We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Marriott Hotels
View deal
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (209)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (57)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 30/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Updated 30/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#21 of 42 hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeaders Gold level
Edging the shores of England's spectacular South Coast, Portsmouth Marriott Hotel is a 4-star haven near the city's best attractions. Find your respite in beautifully appointed rooms and suites, featuring stylish décor, high-speed Wi-Fi, blackout curtains, coffee makers and flat-screen TVs. Enjoy the perfect location for business trips and family getaways, near popular landmarks, including Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays, Port Solent and the Historic Dockyards. After a memorable day in the city; savour delectable globally inspired cuisine at our Cast Iron Bar & Grill. Plan your UK getaway at Portsmouth Marriott, where new experiences become treasured memories.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1587Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 474
  • 608
  • 313
  • 114
  • 78
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JinxyUK wrote a review 17 Oct
Walsall, United Kingdom2 contributions
Two very different experiences, my partner took part in the Great South Run pre COVID and we stayed at the same hotel. We had a lovey stay and the staff were excellent and couldn’t do enough to help, they even were happy for her to use the gym showers after her run. So we decided to go back, what a mistake, previously. We had the joy of being charged an extra £50 and when queried were disdainfully advised that it was a security deposit in case there was damage to the room. It would have been nice to have been advised about this before it appeared as a card transaction. The room was uncomfortably cold and we were left with the option of running a loud heater and suffer no sleep or gain no sleep because it was cold. To cap our stay on this occasion when my partner asked if she could use the showers in the gym after her race, she was told that they have no showers. Odd when their own website shows the showers in the gym. I’d rather they’d been honest that they didn’t want her to use the showers. I’m pretty sure that they’re also legally required to confirm what charges they will make prior to making them but I guess honesty with their customers isn’t high on their priorities. Clean room, poor/loud heater, expensive for level of service you get.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Personally avoid but if you do plan on staying here, press them to confirm what they’re going to...
See more room tips
Response from rob snaith, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear JinxyUK, Thank you for your feedback, and i hope that you enjoyed the Great South Run event. In reference to you a couple of your points, a £50 authorisation is taken at checkin which will cover any incidentals ( charges to your room from the outlets ) The Leisure Club in the hotel closed at the beginning of last year, thus there are no longer any shower changing facilities available in that area of the hotel. I may only assume that any photography of showering facilities may be Traveler / Guest photos as the official webpage of the hotel has no such photography. Kindest regards, and thank you again for sharing your feedback with us.
Read more
Ben K wrote a review 16 Oct
11 contributions28 helpful votes
Have stayed in the Marriott several times before and this definitely rates as the worst experience my wife and I have ever had. Had to change rooms due to dirty shower filter and cracked coffee table. The restaurant experience was abysmal. Had to wait over an hour and quarter for our food to turn up. What's the point in opening the restaurant if you cannot service requests in a reasonable amount of time. The whole experience leaves a bad taste in your mouth and we came away not wanting to return. Whoever's managing this hotel needs to review quality control to ensure it justifies the premium room rates being charged here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant.
See more room tips
Response from rob snaith, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear H9956SQbenk, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and more so for your continued loyalty to the hotel in what continues to be unprecedented times. I will be investigating your comments with the team, as as you have mentioned prior visits have been to your satisfaction. In the event that your travels bring you back to the hotel, i ask that you contact me directly so i may personally ensure that all is to your complete satisfaction. Kind regards
Read more
samantha wrote a review Sep 2021
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked this hotel to visit Portsmouth which we loved. We checked in ok and then went down to eat at the hotel which I had booked a table a week before and received confirmation that morning as a reminder. When we got to the restaurant there were only about two table with people on. We were told they only had us down as 2 and because we had 3 kids with us food would take an extra 25 mins. We had sat there for an hour and 40 mins before my husband and my meal arrived after another 20 minutes I got up to complain because my childrens food still hadn’t turned up, we didn’t bother ordering dessert because of the wait time. The next morning we went down to breakfast at a booked slot and again had to wait about 15 mins to be seated. It wasn’t that there was no tables. It was that they weren’t clearing them down. Lots of people were complaining behind us. Food was ok but service at hotel was atrocious. I have also complained direct to Marriott who advised me someone would get back to me within 5 days I am still waiting after over a week. I would definitely advise people not to stay here the service was terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid food. Restaurant was empty so service shouldn’t have been this bad. They just kept blaming...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from rob snaith, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Daydream13720832406, Thank you for sharing your comments with us, and i am deeply sorry to read the review which you have posted. All information has been passed onto the team in which to investigate and action so as which to ensure that there is no repeat of these events in the future. kindest regards
Read more
i2Wander wrote a review Sep 2021
22 contributions9 helpful votes
We checked in for a weekend in September. The booking process was smooth as we booked via Booking.com. I also called the hotel before checking in and the receptionist was very helpful on the phone. I booked the room for £311 but it seems we only paid for the walls. The room looked tired and needs a facelift. Dinner and water temperatures were good. Very limited choices for breakfast - and guess what, nothing was labeled so we literally had to call the staff and ask them about the dishes on display. There was no information on ingredients and some of the dishes were not even labeled - We had to guess... I won't rate the staff because some were very helpful and some were just OK. It didn't quite meet our expectations for the price - I have stayed in hotels for a lesser price and fewer stars but better value for money. This was my first and last visit here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Response from rob snaith, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear i2Wander, Thank you for sharing your comments, and my apologies that the stay did not meet your completed expectations. Allow me to inform you that all hotel guestrooms were fully refurbished during 2017/2018. I will investigate personally your comments regarding the labelling of food items. All Buffet food items do highlight allergen information, in addition to signage asking guests to inform us of any allergies which they may have which are placed in and around the buffet. Kind regards
Read more
Catherine M wrote a review Sep 2021
Norfolk, United Kingdom13 contributions9 helpful votes
Dreadful stay except for a clean comfortable room. Resturant awful, both food and drink. £9.50 for a cocktail that was not mixed with correct ingredients ( did eventually take off the bill when I complained) Undercooked chicken, no action taken when I reported this ( I had lost the will to live by this stage!) Ordered desert and was told it contained home made cinder toffee, came with a crunched up Chocolate covered Crunchier Bar! Ordered take away breakfast as we had an early sailing, despite checking at reception the previous day, the order had not been placed. A lovely waitress then had to deal with my extreme dissapoiintment ( I was in a hurry!) and she put lots of things into bags for us to take away. I am aware of staff shortages but there were adequate numbers on duty when we went to dine and on.y two other tables occupied.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: I would not recommend you stay here unless you avoid eating in the restaurant .
See more room tips
US$96 - US$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
marriott portsmouth hotel portsmouth, portsmouth marriott
Marriott Portsmouth
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Portsdown Hill (0.3 km), Port Solent (0.7 km), and PlayZone Portsmouth (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gracie-Ann's Tea Room, Prezzo - Port Solent, and Casa Brasil.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Portsmouth Marriott Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson (3.6 km), Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (5.1 km), and Little Woodham Living History Village (7.5 km).
Is Portsmouth Marriott Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.