We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Number Four at Stow and Cutler\\
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Panoramas (45)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

941 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 931: English reviews
Start your review of Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent four days at this hotel and were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is small with friendly helpful staff. We had a lovely suite - very modern and very clean. The breakfast was very good with exceptionally nice muesli. We can't comment on the evening meals as we didn't eat there. There was good parking with a pleasant patio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this hotel because Stow was extremely busy the weekend we visited. We found this hotel to be rather charactless and way overpriced for what it is. It is a brisk 20 minutes walk to the centre of town. We were perhaps unlucky with our restaurant meal whose portions seemed to be the end of the night leftovers (pork...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bazandselima
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

We are naturally very disappointed that your recent stay at our hotel did not meet with your expectations. It is unfortunate that you did not approach us during your stay so we may have been given the opportunity to make your experience more enjoyable. We constantly strive to offer only the best of quality and service and can only apologise...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, spotlessly clean. Staff very attentive and helpful. Relaxing atmosphere. Restaurant very good, had a lovely meal. Breakfast exceptional. Lots of choice and you can eat as much as you like and always request what you need. Fresh milk provided for tea in your room. Cannot fault it We have now stayed here 3 times and will be returning....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a night here for our wedding anniversary via booking.com, planning to dine in the highly rated restaurant. On arrival we discovered that the restaurant is closed on Tuesdays (and on Mondays and Sunday evenings) so we had to drive elsewhere to eat which hadn't been our plan at all. The room was fairly small but clean and modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oxonfour
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are naturally disappointed that you had not been made aware of our restaurant opening days and hope you will accept our sincere apologies for this. Although this is stated on our hotel website, the information should have also been passed on to you via booking.com. We...

wendymcq
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at No. 4 for our wedding anniversary and were made to feel very welcome. Food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had room 203 which was a suite, it was very comfortable and clean but can I suggest it would be nice to have something on the walls as they were very bare....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendymcq
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Your feedback and compliments are really very much appreciated, thank you. Hopefully we can now look forward to welcoming you back to Number Four at Stow in the near future. With warm regards Caroline & Patricia

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room, practical and clean. A few small annoyances can't stand up straight in the shower if you are over the height of 6 foot. Visit the hotel hoping to see the beautiful scenery in which it is placed, one small window, that barely opens and some net curtain in the way of it. TV annoyingly slow to respond to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy789608
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

We are naturally disappointed that your recent stay at our hotel did not meet with your expectations. We encourage feedback from our guests as we continually strive to improve on what we offer at Number Four, so thank you for your comments. It is however a shame that you did not communicate any of these issues that you had to...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here again when visiting friends who live locally. Always very good and excellent service from the staff. From the warm welcome on arrival, spotlessly clean room, freshly cooked breakfast with excellent buffet of fresh fruit, house made muesli, smoked salmon, meats and cheese to an amazing dinner in the restaurant, they always get it just right.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank munichanne H
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you once again to Number Four and we are delighted that you had another memorable stay with us. Your compliments are much appreciated following your feedback, thank you. The weather is getting warmer and the flowers are now starting to bloom...perhaps we can intice you back soon?! Kindest reagrds Caroline & Patricia

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed here and what an absolute delight it was. Beautiful hotel, very comfortable rooms and the staff were delightful . We dined in Cutlers Restaurant and would highly recommend this. Look forward to returning next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie672013
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Your compliments are very much appreciated and have been passed onto all the staff, thank you. We now look forward to welcoming you back to Number Four very soon. Kindest regards Caroline & Patricia

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We booked in for breakfast as non-residents, having previously had lunch here a few months ago. We could not have made a better choice as we were well looked after and all requests made at the time of the booking were met. Both breakfast and lunch were superbly cooked and presented - the food was delicious. For lunch there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gperky
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent dining experience at Cutler's Restaurant at Number Four and your compliments are much appreciated. We now look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Caroline & Patricia

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We combined a fantastic race day at Cheltenham with a wonderful stay at Number Four. The suite we stayed in was spacious & luxurious and dinner and breakfast were superb. Caroline & Trish look after their guests so well - we would really recommend a stay in this lovely hotel which is so well situated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sulizbrown
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Number Four at Stow following your recent stay with us during Cheltemham Festival, much appreciated. We hope you had a success at the races and hopefully we can look forward to welcoming back for the next Cheltenham Race Fixture! With kindest regards Caroline & Patricia

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (26)
Viewed
Suite (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.5 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
298 reviews
3.0 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,100 reviews
15.9 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,370 reviews
1.4 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
154 reviews
3.6 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $226 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland
8 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a suite which suited us very well”
886gillianl, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view if required”
CarolineW17, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“110 suffers from road noise.”
oxonfour, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent”
sulizbrown, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suggest you ask the owner for advice”
dudleyr2015, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5