We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$105
View deal
Booking.comUS$118
eDreamsUS$118
getaroom.comUS$132
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (300)
Room & Suite (167)
Dining (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#22 of 42 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27, M3 Motorway, only a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS WarrIor and the Mary Rose. Gunwharf Quays and the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel. The excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect and residents have complimentary access to the You Fit health club. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking at an overnight charge of £5. Alternative parking is available offsite and permit vouchers are sold at reception.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Japanese and 6 more
1628Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 382
  • 610
  • 416
  • 138
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Michael B wrote a review 18 Oct
20 contributions19 helpful votes
Great location for Southsea, Gunwharf Quays and Ferries. Breakfast was decent apart from the air conditioning that made things uncomfortable. I complained that there was a dirty tray from room service left outside the lift from 10.00am and by 8.00pm it still hadnt been taken away. The girl on reception told me they dont get collected until the night shift come on!!!! Incredible. I wouldnt expect that poor standard in a Hostel never mind a Holiday Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from HR Manager HI Portsmouth, Owner at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Michael B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and our great location. Please accept my apologies for a dirty tray being left out on the corridor. We do regular trolley throughout the day and night so this shouldn't have happened. I will pass on your feedback to Food & Beverage Manager and Front Office Manager so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Rachel Attfield Guest Service Manager Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Read more
Malak A wrote a review 14 Oct
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
I checked in yesterday into Holiday inn Portsmouth, UK, Pembroke road. My stay was supposed to be for 13 nights. I checked out the same night due to the awful service that they put me through. Not only did they put me in a room that I did not book, the room was dirty and had yellow stains all over the walls. I specifically requested a double bed- room and instead I got a twin room. Although they did confirm in the email that I would be staying in my specified room. The air conditioning in the room did not work either. When I contacted the reception, they said they can't do anything about it as the hotel was fully booked until Monday. They wanted me to stay another five nights in the same room before they could accomodate me. Obviously, I requested to leave the hotel and get a full refund. However, the people on the desk were denying me any assistance and wanted to charge me for 6 nights if i was to cancel. Only when I called booking.com directly, they contacted the hotel and insisted I get a refund immediately and only be charged for the one night I stayed. Honestly, I am very disappointed and will never book with you again. disgusting rude service from the people working on the reception desk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from HR Manager HI Portsmouth, Owner at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Malak A, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I'm sorry to hear we were not able to honour your requested room type. As you booked a non specified room type we are unable to guarantee your request, but do our best to meet our customer needs. I do apologise for the cleanliness of the room not being up to standard and I have passed on your comments to the Head Housekeeper. I am extremely sorry that you feel we didn't handle your complaint well, but i'm pleased it has been rectified with Booking.com now. Kind Regards Rachel Attfield Guest Service Manager Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Read more
Neville-the-cat wrote a review Sep 2021
Cheshire7 contributions3 helpful votes
Great location near Southsea front with good weather as well we enjoyed the local area . Limited car parking for the size of the hotel (we were lucky) and charged £5 for the privilege. Room on the 6th floor was clean, quiet and comfortable with a decent view of Spinnaker Tower - rooms of the front however would have a better view of the seafront. Bathroom small, especially as this was an Executive room. Leisure facilities were good - pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Not the largest but not overcrowded whilst we were there. Bar service was slow with no Stella glasses, no gin glasses and gin served without garnish being offered. Expensive drinks to which a service charge was automatically added! Restaurant evening service severely hampered by having to order via electric devices. These were not user friendly (could only order wine by glass) taking much longer to complete than simply having the staff stood 5 feet away actually taking the order. These devices could work in McDonald's but not in a restaurant of a supposed high quality hotel charging suitably high prices. Breakfast had an excellent choice and food generally good. Too few staff clearing used tables meaning significant queues built even though there were tables in theory free. Despite my bar and restaurant quibbles this was still a good stay - just that by sorting out the food and beverage side it could have been even better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Tony H wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Myself and my colluges stayed for a week regarding a business meeting. We were fond that this hotel had a health club. Firstly it's disgusting in every aspect beside the gym. The poor lad behind the reception looked very busy (and so was the health club) and asked if there was anyone else to help? Only to find they have one person on in the evening!! Awful. Once he finished he pulled out some scrappy brush and some pink bottle to give the pool area a clean. Do they not have better equipment? A few days later I attempted to dicuss this with a bloke called Sam. I believe he is the Duty manager of the club. Every time I attempted to dicuss an issue he remained on his phone with very delayed response... a joke considering they are meant to be the manager! During this day I spoke to a few members of the pool asking how much they pay a month, a few said nearly 50 quid and responded "its normally always dirty and the place is broken but at least it's quite"... I then asked about the staff (I work for a newspaper company in which considering with covid I found this interesting ) they said the majority of them are friendly but they finish at 10 as then the club closes, but only gets paid till 10. It seems the members and staff are close and share there opinions that this place needs to change. I payed alot of money for nearly a week stay with multiple rooms. Regarding the rest of the hotel it wasn't bad, food was decent, reception was friendly, not to mention the rooms were not too bad (no toilet roll, hair around shower base) I have seen alot of people on this site complain for many many months about how dirty it is. I don't blame the staff, they can't be in two places at once and we're over all friendly (besides the managers ignorance) This isn't someone having a moan, this is truly this company neglecting it's sites, In this case being the health club. Please please address this. Its bad enough how small this pool is with one swimming lane!! And children can come whenever they please?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from HR Manager HI Portsmouth, Owner at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear tonyhC7807NP, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I'm so sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience in our Leisure Club. I have passed on your review to our Business Excellence Manager to investigate this matter further so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Rachel Attfield Guest Service Manager Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Read more
Dave Moore wrote a review Sep 2021
Runcorn, United Kingdom50 contributions59 helpful votes
+1
Just had a five night stay at this Holiday Inn, and while venturing afield in a pandemic is not for everyone, this was our first trip ANYWHERE since Sept 2019 and it was ….. SUPERB !! We could not fault any aspect of our stay at all, Location, Room, Sleep quality, Staff attentiveness, Covid requirements integration, Bar or Breakfast… all 10’s !! Hotel is situated opposite Southsea Common just away from Portsmouth itself but a lovely 15 min stroll and your in Gunwharf Quays and the Dockyard area. Similarly you can go left out the door and 15 mins your in Southsea Village for bars & cafes. We had a twin room which was well appointed and cleaned everyday and the Hypnos bed was the comfiest I have slept on in years and just set me up for the day every morning. Breakfast was plentiful and in buffet style *special mention to Roxanne who ran the room like a star and looked after us superbly every morning* and the bar was well stocked in the evenings for a drink before venturing out. There is a small health club with pool at the hotel but we did not use while we were there. All in all we had a brilliant stay and cannot recommended this hotel highly enough if your looking for a calming seaside stay with enough history “to make the Time Team cry” on your doorstep. We will be back !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hotel parking is limited but they issue parking permits at Reception if you cannot find a space.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn portsmouth hotel portsmouth, portsmouth holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Portsmouth Museum and Art Gallery (0.3 km), Millennium Promenade (0.3 km), and Royal Garrison Church (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maya, Brewhouse & Kitchen - Southsea, and Monty's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Japanese, Thai, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (1.6 km), Little Woodham Living History Village (4.9 km), and Portsdown Hill (6.1 km).
Does Holiday Inn Portsmouth, an IHG hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.