We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malmaison Brighton

Save
Share
Brighton Harbour, Brighton BN2 5WA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1012)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (474)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 46 hotels in Brighton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Bulgarian and 5 more
2325Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 903
  • 740
  • 378
  • 196
  • 108
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
foxycat-7 wrote a review 10 Oct
southeast england179 contributions148 helpful votes
Arrived Thursday afternoon and parked on level 6 in the cat park as directed. Short walk to the hotel along the boardwalk fortunately it was not raining. We had a deluxe sea view room with a balcony. Room could had done with more wardrobe hanging space. The bathroom was huge but no towel rails and shelving. Shower was easy to operate. The fridge wasn’t working so our complimentary bottles of water could not be chilled, The cooked breakfast had plenty of choice. The evening meal menu catered for all tastes. All the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. Walls are rather thin!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Room Tip: 3rd floor sea view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton
Responded 6 days ago
Dear valuable guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are pleased you had a great stay with us and that you loved the room and our restaurant. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Brighton, if you decide to book with us again. Kind regards, The Mal Brighton Team.
Read more
Steve T wrote a review 7 Oct
1 contribution
Shocking for several reasons and will not be going back • Booked well in advance. Arrived circa 13:00 on 2 Oct 2021 as we had a wedding to attend at 14:30 and also hook up with a friend who was also staying at the same hotel and attending the same wedding • It was raining hard and windy • Reception was on the 1st floor and we were not allowed to gain access to the floor and remained on ground floor hall only. No reasons were given. • No temp facilities to change for the wedding, no seats, no access to refreshments and no access to hotel toilets • Our friend had similar experiences and ended up changing in his car in the car park ! • After chasing a dismissive manager, changing facilities were eventually offered at a sister hotel Du Vin with the offer to bring our belongings back by a stranger later. • Whist waiting to go to the sister hotel, a family with a disabled male arrived and were also refused access and services. Totally disgusting ! • The staff at the sister hotel Du Vin were excellent and very accommodating. To save time (albeit we were late for the wedding), minimising exposure to the inclement weather and to avoid a stranger transferring our belongings back to Malmaison hotel, we decided to say put (despite the eye watering room charge of £394 per night) • Subsequent communications with Malmaison hotel yielded no form of compensation for the inconvenience and significant costs incurred by ourselves
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Steve, thank you for writing a review. As you were aware, unfortunately the hotel was closed due to an exclusive use, which was communicated to all guests arriving that day, and information was given that check in was only available after 3.30. We do apologies for the inconveniences caused and if you do ever wish to stay with us, please contact the hotel directly and we will personally look after your booking. Kind regards, The Mal Brighton Team.
Read more
Angie S wrote a review 3 Oct
1 contribution
My boyfriend and I stayed for his birthday on a Friday night and I wanted to thank the whole team for making our stay really special! A very nice welcome from Roland and Hannah at reception, and we were given some complimentary cocktail coupons as we were celebrating. The room was amazing with a balcony facing the sea, the doors opened all the way which was perfect for such a sunny day. In the restaurant, Amelia took great care of us and the food was lovely! Finally, in the evening we went for some cocktails and a big thanks to Angela who really ended our evening on a high note :) Thanks Mal Brighton!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us including your room, the views of the marina and your experience in our restaurant. We will pass your kind comments onto our team including Roland, Hannah, Amelia and Angela! We hope you will return and stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, The MAL Team Brighton
Read more
Mike H wrote a review 2 Oct
London, England, United Kingdom58 contributions33 helpful votes
We booked for three nights (choosing the hotel as its advertised as pet friendly) and the cost of £1360. That's pretty pricey in itself, but from the website I was expecting great things. We discovered after booking that dogs are indeed welcome, but subject to a £20 per night surcharge; taking the cost to £400 per night. What do you get for what they describe as a "Doggy Welcome Pack"? Well, you get a smelly dog bed and a bowl that's never been properly washed! We'd brought our own anyway, but still had to pay the charge; which I'd say is extortionate. Free parking at the nearby multi-story is a great benefit; it's about a 5 min walk to the hotel which isn't too bad at all. The room was nice enough, with a great view over the Marina, but for the price we felt it was pretty small, lacked enough sensible storage space for the length of our stay, and the bathroom was in a dirty condition. There was black mould all around the shower (which doesn't grow overnight), the skirting boards hadn't been cleaned in months, the bathroom floor tiles were stained and covered in hairs, and the wall-mounted shampoo/soap dispensers in the shower were broken. We reported the issues to Reception, and the bathroom was given a deep clean the next day. They didn't bother to fix/replace the shampoo/soap dispensers, so we gave up asking and just went to Asda opposite and bought our own products. Breakfast is alright, but isn't the "continental" breakfast you'd expect on the Continent, so don't expect hams, cheeses etc.. The hot menu was decent, but the Chef couldn't cook eggs at all. Scrambled were runny and lacked taste, boiled eggs with soldiers were overcooked and hard. We ended up stranded for an extra night due to the "fuel crisis", and the hotel let us stay an extra night; their "best price" was a further £370, which felt like opportunism to be honest; certainly as there were empty rooms. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and the location is great for the restaurants etc.. around the Marina. It's a short walk to the end of Brighton Beach, and about 30 mins walk (or £10 in a cab) into the city centre. All in all a nice enough hotel in a good location, but very expensive for what you get and there's certainly room for improvement. Not quite the standard you'd expect from a Malmaison, and you pay through the nose for it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mike, Thank you for taking your time to leave us your feedback about your stay with us! We are glad you liked the location of our hotel. However, we do apologize that some aspects of your stay we did not meet your expectations. We will pass your feedback onto our housekeeping and restaurant manager. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future! Kind regards, The MAL Team Brighton
Read more
orientgirl wrote a review Sep 2021
Essex49 contributions74 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at the hotel at the beginning of September. We had booked the hotel for December 2020 but for obvious reasons couldn't go. Then we changed booking to February, again for same reasons couldn't go. The hotel honoured our booking so we paid a very low price for our room. We were very lucky. We stayed in a Club deluxe sea view room on the top floor with marina views. We really liked the room, great views with a decent size balcony. Some rooms had a small balcony but ours didn't. The breakfasts were really nice, with plenty of choice of cold and hot. Staff were all friendly in the restaurant and helpful. We actually wouldn't have paid the proper amount but have put excellent as rating because for the amount we paid it was definitely worth it. Lots of restaurants along the marina and nice walk if you go left out onto the marina walk. We actually walked into Brighton town itself - a trek but nice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: deluxe or club sea view rooms and third floor
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear valuable guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope that you will return again in the future! Kind regards, The MAL Team Brighton
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
seattle hotel brighton, brighton hotel seattle, alias hotel seattle
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Seattle
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexBrighton and HoveBrighton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Malmaison Brighton
Which popular attractions are close to Malmaison Brighton?
Nearby attractions include Globalls (0.01 km), Rendezvous Casino (0.2 km), and Brighton Marina (0.01 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Malmaison Brighton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Malmaison Brighton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Malmaison Brighton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Malmaison Brighton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laughing Dog Brighton, Cafe Rouge - Brighton Marina, and Bella Napoli.
Are any cleaning services offered at Malmaison Brighton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Malmaison Brighton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Malmaison Brighton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Portuguese, Polish, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Malmaison Brighton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Pavilion (2.7 km), Kemptown (2.3 km), and St Bartholomews (3.2 km).
Does Malmaison Brighton have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Malmaison Brighton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.