sorry you felt our property was basic. All rooms are done to a good standard and though room size can differ room to room (as we are an old Georgian style building) we do feel...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
16566676869126
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (5)
Dining (4)
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Bathroom (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fiona m
6 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Geraldine O | Reviewed this property |
I'm sure one would be available on request.
1
Vote
Calli L
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mercman2014 | Reviewed this property |
Breakfast was excellent... and seemed constantly good across all tables. Although we didn't eat dinner here the restaurant was busy.
1
Vote
Emily F
19 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jane B | Reviewed this property |
We had no problem parking we only drove around the block once and got a space and whilst we were parking other cars were going, so I would say drive.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"I think it is possible to get a slight sea view if you get a room at the front of the hotel. Rooms at the..."
Read review
"we had a room facing back but I expect front facing is nicer"
Read review
"Avoid 209. if you get it, look for another hotel"
Read review
"Only good thing was it's location"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite