We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Upper Oddington, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 OXH England
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Vio.com
Etrip
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (16)
Dining (10)
Bathroom (3)

About

#5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Moreton-in-Marsh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
To avoid confusion, please note there are two "Horse & Groom" accommodations in the Moreton-in-Marsh area. This one is in Upper Oddington, not Burton on the Hill.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
204Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 106
  • 49
  • 28
  • 13
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Charlie19552013 wrote a review Oct 2022
Windsor, United Kingdom47 contributions24 helpful votes
This is one of the nicest places we've stayed at in this area(I've been to over 20 in the Cotswolds) It's the overall package that makes it special. The staff are excellent and work very well as a team. They are friendly, helpful and on the ball. The food was delicious including the liver and the hake. Our bedroom wasn't the most luxurious we've seen but it was very comfortable, had a full size bath with shower, flat screen tv, coffee pod machine etc. It's about 10 minutes from Stow and has the option of being only 15 minutes from Kingham railway station that can be reached direct from Slough. We knew whilst we where there that we'd be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
geoffchord wrote a review Aug 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom41 contributions29 helpful votes
Took my family for lunch on a Saturday we were the only people in the restaurant That should have set the alarm bell ringing We had various selections from the lunch time menu all of which was disappointing Except for the pasta dish my great nephew had But he’s only two Used to be very good
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Horse & Groom Upper Oddington, General Manager at The Horse & Groom
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. However it doesn’t make sense to us as we were busy on Saturday - being a bank holiday weekend- many people choosing to dine outside in the lovely weather. If you did lunch with us I’m sorry that so many items were disappointing. It’s a shame you didn’t raise this with us during your visit as we always aim to ensure guests leave satisfied. The vast majority of our guests leave happy with their lunches with many returning time after time. We pride ourselves on fresh, home cooked meals and great service. I’m sorry if you felt we fell short on either.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jemma G wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom711 contributions100 helpful votes
We visited for the Jubilee Bank Holiday to relax and explore the local area, there were lots of positives to staying by here, and a few negatives, on the plus side: The Horse and Groom is in an idyllic location, nice and quiet and surrounded by lovely walks, within walking distance of Stow On The Wold and Daylesford Our room was comfortable and very clean, the Nespresso machine was appreciated! And the room rate was really reasonable Some of the service we received was really great On the other hand: The room looked straight into the car park with people walking past frequently, frosting the windows would make a huge difference! Service ranged from exceptionally friendly and helpful to standoffish and rude dependent on the staff It was unfortunate that the kitchen closed quite early and eating outside was not allowed for some of our stay, so we couldn’t enjoy the glorious weather to the fullest The breakfast included in the price was really basic for this sort of place, all straight from the packet, no different to a cooked breakfast in a budget place We ate in the restaurant twice but wouldn’t again, it was wildly overpriced for the quality in comparison to other local places, the veggie burger and gnocchi in particular were outrageously basic, higher prices are fine but this place isn’t earning them Overall this is a lovely place to stay and a few improvements to the service, menu and room would make it 10/10 :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Reservations recommended to eat here or elsewhere in the area
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AidanC159 wrote a review Mar 2022
Worthing, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
The meal in the restaurant of this pub was a delight from start to finish. We were warmly greeted by a member of staff and were kindly seated, as requested in an area where our nervous dog was out of the way. The ladies who served us were very busy but gave us their full attention at all times and always with a smile. The lunch was absolutely delicious and we had a very happy family occasion to which everyone at The Horse and Groom contributed. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
thepeaamigos wrote a review Dec 2021
Northleach, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Should have known it would be poor when it was the only place that could seat us during the busy festive period. The staff were great, polite and helpful. However, that’s where the praise ends. The food was outrageously overpriced and underwhelming. The beef stew was served in a tiny finger food bowl and contained an under seasoned broth, carrots, with over cooked off cuts of beef. It certainly wasn’t as appealing as the beef brisket stew with Guinness as advertised. Wouldn’t surprise me if it was the remnants of an over cooked beef joint. Didn’t work with chips either. £15 for what can only be described as chips with gravy. Wine selection was just as poor. Will never return! There are so many fantastic places within a few miles, will learn to always book in advance in future!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Patricia C wrote a review Sep 2021
Tongham, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Awful place rooms very small for price . Not very clean . Overheard some asking if they could have their room clean as they had been there for three days and hadn’t been cleaned . Food portions very small for the price . Asked to change my pasta on the menu . One member of staff advised that it was all mixed together and couldn’t be changed other member of staff advise no it wasn’t but if the did it for me they would have to do it for everyone . Dogs allowed in main restaurant . Whilst we had our starters 4 dogs two feet behind us very unhygienic.. really only want to cater for locals which is fine but not if you are paying £140 a night to stay there . Last calamity staff were lock out this morning so breakfast was delayed. Very overpriced .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Horse & Groom Upper Oddington, General Manager at The Horse & Groom
Responded 24 Sep 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I am so sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. However, I will just take the opportunity to make a few important points in response. First, we take cleanliness of our guest rooms very seriously, particularly with Covid presenting a real and present risk to our guests and staff. I am not aware that you raised concerns about the cleanliness of your room with anyone during your stay. Had you done so we would have ensured that any concerns were addressed immediately. In line with current industry guidelines we are not entering guests rooms for short stays, only providing a clean/ bed change service after every three days of stay. In the interim, guests are welcome to request clean towels or additional room amenities on other days. However, in your case your stay was for a single night so you room had received a full clean and changeover with additional deep cleaning in line with our current covid procedures (including use of anti-viral sanitisers on surfaces etc) prior to your arrival. We have been independently assessed as covid-safe by both the AA and Visit Britain schemes based on our procedures. We make no secret of the fact that our guest rooms are small and cosy - as befits our 16th century pub. Pricing is highly competitive for the area and we take care to ensure our rates are in the lower third of other similar properties in the area. Our room rates also include full cooked breakfasts. Your room rate was £136 which included £24 for two adult breakfasts - the room only rate was therefore £112. I doubt you will have found a cheaper room anywhere in a comparable location for the date you stayed with us. We always aim to present value for money and had you raised concerns with us during your stay about pricing we could have taken time to discuss your concerns. Your review raises concerns about dogs in our restaurant. We make no secret of the fact that we are a very dog friendly pub. Just a few seconds researching us on the web will have shown this - our own dog features very prominently on our own web site and lots of our reviews are from guests who were grateful to be made welcome with their dogs. We recognise, however, that this is not to everyone's liking and we do have areas where dogs are not admitted. However, you didn't mention to us your preference to be in an area free of dogs. Had you done so - in spite of your late booking - we would have done our best to accommodate you. In respect of dogs and hygiene, there is no evidence that dogs in public spaces - even those used for dining - present a food hygiene or safety risk. It is a matter of personal preference. Personally, I find dogs are usually better behaved and some are certainly cleaner and more hygienic than their owners! But that's me for you - a dog lover! Finally, and this is the point that really angers me - is your issue with the menu. Had you simply requested a minor amendment to one of our dishes we would, of course, have obliged. However, what you requested amounted to essentially a completely new dish entirely. Something absolutely not on the menu. As we were extremely busy on the evening you booked, and our kitchen team is reduced at this time, there was no way we could reasonably accommodate your request without causing serious delays and inconvenience to the other diners. There were plenty of other options for you on the menu. However, in spite of your server's best efforts (and your partner who also seemed to be doing his best to reason with you and wanted to eat) nothing was going to be good enough. The vast majority of those who dined with us on the evening you came were not locals and many of them complimented the team on a great night out...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet M wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Very clean, nice staff, Room ! was disappointing was located over the kitchen, and next to the stairs. Was very noisy especially at 10-11.30pm. The fan from the kitchen wafted cooking smells upstairs into the room. The cost was very expensive for the quality of the room (£159.00) and generally the stay. Was also not able to book in for dinner that evening.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Not room 1
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sara MDDT wrote a review Jun 2021
Tiverton, United Kingdom1 contribution
We stayed for one night last weekend and had such a pleasurable stay. The room was slightly smaller than we were expecting, but perfectly adequate and well equipped. Lots of choice for hot drinks, water and a cheeky Baileys for a nightcap. Nice clean bathroom and I found the shower lovely, though my partner didn't think the water was hot enough. Comfortable bed too, with pillows that I wanted to take home! What I really want to highlight is the amazing meal we had in the evening. The food was incredible (only let down by stacked oven chips as opposed to home-made) and the staff were wonderful. Everyone was so friendly, but professional at the same time. I would like to give a particular shout out to waiting staff Rachel and Amanda who were lovely. Thanks for making us feel so welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Janet J wrote a review Jun 2021
Ripon, United Kingdom2 contributions
We enjoyed our stay at the horse and groom but would like to mention that in room six the bathroom needs attention and the mattress was in need of renewing. Service charge add to the bill without notice
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
martin p wrote a review Jun 2021
Barrhead, United Kingdom30 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed overnight to break up a long journey home from Cornwall. Room was very cosy and breakfast was great. Staff coped extremely well due to a power cut in the area that morning. The main downside was dinner. We sent back two dishes due to overcooked fish and undercooked pork belly which were both taken off our bill. Rooms are advertised with Nespresso coffee machines but they are using cheap plastic compatible coffee capsules which was disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$132 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the horse & groom village hotel oddington, the horse and groom village inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsMoreton-in-Marsh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HORSE & GROOM: UPDATED 2022 B&B Reviews, Price Comparison and 36 Photos (Moreton-in-Marsh, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Horse & Groom
Which popular attractions are close to The Horse & Groom?
Nearby attractions include Cotswold Motoring Museum (7.3 km), The Dragonfly Maze (7.4 km), and Batsford Arboretum (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Horse & Groom?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Horse & Groom?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Horse & Groom?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Horse & Groom?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Old Bakery Tearoom, Cotswold Baguettes, and The Den.
Are pets allowed at The Horse & Groom?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Horse & Groom?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sezincote House & Garden (7.2 km), Chastleton House and Garden (4.3 km), and Stow-on-the-Wold Market Square (3.0 km).