We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Snooty Fox Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 625: English reviews
Start your review of Snooty Fox Hotel
 Click to rate
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right in the centre of Tetbury, this is a good place to stay. We booked a superior room, but although it has a jacuzzi bath, we asked to change rooms to a smaller standard room with a shower. There were no issues with changing, but it is unusual to find rooms nowadays without showers. The standard room was lovely with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidB_2011
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavidB_2011, Thank you very much for your kind words, hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were disappointed from the beginning with the Snooty Fox. On arrival there was no welcome from the 2 members of staff at reception, they were too busy talking to each other. It was hard to distinguish who the staff were and who were the guests, as staff were dressed very casually. Also did feel that staff were rather thin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donna n
Tetbury-food-lover, Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear donna n Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we welcome all feed back both negative and positive. I am saddened to hear that you were not welcomed on your arrival as we feel it is important to give everyone a nice friendly warm welcome. In regards to the price, high demand days obviously come at...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Taken here as a treat by my daughter. Male receptionist welcomed us and asked where we would like to sit. Asked to take order for tea or coffee. My daughter said could she have a soft drink told no. A sorry it's not included would have nice. As she doesn't drink tea or coffee was happy to have water. Said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
Tetbury-food-lover, Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynda H Thank you for your review, we welcome all fed back both negative and positive. Sorry to hear your first impression may have spoiled your experience, I do hope that after sorting out the drink issue you did enjoy your full afternoon tea. Unfortunately only hot drinks are included with the afternoon tea but you can of course...

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped for breakfast and was inticed to eat here because of the quality of the produce on offer but is doesn't matter how good they are if they are crucified. The sausage was so burnt it was difficult to even cut. What a shame.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blueensign7
Tetbury-food-lover, Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear blueensign7 Thanks for your review, we welcome both positive and negative comments. I am sorry to here about your burnt sausage. We pride our selves on our high standards and I am sorry that we seem to have fallen short on this occasion, I only wish you had told a member of staff at the time and this could...

Nottingh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a night on the way back from Devon had lunch in the bar checked into our superior bedroom which was extremely comfortable and was on a corner so you could see both ways up the road, the room and the bathroom were really clean which I check! We had fillet steak perfectly cooked and the service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoopyHope
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Loopyhope, Thank you very much for your kind words. Thrilled to read how much you enjoyed our hospitality at The Snooty. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I were brought a two night stay at the Snooty Fox as a wedding gift. When we mad our booking, we decided to up-grade to their superior room ( not he four-poster rooms). We were then delighted to be told we could bring our sausage dog Dotty with us. We could not fault this lovely jewel of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rider_87_88
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rider_87_88, So please to read such a favorable review! The team at the Snooty take pride in what they do and will be thrilled to read such endorsement of their efforts. Look forward to welcoming Dotty and you back in the near future!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner enjoyed a really lovely stay at the Snooty Fox. The food was absolutely amazing 5 star and the portion size was more than average. The portions were huge and we were both stuffed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar was v nice and cosy with the big open fire the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chellemcgill
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chellemcgill, Really happy to read such a glowing review. So pleases that you enjoyed our hospitality at the Snooty and hope that you would choose us again when "escaping" the children! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked three rooms around Christmas time to meet up with old friends. The Hotel rooms are fabulous ours, room 7 was on two floors with a jacuzzi corner bath !!. we had afternoon tea (home made scones), evening meal where all 6 of us could not find fault and the breakfast was non greasy and cooked to perfection. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thank you for you kind words, the staff take great pride in what they do and will be thrilled to read such a glowing review. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

mk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the hotel for an anniversary treat for my wife and I and 2 close friends it's a lovely old hotel we felt welcome as soon as we checked in I paid to upgrade the rooms and we got a lovely room with a huge four poster bed fresh coffee and tea are in your room and a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cazchrisMk
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cazchrisMK Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review,. So pleased to hear such positive feed back after your recent stay, the staff will be thrilled to receive such endorsements. We are in the process of working our way through the rooms at the snooty fox and hope to have them all redecorated by the...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Booked this hotel a trip away for our Silver Wedding anniversary on the back of the good reviews and was not disappointed. The Snooty Fox is a small 12 bed hotel set in the heart of the town. We had the 4 poster bedroom which has a very large (and low) 4 poster bed + pull out sofa making it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ianshall
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ianshall, Thank you very much for such a positive review, the team will be thrilled to read such an endorsement of all their hard work. Look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Second Superior Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
3.9 km away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 km away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
351 reviews
0.3 km away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
476 reviews
40.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,069 reviews
5.4 km away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Price Range: $161 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Snooty Fox Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Snooty Fox Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Change for short-stay car park or 5 min walk to free parking.”
 of 5 bubbles Rider_87_88, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all our three rooms were spot on but number 7 was the best”
 of 5 bubbles johnwM5382WV, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book Room 12 if you dont mind stairs, else book a superior room as the additional space is not much more expensive (apparently)”
 of 5 bubbles Ianshall, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior gives a lot for space for very little extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles Whilboro, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask when booking”
 of 5 bubbles ZiggyTetbury, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5