We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Portsmouth Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,293: English reviews
England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very convenient if you're going to IOW, but on arrival despite the booking confirmation stating free onsite parking I parked on the street as there's limited availability. So had to pay £12 was then told in hotel there's somewhere else I can park. Room was ok (sweet room) but ensuite is tiny. Good wifi, limited choice menu n breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenzo1
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear kenzo, Thank you for your feedback on your stay, I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us in Portsmouth. Please feel free to contact me directly at h1461-dm@accor.com to discuss your experience with our on-site parking and breakfast options. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Adam Kendall Reception Shift Leader

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly people working on Reception. Our room was modern, and compact for a short stay. Very clean. The bathroom was tiny as previous reviewers pointed out but absolutely fine. Cleverly designed for such a small space, a porthole window too. The bed was comfy. Although we didn't book for breakfast we did order a pizza in the bar area before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Notfaro
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear Notfaro, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to see that you found the hotel conveniently located and enjoyed your time with us in Portsmouth. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Adam Kendall Reception Shift Leader

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Handily located by the University of Portsmouth, we were given a warm welcome by the staff. Whilst the bedroom was small it was well appointed and met all our needs. Good basic accommodation for an overnight stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edward W
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear Edward, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us in Portsmouth. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Adam Kendall Reception Shift Leader

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Refurbishment now finished. Car parking full as I arrived late. Very comfortable room sadly still with tiny bathrooms. Asked for (and got) top floor room at the back. Woken by noisey revellers returning. Tasty breakfast. Welcome gifts in my room and a free welcome drink as Le Club Accor Silver member.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Father Mike T
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us in Portsmouth. I'm sorry that you experienced some disturbance during your night and hope your next stay will be more restful. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Adam Kendall Reception Shift Leader

South Yorkshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant check in procedure and clear directions to our room. Room looked newly refurbished, very modern and very clean but extremely small with absolutely no drawers for storage. The tiny wardrobe alcove doubled as storage for the kettle and rea cups etc. Strictly one person at a time in the shower room! Having said that, the bed was very comfortabke,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cretelovers71
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear Cretelover, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us in Portsmouth. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Adam Kendall Reception Shift Leader

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

lovely staff couldn't of been more helpful. Breakfast was great. The rooms have been decorated since last visit and lossed shelving behind the tv , all boxed in now. table moved by bath room door as built in wardrobe so space is now smaller. Should of left the room as it was before refurbishment. Found out on leaving no larger...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shrimps2017
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear shrimps, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I'm sorry to see you haven't found the new room layout to be convenient, please feel free to contact me directly at h1461-dm@accor.com to see if we can come to an arrangement that will better suit you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Adam...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was worried about this place from the other comments I'd seen but overall had a good experience. Decent sized bedroom, and room was clean on arrival. Conveniently located close to Portsmouth and Southsea station. Complaints are that breakfast was on the expensive side and my door card stopped working because I placed it near my phone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erndog593
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear erndog, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to see that you found the hotel conveniently located and enjoyed your time in Portsmouth. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Adam Kendall Reception Shift Leader

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Others have commented on how poor this place is, there's no management at the place, I asked to speak with the manager about the consistent banging and shouting going off all through the night. The junior member of staff said they are not allowed to contact her with any problems, email in you might be lucky was the response. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 376pete1000
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, I’d liike to take this opportunity to apologise that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at ibis Portsmouth Centre. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Our procedures of management contact during the night are under review and your feedback will influence this. Kind regards, Adam Kendall Reception...

Wiltshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Last time I visited this hotel I was impressed. However 6 months later it has gone downhill. The towels in the room were dirty. The carpet was dirty. Choice of dinner in the bar/restaurant was very limited (unlike 1st visit). It all feels cheap but wasn't actually cheap! It feels like a student hostel and I'd be reluctant to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janex_9
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. I can assure you the matter is being looked into. Could you please email h1461-dm@accor.com with the full details of your stay? Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was the worst nights sleep I have ever had. I have slept better in a youth hostel. The room was small and compact to say the least, however, comfortable but with a total lack of sound proofing and buffers to protect the doors from slamming. The issue is the hotel is a venue to party goers. 3am - banging,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheLuckyWonderer
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at ibis Portsmouth Centre. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. We are looking into the matter, but feel free to email me on h1461-dm@accor.com to discuss this further. Kind regards, Zenaida Villalba Assistant Manager

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.8 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
5.7 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,134 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $82 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Portsmouth Centre staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Portsmouth Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back away from the road are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Cretelovers71, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not here choose anther hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 376pete1000, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try another hotel if over a weekend”
 of 5 bubbles TheLuckyWonderer, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking car park are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles _umzog, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Away from the noisy bar at one end of the building”
 of 5 bubbles wendywilson2017, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5