We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gloucester Road, Cheltenham GL51 0TS England
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$78
View deal
Hotels.comUS$81
TravelocityUS$81
Lol.travelUS$104
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (155)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (176)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 11/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Updated 11/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 27 hotels in Cheltenham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated just off Gloucester Road, our hotel in Cheltenham is just a short distance to the famous Cheltenham Racecourse (6 miles), city centre and Cheltenham Spa railway station (1.5 miles). Filled with heritage, this Regency town is less than a hundred miles from London and sits just outside the Cotswolds. Jurys Inn Cheltenham offers 122 stylish bedrooms newly designed in 2016. Each bedroom comes complete with large comfortable DREAM bed with crisp white linen, an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries, flat screen television with Freeview, tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi. The hotel also boasts amenities such as a stylish bar and restaurant serving classic dishes and light bites, 200 parking spaces (available at an additional charge), Juvenate Health and Leisure Club with steam room, sauna, tennis courts, a heated swimming pool, and fully equipped gym, all day Costa Coffee bar, and 15 Meetings and Events spaces catering from seminars to weddings and accommodating up to 400 people.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Greek and 3 more
1529Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 710
  • 440
  • 219
  • 85
  • 76
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jane wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
All the staff were polite, helpful and always had a smile. We had a wheelchair accessible room, which had plenty of space, and the wet room had plenty of handles. There was no air conditioning, which was not a problem during our stay, but might be an issue in the Summer. Only problem was the restaurant. The breakfast choice was not bad, but the hot buffet was not always hot, and there seemed to be a wait for replenishment of items. The menu did not have a huge ammount of choice, and when we met up with friends, who have allergies various items were unavailable. To be fair, the chef was very good and produced an alternative that was not on the menu.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Accessible rooms are accessed via a stair lift, as they are down 2 small flights of stairs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David Wakeley wrote a review 18 Sep
1 contribution
The Cheltenham JURYS is a well located and easy to get to hotel on the edge of Cheltenham. The rooms very good as were the facilities but the staff were great. Dave Lynn and the rest of the breakfast staff were exceptionaly good. Thank's
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Shelley, Other at Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Responded 6 days ago
Good Afternoon amotherby333, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it. It’s a great thing to acknowledge that you found the staff, the cleanliness and the breakfast to be great. We appreciate your positive feedback a lot. It means our hard work is paying off. We for sure do welcome you back to once again enjoy your time to a Jurys Inn or Leonardo hotel soon. Kind regards Aksel Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chandni wrote a review 11 Sep
Englefield Green, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was my first stay with Jurys Inn and from the onset the customer service from Lottie at reception was exceptional! she was polite and accommodating and the day staff were also very welcoming. I would definitely come here again. Thank you so much! :)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Shelley, Other at Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Responded 1 week ago
Hello chandni12345678910, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it. I am very happy that you found the staff to be very nice and friendly. Customer service is our obsession and we try our best to leave customers happy. Lottie will be delighted to hear that another guest enjoys their work. We for sure do welcome you back to once again enjoy your time to a Jurys Inn or Leonardo hotel soon. Kind regards Aksel Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith K wrote a review 9 Sep
Edinburgh, United Kingdom4 contributions
We booked and paid for one room for one night in Jury’s Inn Cheltenham in early June for this coming weekend Saturday Sep 10 Unfortunately our Company cancelled the event in respect of the death of our Queen I asked booking.com and Jury’s Inn to cancel our booking or to offer a credit but this has been refused Myself and about 20 other colleagues travelling from Scotland have all been left massively out of pocket with the stance that the hotel are taking I was totally unaware that our booking was non-refundable and considering paying £169 I would have thought that there was room to offer some kind of compensation Our company book their autumn conference yearly and Cheltenham seems to be the ‘home’ for this event We have about 6000 attendees at this event every September and will remind my colleagues to avoid booking with this chain of hotels Poor foresight Jury’s Inn
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Hamman, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Keith, We appreciate your feedback and understand your frustration given the situation. We are aware it's an unfortunate and saddening circumstance for everyone at this time. In regards to your cancelled reservation this had been booked under a non-refundable, non-amendable booking and inline with the agreed terms and conditions we are unable to waiver any cancellation fees. We have many different reservation options when booking with differing cancellation fees which can be chosen at the time of booking. If you do decide you would like to book again with us, please do not hesitate to contact our reception team directly beforehand where we will be more than happy to oversee this booking making sure you have a cancellation policy which suits your needs. We do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to Jurys Inn Cheltenham where we can show you what our guests love so much. Kind regards, Lottie, Insights trainee manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan K wrote a review 7 Sep
1 contribution
Staff were so friendly and helpful, especially John and Dave who attended during our breakfast meals. As is often the case with hotels and B&B's the breakfast was cold. But this was no trouble for the caring John and Dave who got the it heated up for us straight away . . . well done you two!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Shelley, Other at Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello C9695DMsusank, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate feedback from our customers, it’s a great way to tell what improvements we can make to further make your future stay even better. I am very happy that you found the staff to be very nice and friendly. Customer service is our obsession and we try our best to leave customers happy. John and Dave will be thrilled to know that yet another guest enjoys their work. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards Aksel Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew5400186220 wrote a review 5 Sep
Bristol, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
The Hotel itself is top notch . The staff very friendly and a big thanks to the ones serving our food John and Dave were exceptional. The evening menu was of a poor selection with no fish of any kind, but overall we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience, Other at Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning Andrew Y, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate feedback from our customers, it’s a great way to tell what improvements we can make to further make your future stay even better. I am thrilled to read that you found our hotel to be rather perfect. We thank you for complimenting our staff. We take great pride on our customer service skills and we really appreciate this positive feedback. However I am very sorry to read about the food selection. We receive many kind compliments about it from happy guests and apologise that it didn’t work for you. We cater for all dietary needs and work hard to ensure a delicious and nutritious variety so we hope you can try other dishes on your next visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards Aksel Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eleanor wrote a review 4 Sep
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
Pleasantly surprised by the nice reception and bar area. Restaurant also very modern and menu looked good. Breakfast was really nice. They made fresh eggs as a request as we have dietary requirements. We booked two rooms for a family of 5. Both rooms had a double and single. The rooms are small but clean and bathroom may need updating at some point but not bad at all. Friendly staff. Overall would recommend for a break in the beautiful surrounding areas.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience, Other at Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Afternoon Trip00306609080, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate feedback from our customers, it’s a great way to tell what improvements we can make to further make your future stay even better. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us rather to the fullest. We thank you for complimenting our staff and meals. Our team is what we are most proud of, as they always ensure to always have happy and satisfied guests that stay with us. We for sure do welcome you back to once again enjoy your time to a Jurys Inn or Leonardo hotel soon. Kind regards Aksel Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip S wrote a review 2 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
All the Staff excellent and very welcoming. Had a basic room - very clean and comfortable. A meal in the restaurant in the evening was ok but the menu was American style which may not be to everybody's taste. The breakfast was excellent with a very wide choice and very good quality. The breakfast staff are to be commended, Juan,Dave,Andrea and Lynn. I wish i had taken the names of the very helpful evening restaurant staff so i could commend them. Lauren on reception in the morning also proved that the Hotel Manager picks the best staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: picked because it was near the airport
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Hamman, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good evening 'PhilipsK2067VZ' Many thanks for your recent stay and thanks also for leaving a review. We take pride in having wonderful staff so I am so pleased you were able to experience how excellent and welcoming they were. In particular John, Dave, Andreea, Lynn and Lauren who we will give a big thank you for their hard work and hospitality they love to provide to their wonderful guests. I am delighted you had a brilliant breakfast with good quality options. We do hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back to Cheltenham sometime soon! Kind regards, Lottie. Insights trainee manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
My wife and I spent a 2-night break at this hotel, entirely for leisure. We chose it because a) it is handy for exploring the nearby Cotswold area, and b) it has not succumbed to the current mania amongst hotels to offer 'doggy-friendly' accommodation. Jurys Inns tend to be located in or near towns or cities. Cheltenham is no exception, the hotel is next to a busy roundabout on the A40 dual carriageway, and about 1 mile from the M5. There is therefore some background traffic noise, mitigated by screening shrubbery and being located on a spacious plot. The hotel building is therefore set back from the road. Being low-rise and of modern (soulless) appearance, it wins no prizes for exterior looks. There are not many facilities in the immediate area, except an Asda about 10 minutes' walk away on the other side of the A40 (thankfully crossed via a pedestrian underpass). All this is made clear on the hotel's website, so customers should know what they are getting. Fair enough. But actually we found the hotel surprisingly relaxing, with a very laid-back atmosphere in the air-conditioned public areas. We had no problems sleeping, the room was warm in the evenings but thanks to a broken tether cable we were able to open the window to an illegal extent to get some cool air in! With no air-con in our room, I can understand why other reviewers found it uncomfortable during the recent heatwaves (summer 2022). Overall we had an enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was generally clean, daily housekeeping was excellent, the bed was comfortable and the bedding and towels were clean and fresh, as you would expect. We paid a modest amount extra for a “superior package” which is not in fact a superior room, but a (very acceptable) bog-standard room with a few extras tagged on, such as daily mineral water and biscuits; and a daily Costa coffee per person at the bar; but a couple of these benefits were lost on me such as the 10% dinner discount – we had already paid for dinners when booking, up to a max of £50 (menu price) per day at a 20% discount; in the event the menu price of our dinners was £50 or just over per day, so it took a bit of serious cost/benefit analysis from me to conclude (rightly or wrongly!) that I would be better off not using the 10% voucher as well, as it would be applied to the pre-discount menu price, thus reducing the amount which was subject to the 20% discount. Still with me? - probably not! Anyway, I felt it necessary to order a large G&T to recover from my mental gymnastics, which blew a hole in any savings I had made! A free newspaper was also listed in the “superior package” benefits but none materialised. We probably didn't break even on these "superior" benefits - no matter. An exception to the general good standard of cleanliness was a small area of old and filthy-looking stained grouting on the bathroom floor which has evidently been overlooked for months, maybe years, this is a shame because it could be made to look pristine again with so little effort. Ditto with some small patches of black mould on the bath sealant – why do hotels ignore these important details, which customers notice immediately? Armed with a some bleach, rubber gloves and tubes of silicone sealant, I reckon I could single-handedly rid the whole hotel of such blemishes in two weeks! The hotel has apparently recently started charging for overnight car parking at £7 per night. Take the hit or go elsewhere. The fixed price breakfast was pretty good with a nice selection of unlimited portions of hot and cold food and drinks, including gluten-free bread and cereal, which was appreciated by my wife. However, with a plate of hot food, you have to move very sharply back to your table if you want anything to stay warm. The evening meal choice was somewhat underwhelming with a main menu comprising solely of “Italian Americano” items, to you and me that's pizza, burgers, pasta, sandwiches, salads and a couple of grilled items (steak and chicken). We managed to cobble together acceptable two-course meals for our two nights, it was more of a struggle for my wife who is gluten-free, and neither of us would want to choose from that menu for any more than two evenings running. I guess this is symptomatic of the hotel industry's many problems since Covid wrecked everything for them. However as I said, we enjoyed our break at this hotel. We were out during the day so didn't use (or even see) the spa, or pool, or whatever. We would certainly recommend the hotel, with the proviso that potential customers should study the available menu before booking. We ourselves would only return if the food offering was substantially diversified. None of any criticisms made above are directed at the hard-working staff at the pointed end of Jurys Inn's Cheltenham operation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience, Other at Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good Morning robertmT8832HJ, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate feedback from our customers, it’s a great way to tell what improvements we can make to further make your future stay even better. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us rather to the fullest. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our location. Hopefully you had the chance to visit the Cotswold area and I hope you had the best time there. We also thank you for complimenting our staff. We take great pride on our customer service skills as it is one of our obsession and we try our best to leave customers happy. However I am very sorry to read about the cleanliness issue. It's always our pleasure to do everything we can to make a stay as special as it can be so will be passing this on to our management team for further investigation. Furthermore we thank you for mentioning and enjoying our breakfast. We try to cater to all dietary needs of our guest in the most delicious way. We for sure do welcome you back to once again enjoy your time to a Jurys Inn or Leonardo hotel soon. Kind regards Aksel Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JTW99 wrote a review Aug 2022
Cardiff26 contributions6 helpful votes
Good points to the hotel: convenient location off the motorway, ample parking for guests, 10 mins drive from Cheltenham centre, slept well, and despite being on the motorway, the rooms are very quiet. Bad points: rooms are very dated, furniture had stains over them, shower curtain was discolored and needed replacing, sealant in the bathroom needs totally replacing not covered up (not what you expect in a 4 star hotel) pool has no seating area to relax, also very shallow and small, hotel has a very limited vegan option for breakfast (sachet of gluten free cornflakes and gluten free bread, but no vegan butter) skip the breakfast and head into town for options, we had a refund because of the poor selection of choice. Overall, we booked because of the spa facilities, stayed in the pool for 20 mins before leaving as its not enjoyable facility. Sauna in changing rooms, so don't expect to share this with a partner. Not the 4 star we expected, but we did sleep well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience, Other at Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good Morning JTW99, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate feedback from our customers, it’s a great way to tell what improvements we can make to further make your future stay even better. I am delighted to read that you found our location to be rather excellent. I really hope you had the chance to visit the most attractive sites it can offer. Also thank you for complimenting our "Dream Beds". We both know how important it is to have a good sleep after a long day. However I am very sorry to hear that these inconveniences impacted your stay with us. Regarding the room, our group does have a regular programme of updating our hotels ensuring that our hotels are kept up to modern standards. I am very sorry also that the breakfast did not met your expectations. We receive many kind compliments about it from happy guests and apologise that it didn’t work for you. We cater for all dietary needs and work hard to ensure a delicious and nutritious variety so we hope you can try other dishes on your next visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards Aksel Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thistle hotel cheltenham, cheltenham thistle hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Thistle Cheltenham Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsCheltenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Which popular attractions are close to Jurys Inn Cheltenham?
Nearby attractions include The Pavilion (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jurys Inn Cheltenham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Jurys Inn Cheltenham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Jurys Inn Cheltenham?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jurys Inn Cheltenham?
Conveniently located restaurants include The National Hunt, Benhall Fish Bar, and The Redgrove Harvester.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Jurys Inn Cheltenham?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Jurys Inn Cheltenham?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Jurys Inn Cheltenham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Jurys Inn Cheltenham?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Polish, Greek, Hungarian, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Jurys Inn Cheltenham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cheltenham Town Hall (3.6 km) and Boer War Memorial (6.3 km).
Is Jurys Inn Cheltenham accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.