We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL45 1AG England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Travelocity
US$109
View deal
Trip.com
US$107
View deal
Hotels.comUS$109
Expedia.comUS$109
PricelineUS$109
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (301)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (53)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 14/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 8 hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Sheep on Sheet Street revealed its new look, along with its new name in July 2016. The Sheep brings a new dimension to eating and drinking in the Cotswolds, as well as a little Soho style too. Located in the heart of Stow on the Wold, stay in one of our wonderfully comfortable twenty-two en suite rooms. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, offering a comfy place to stay. Their sophisticated simplicity gives them a luxurious feel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English
955Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 588
  • 220
  • 88
  • 26
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
R F wrote a review 23 Sep
chichester25 contributions4 helpful votes
Friendly staff. Good food and service. Accommodation poor. Housekeeping had overlooked 3 bulbs/lights not working. Given cooler temperatures central heating should have been turned on. The room did not measure up to its description. The menu was good and wine list well stocked.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Raoul M wrote a review 16 Sep
Stonington, Connecticut385 contributions171 helpful votes
Location couldn't be better - right on the Main Street of Stow on the Wold and easy walking distance to the town square. Our room was on the top floor, which was a challenge with luggage when arriving and leaving, but made up for that by being quaint, charming, and quiet. Bed comfortable and clean, bathroom very nice with a large bath to soak in. We hadn't booked a dinner reservation, but the staff took care of us and got us a table, which was very welcome after the long drive down from Cumbria. Breakfast was very good both days we stayed there and staff overall are friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend and stay here again when we return. Parking was the only complaint as the car park was hard to find and completely full when we found it. But we were able to park on the street without drama, so it worked out
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top floor is very nice if you don't have heavy luggage
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Sheep on Sheep Street
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Raoul M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Sheep Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris2511_12 wrote a review 6 Sep
London, United Kingdom19 contributions3 helpful votes
Very comfortable and spacious accommodation, very friendly and helpful staff, good food, a perfect stay! Excellent location for exploring the beautiful Cotswolds. Efficient check in and check out. We plan to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Sheep on Sheep Street
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Chris2511_12, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stefan C wrote a review Aug 2022
Laurel, MD, United States8 contributions
The restaurant we were looking for was booked, so we stopped in this one. The place was lively; the service was good; and the food was OK. Nothing to write home about. I thought the roast chicken was dry but the vegetables pretty good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Sheep on Sheep Street
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello 44stefanc, thank you; we appreciate your feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David C wrote a review Aug 2022
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Room was supposed to be a superior room Power shower dripped all the time , Bulb out in ceiling. Door/lock needs adjusting. Toilet handle very loose. You could hear other power showers being used Friendly staff, ideal location, car park quite tight. Comfortable bed
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Sheep on Sheep Street
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello O804ymdavidc, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Imogen S wrote a review Aug 2022
20 contributions5 helpful votes
Very welcoming staff who provided us with a comfortable table for a nervous dog, food was lovely with lots of choices for variety of eaters. Service of staff members was great and food was very quickly served. Would defiantly recommend a visit
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Sheep on Sheep Street
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi 152imogens, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Sheep Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josh L wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Lovely comfy room, staff are extremely helpful and friendly they cant do enough for you. Rooms are peaceful even though it is a popular busy pub you really wouldn’t know once your in your room. Great staff, great pub/restaurant, great location. 👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Sheep on Sheep Street
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Josh L, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert K wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We only stayed for one night, as a romantic getaway. We had a small but well appointed, clean room with a good shower and nice little touches like a coffee machine in our room. It was very quite at night, great night sleep. We had an amazing evening meal and lovely breakfast. The staff are really friendly and made the stay memorable. Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Sheep on Sheep Street
Responded 8 Aug 2022
P9985qirobertk, thank you so much for the positive review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy L wrote a review Aug 2022
Bedale, United Kingdom78 contributions14 helpful votes
Visited a couple of times to this pub. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was great and tasty We tried the wood fired pizzas and these were really good, also tried the hand cut chips and these tasted amazing Also tried the steak sandwich
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Sheep on Sheep Street
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Hi Andy L, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Sheep Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn R wrote a review Jul 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for 3 nights in July. Found hotel by chance online and would absolutely recommend staying here. Staff lovely, food really good and varied, rooms exceptional. If you want to stay in Stow definitely stay here. You won’t be disappointed 😀
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Honeycomb Houses, Marketing at Sheep on Sheep Street
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Lynn174, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Sheep Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grapevine Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsStow-on-the-Wold
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheep on Sheep Street
Which popular attractions are close to Sheep on Sheep Street?
Nearby attractions include St. Edward's Church (0.09 km), Stow-on-the-Wold Market Square (0.2 km), and Tara Antiques Centre (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheep on Sheep Street?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sheep on Sheep Street?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheep on Sheep Street?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheep on Sheep Street?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Old Bakery Tearoom, Cotswold Baguettes, and Alexiou's.
Is Sheep on Sheep Street located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Stow-on-the-Wold.
Are pets allowed at Sheep on Sheep Street?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheep on Sheep Street?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sezincote House & Garden (5.6 km), Stow-on-the-Wold Market Square (0.2 km), and Chastleton House and Garden (6.5 km).