We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ambassador B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Ambassador B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I spent 5 nights here and enjoyed my stay in Brighton and the hotel. The location is fantastic and and it was lovely walking along the sea to the conference center. Both Nick and Luke are extremely friendly and helpful and did all they could to make my stay pleasant. Breakfast was good - there were different options one could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirin G
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I stay at hostels and hotels as I often commute to Brighton. I have to say this hostel/hotel is extremely disappointing and not worth the money, it is by far the worst hostel/hotel I have ever stayed at. I would price the room as being worth no more than £20. I've stayed in cheaper places (fully booked atm) that were... More 

Helpful?
Thank rianna92

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

When I go away I want a clean room and bed, a shower that works well and near where I want to go. The Ambassador managed three out of three, pretty good. I do not want to spend my time in the hotel so other facilities are irrelevant. All the staff I met where friendly and helpful. My only slight... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence P
NickJH54, Owner at Ambassador B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Nick More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I attended a 3 day conference and having stayed at the Ambassador the previous year made the decision to stay there again. the accommadation is basic but comfortable and the staff were pleasant and helpful (even going as far as doing early breakfast). Shops, restaurants and bars nearby, you can see the sea and Brighton pier from the end of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erictc99
NickJH54, Owner at Ambassador B&B, responded to this review

Thank you. I hope we see you next conference. Nick More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I really don't understand these poor reviews of The Ambassador. Ok, the place isn't The Hilton however the hotel has everything you need. Comfy beds, friendly staff, a lovely breakfast. Luke and Diego were extremely hospitable. All in all a lovely weekend break.

Helpful?
Thank r0bc84
NickJH54, Owner at Ambassador B&B, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Well its all basic ! for what i have paid I expected a little bit more ! so would not recommend it because loads of things were not right !..Breakfast was alright if the person that served us was more pleasant rather than miserable !. Otherwise Brighton is nice and loads to see I enjoyed every minute of it !... More 

Helpful?
Thank poupa287
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The room we stayed in was not fit for people to stay in. Shocked and could only stay one night. Too many things to list but the main thing was the black spots of damp as shown in the photos, surely this is a health issue? I woke up coughing through the night as the smell of damp was so... More 

Helpful?
Thank karenread51
NickJH54, Owner at Ambassador B&B, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your kind comments about me. I though you and your family were really lovely also. After dropping off your bags in the afternoon, you were so long at the beach I was worried you were lost. At least we had a smile and laugh about that. I was really concerned when departing the gentleman told me... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HORRIBLE PLACE! The owner is incredibly rude. The rooms are filthy with gum n empty toilet rolls on the bathroom floor, the carpet is stained all over n not hoovered, they haven't dusted in there in ages, my hands were black after opening the window. Walls had dirt all over. No place at all to hang... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine L
NickJH54, Owner at Ambassador B&B, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I am sorry to read your complaint and as this is a public site think it best to answer in full. I am not in business to have unhappy customers as 30% of all our guests each year have stayed before or recommended will testify. Your daughter, booked an early arrival and housekeeping gave this request priority. I... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Frankly I would give 0 stars. The owner was so incredibly rude I am shocked. After paying 15 pounds for early check in, on the phone we were told we had to wait until 2 in the afternoon as the room wouldn't be ready. However when arriving he told us he was expecting us earlier which confused us, we asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leanna L
NickJH54, Owner at Ambassador B&B, responded to this review

I have already replied to your mums post. I can only add that we had builders working from 10am on the wall outside your room each day and to prevent dust coming in we closed the big widow while work was in progress after we had cleaned and aired the room each day; to take a picture with dust on... More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

I actually thought this place was some sort of joke.. First impressions are everything and instantly walking in to the smell of smoke even though it says no smoking was off putting from the word go! ( and I'm an occasional smoker) although the owner seemed pleasant he told us they were still hoovering so we went out for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georgina A
NickJH54, Owner at Ambassador B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I have already replied to your fellow guest post above. I can only add that the member of staff who cleaned and prepared your room has always been most diligent to leave it clean and all items in good order. I am always sad when guests are unhappy for what ever reason. Kind regards, Nick More 

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.3 km away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 99 in Brighton
581 reviews
0.1 km away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#51 of 99 in Brighton
83 reviews
0.1 km away
Marine View Hotel Brighton
Marine View Hotel Brighton
#57 of 99 in Brighton
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Gather Inn
The Gather Inn
#44 of 99 in Brighton
263 reviews
0.1 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 99 in Brighton
323 reviews
0.2 km away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 99 in Brighton
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Georgian town house property with 24 ensuite rooms in garden square overlooking the sea. Few minutes walk from beach, city centre restaurants and attractions. 24 hour reception and check in. Small residents bar and lounge. Green Tourism business serving local farm produce breakfast, beers and wines. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador B&B

Address: 22-23 New Steine | Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PD, England (Formerly Ambassador Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $84 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Ambassador B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“first floor is the only one with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles vinces979, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is not on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles FierceChihuahua, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Amazing room with own garden on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles k-gun242, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the bow front rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles 213kaia, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles penny40, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay