We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Boydens

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Boydens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The location is only a few minutes walk from the center of the city and the ocean. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. I recommend staying here during peak days as it's much cheaper than many other places. The room itself is not too big, but I never felt cramped. There is a high quality sink, a decent... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kasaraeya
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Dear Kasaraeya, Those are kind words from another satisfied customer at Boydens Guest House. I look forward to welcoming you again if ever you are back in Brighton. More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Fantastic guest house a short walk from the seafront, the town and all its attractions.Good sized, very clean room and a good selection for breakfast. Can't wait to visit again soon. Thankyou to Helen and Billy.

Helpful?
2 Thank rob1159
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and the breakfast. We hope we can welcome you again to Boydens in the future. More 

Calella, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

If you want to enjoy the city and stay in a very nice hotel ....that's the place . Nice staff ....helpful and fun . If someone from Spain want to go to there I am saying " this place is the best" .....for sure!!!!.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos S
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words. It was lovely to have you and your wife here. I hope I can welcome you again in the future. More 

Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I love my stay there, Helen welcome us so nicely. She well explained how to get to her place and it was really easy. The location is just great. You could easily go by foot from the station. The guest house is very close from the sea and all the rest: Brighton Pear, the lanes, restaurants....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 761luisai
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

I am pleased you all enjoyed your time in Brighton and at Boydens. It was a pleasure to welcome you. More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Boydens is run by Helen and her husband who are super friendly and helpful. It's literally 2 minutes from the beach... close to North Laine and all the clubs and pubs. Hot shower, tea and coffee, fluffy towels, hairdryer, large TV and comfy beds... what more could you ask for!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Piascore
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you for chosing Boydens during your recent stay in Brighton. We are delighted to receive your kind and positive comments on our location and guest room, we aim to maintain a clean and comfortable environment for all our guests. I would be pleased to welcome you back to Boydens in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Super host Helen made us feel very welcome, but the bedroom was tiny and the shared bathroom was quite honestly awful. It was desperately in need of updating, the shower was a trickle at best and clearly hadn't been maintained. It was the type of bathroom you'd expect in a low price hoste...however we paid £194 for two nights which... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David S
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

The full description of the room and pricing structure was displayed to you at the time of booking. You then paid the booking agent accordingly. You refused medical attention from a trained first aider after your failed D.I.Y attempt. The on site maintainance team have rectified your D.I.Y disaster. You also forgot to mention in your review that you were... More 

Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Thank you Helen for your hospitality, which made our stay in Brighton such a good one 😃. Even the weather was brill ! We will definitely be back. Keep up the hard work 👍 Highly recommended. Nothing is too much trouble. Many thanks again Karen and Mick x

Helpful?
1 Thank 56606253
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Boydens. You are most welcome and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We are from Vienna, Austria, and enjoyed our short stop in Brighton and Boydens Guest House very much. Helen is the perfect host. She is a very friendly person and it was nice to chat with her. The room was small, but everything necessary was available, it was clean and the bed very comfortable. There were several variants of breakfast... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ralbre_794513
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am pleased you had a comfortable and pleasant stay whilst at Boydens. I look forward to meeting you again in the future. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2016

My stay at Boyden's was delightful - the B&B is centrally located, the room was as pictured / described, breakfast was tasty, and Helen & William were pleasant and accommodating. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Brighton!

Helpful?
Thank VictoriaQueue
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

I am pleased your stay was a comfortable one and you enjoyed the breakfast. We would very much enjoy your company the next time you are in Brighton. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We took a chance and knocked on the front door. So very glad we did. Helen is just lovely, so helpful and welcoming. The house is really clean. The bed is very comfortable with really nice soft towels left out. Tea and coffee in the room along with fluffy white towels and a house coat. Nice to also find a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gixer36
Helen D, Owner at Boydens, responded to this review

Thank you very much for knocking on the door! I am pleased you had a really good weekend. If you ever make the long trip to the bottom of England again in the future it would be lovely to welcome you again to Boydens. More 

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#53 of 99 in Brighton
147 reviews
0.2 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 99 in Brighton
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.2 km away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#37 of 99 in Brighton
230 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#20 of 99 in Brighton
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boydens is situated in Kemp Town in a residential area. It is close to all the local attractions, good restaurants and shopping. The house has recently under gone a refurshishment. Helen looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Boydens

Address: 27 St. James's Avenue | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $156 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boydens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Boydens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boydens Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Boydens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Boydens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a variety of rooms for all budgets”
 of 5 bubbles LornaT1958, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“we stayed in room 1 perfect”
 of 5 bubbles anitak195, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Book room 1 if available it's larger, sunny and an on suite”
 of 5 bubbles johnZ796DY, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We got the en suite room, bathroom was small but clean, modern and functional”
 of 5 bubbles Tesscorcor, 22 May 2013 | Read review
“All the rooms look perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelCleary_12, 13 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay