We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan Hotel

Expedia.comUS$176*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

884 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 832: English reviews
Start your review of The Swan Hotel
 Click to rate
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Was most dissapointed when we stopped at lunch time(13.00) one Tuesday. The bar area was not busy with nobody waiting at the bar.Went to order drinks and was told it was table service and someone would take our order--we waited and waited so went and ordered at the empty bar . Pints of beer needed topping up!£4 a pint Returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazlBedford
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is a picture postcard Cotswold hotel is a stunning location. Internally the hotel looks a little tired, the carpets are worn and the decor could do with a bit of a freshen up. Our room was on the 3rd floor and had everything to offer that you would expect from a high class country hotel, but upon closer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were not disappointed with our visit to the hotel we stayed in for our honeymoon 20 years ago. The room (with the 4 poster bed) was as we remembered it, with a tasteful soft furnishings update, and the addition of a large wall mounted flat screen tv. The bathroom was exactly the same, very art deco with black marble...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumanddaughterof15
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in a dream village (we give a nod to the poet William Morris), this hotel is everything you would expect: perfect location, wonderful view, warm atmosphere, courteous and efficient service, great food. If you are lucky, you can witness a typical English wedding, taking place in your internal and external dependencies. Unmissable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Luis Edmundo F
pixley
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overnight stay and dinner excellent. Stayed for a birthday and dinner, lovely hotel perfect setting . Go there you will like it. Looks great for weddings and special events. I will have no hesitation in going again. But I am sure sime picky people will find fault !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kawasaki
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed overnight at end of April.The village and hotel a must visit. tranquil. Our room was the four poster which was traditionally decorated with all modern amenities, ensuite bathroom had free standing shower and a spa bath. Dinner was delicious, as was breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlunDavies
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us last month and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! See you again soon, Kate Carter

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were really disappointed as there were very loud road works going on from around 8:30am directly outside our window. The hotel did not take any responsibility for this nor did they warn us in advance. We also missed the Breakfast we had paid for as it finishes at 9:30 which is ridiculous considering we had been at a wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie J
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate that road works can be a nuisance when you are trying to sleep in after a wonderful celebration, but unfortunately they were not under our control and there was very little we could do in this situation. Thankfully the roadworks only lasted a couple of days and we can be grateful that as a result, Bibury will soon...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having stayed here a few times I feel it's time to write a review. The hotel itself is very traditional with a few modern touches. The reception is small but functional and the staff are pleasant enough. My room on both occasions was lovely, a nice comfortable bed with a very smart bathroom. The rooms are styled in a way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank masonjc
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

What can we say – the fact that you keep returning to us gives us great pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences with other travellers. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kate Carter

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked the "Whooper" suite as a birthday surprise for my partner. Everything about our stay was perfect...lunch in the courtyard, shared fish platter was very good,our suite was fantastic,hot tub was awesome. Thank you to the lovely staff for providing a quiet retreat for us. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

“Everything about our stay was perfect” - what a delightful review and your comments have been passed to all the staff who constantly strive to ensure all our guests have the same experience, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan at Bibury very soon. Many thanks, Kate Carter

Bristol
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from an overnight stay at this lovely hotel. It is a beautiful building in the heart of one of the prettiest villages in the Cotswolds. Huge comfy bed, beautiful bathroom. Food was superb & the service from every member of staff was truly outstanding especially Callum who was super helpful. Wonderful leasurly breakfast this morning as check out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina M
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We love to hear that our guests will be returning to us. Thank you for your 5 star review and your comments have been passed to all our staff and in particular Callum. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kate Carter.

500 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Golden Eye - Excellent Double or Twin (26)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Water Wagtail with Double or Queen Bed (25)
Viewed
Whistling Cottage Suite (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
16.4 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,137 reviews
23.3 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,260 reviews
32.5 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
26.9 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,049 reviews
16.8 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Bibury, often known as the prettiest village in England; the dog-friendly Swan Hotel has 22 bedrooms, including 4 stunning cottage suites, a lively bar, cosy writing room and stylish Brasserie. The hotel is ideally located for exploring not only Bibury but surrounding countryside too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 4425 On the B, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Price Range: $246 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in a charming room on the first floor and overlooking the junction of the main streets of the city and the river Coln.”
, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“We had Room 19 with lovely views of the gardens opposite.”
727tinam, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“We had the comfortable double room with good view.”
Net12345, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“The best view is definitely at the front however during the holiday season it can be quite noisy in the morning!”
robinab518, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a garden view”
sindysam, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$176* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$176
TravelocityUS$176
Booking.comUS$176
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates