We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

ibis BudgetUS$48*
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$49*
US$48*
Great Deal
US$49*
US$49*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
 Click to rate
Doncaster
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location was great for the ferry one problem I had was the room I had was over an air conditioning building and I hardly had any sleep I told the staff in the morning they were a bit sympathetic but they could not do anything about it

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Les F
Gloucestershire, England
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed only one night but the room was comfortable and clean. The shower enclosure is in the room but was also clean, with a good flow of hot water. It's a little spartan but it is, after all, a budget hotel and as such was very satisfactory. The staff were efficient and attentive. A decent continental self-service breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SlamJL
About Hotel's Favourite Review
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear SlamJL, Thank you for your excellent review about our hotel. I am glad that you found the room comfortable and shower enclosure clean during the stay. Thank you for your great feedback about the staff as well. I look forward to welcoming you shortly to stay with us. Kind regards, Waqas Bin Tahir General Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

really disgusted with this hotel....went there for my daughter's birthday as we were go in to Peppa pig world.....theres no privacy when u shower u can see straight thru shower door......theres no space to move in the room and the staff was very rude,they moved us to another room and said they would provide us with a travel cot,we then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna-marie S
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidnP2012LP
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I arrived to find that the hotel only has 10 parking spaces so in order to park your car, you have to go to the B&Q car park which means crossing over 2 busy roads and leaving it in an unsecured location overnight which I was very unhappy about doing. Next came the room.. I walked in to find that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy A
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Mandy A, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty regarding parking at the hotel. We have limited spaces outside (23) the hotel which are available on first come and first basis. We also have additional free parking just across the road in B&Q as you have mentioned. Cars should be parked in...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So this was our first time staying at an ibis budget. After reading some mixed reviews we didn't really know what to expect. We checked in on football day so it was really busy outside, but there was just enough parking. The staff were friendly enough at check in. We made it up to our room, the room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Caroline T, Thank you for your detailed feedback after recent stay here at tripadvisor and also on our feedback form. I will share your feedback about socket with out design team for future refurbishments as all ibis budget hotels have the same design. Thank you for putting the music down for other guests. It is unfortunate that some guests...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel at last minute as there was limited availability elsewhere before the busy Easter weekend . It's very basic and the rooms reminded us of a side ward in a hospital :)) and it was the standing joke with my elderly mum in the room next door as each time we called in for her we'd say it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Sue E, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your review. The hotel is located 10 minutes’ drive from Gunwharf shopping outlets. Fratton train station is about 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel as we are just next to Portsmouth Football Club. There is plenty of choice around the hotel such as KFC, McDonalds, Tesco extra, Subway...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Clean, warm and staff helpful. No tea/ coffee facility in rooms and only 1 pillow , but adequate as just a bed for the night. Opposite a McDonalds and KFC and next to a Subway, and Tesco. A good 2 miles from Gun Wharf Quays and downtown Portsmouth, but an easy , flat walk or £8 by taxi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie C
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Ann-Marie C, Thank you for staying with us. I am delighted to see your comments about our hotel and team. May I also take the opportunity to inform you that additional pillows, hair dryers, towels, iron etc. can be requested from reception anytime. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us. Kind regards, Waqas Bin Tahir...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Basic modern room. Double bed very comfortable. Single bunk bedding not as clean looking as the double and few ?crumbs in the bed. Shower/toilet clean, tv worked fine. Overall a nice room and fine for a one night stay, just somewhere to sleep and eat in the morning. The breakfast was good value, buffet style and decent choice plus plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamril
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear jamril, Thank you for your review. I am very happy to see that you found our double bed very comfortable. I am sorry about the bunk bed and will share your concern with the housekeeping department. I am delighted to see that you found our continental breakfast @ £5.50 per person with plenty of choices. I truly hope that...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came to watch Pompey v Plymouth. Handy location and price reasonable but not cheap. Stayed here often in the past and doubtless will again. I've stayed in better places, worse places, cheaper places and dearer places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keverton1878
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Keverton1878, Thank you for staying with us on your visit to watch football match. We are right next to the football stadium. As you have rightly mentioned, hotel prices are not same and like other hotels our prices vary, however they are competitive in the area. They are between £35 to £169 depending on the dates of stay, local...

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,456 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,150 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $67 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth
Hotel Ibis Budget Portsmouth Hampshire
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Jacqueline E Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Depends on the conditions of your booking. If you have flex rate and it's at least 24 hours before your stay you should be okay.

5 months ago
IbisbudgetPortsmouth EtapPortsmouth Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Thank you for your question. We have a limited number of designated parking spaces directly outside the hotel. Our guests are free to use the B&Q car park across the road as well. Please remember to inform the Reception Team Member that checks you in that you have a vehicle as you will be required to register your VRM on the form at the front desk so that we can input the number onto the system to avoid your getting fined for parking without permission.

If you need any more information, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Agatha

Reception Team Leader

4 months ago
IbisbudgetPortsmouth EtapPortsmouth Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Hi, Yes we have baby cots and they fit in the rooms. Please contact us by phone/email (00442392736386) so we can update your request.

Thanks

6 months ago
7 months ago
IbisbudgetPortsmouth EtapPortsmouth Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Dear Ranjit H,

Thank you for your question. We are approximately 25 minutes from the Guildhall on foot / about 10 minutes by taxi.

Kind regards,

Agatha

Reception Team Leader

7 months ago
Workington, United Kingdom
IbisbudgetPortsmouth EtapPortsmouth Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Dear dormi87,

Thank you for your question. There is a bus (First Bus, Number 1) that goes along Goldsmith Avenue (a short walk away fromo the hotel) to Gunwharf Quays. Alternatively, you can take the train from Fratton station which is approximately 7 minutes' walk away from the hotel. For Gunwharf, take the train to Portsmouth Harbour. There is also the option of a taxi which you can call from Reception or ask one of our team to call for you.

We look forward to receiving you.

8 months ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else!”
572mandya, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay here - unless young people on a piss up!”
angelarobinson2011, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The ground floor room was very quiet but was cold. An extra duvet was required to keep warm”
8michaele, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think they are all the same”
serenac738, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are the same layout but some with family rooms, double and twin”
AnnR310, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
ibis Budget
US$48* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$49
Hotels.comUS$49
TripAdvisorUS$48
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates