We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

942 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 911: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. The hotel was perfectly convenient for the places we visited. It could do with a bit of a spruce up - definitely one of the more tired looking Holiday Inns that we've stayed in - but the room was comfortable and did what we needed it to. A slight downside was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielleDing
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear DanielleDing, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay but sorry that one member of staff seemed to be patronising, please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel and I hope this didn't ruin your time with us. With regards to the rooms...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We had a standard Double room which was on the small side, but it still had everything you needed. tv, tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Bathrrom was small too, but you . not for two people at a time !! we where on the 3rd floor, one of the lifts was out of order so getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vegasbaby174
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear vegasbaby174, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and Thankyou for all of your feedback - without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. The hotel was built in the 1970's so all the rooms are of a similar...

Gibraltar
Reviewed 9 September 2015

visited with a friend with a view to meeting up with other friends in the afternoon. on arrival it appeared that was a music festival on the advertised overflow parking was cordoned off. Check in was at 2 however I was told our room would not be available till 3 due to how busy the hotel was, therefore had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunbeam1505
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear sunbeam1505, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable stay. I have taken on board all of your feedback and I will pass on your comments to the various managers. I have emailed the housekeeping manager with regards to your shoes so I hope...

Whangaroa, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Genuine mistake.Looking for accom in Portsmout New Hampshire USA.Labor weekend so accom premium.Thought I had booked but to my horror on confirmation email it was in the UK.cancelled it immediately and get pinged the full amount.174 pounds.I emailed straight away but no compassion,so travellers be aware what those fingers do. A very costly mistake

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vickie C
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Vickie C, Thankyou for taking the time to post some feedback. I'm sorry to hear what happened when booking your trip but I'm not sure that we can be to blame for the incident. Surely it shouldn't be a reason to give the hotel a bad review? Thankyou again and maybe we can welcome you to the Holiday Inn...

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the August bank holiday. The hotel was absolutely rammed but the staff were still very attentive and plenty of everything freshly cooked at breakfast. Rooms clean and comfortable. Powerful shower. Parking + over flow available on roads. Would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade M
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Jade M, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay over the busy bank holiday weekend. Customer service is of utmost importance to us so it's wonderful to know that the staff were very attentive. It makes all our hard work worthwhile. Thankyou also for your...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Room very shabby and not clean .bar very busy not enough staff to give 4 star standard of service .food did try .but a lot of guests going out .and if breakfast is the best meal of the day wow not In this hotel sad

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spikler
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear spikler, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I will speak to the housekeeping manager about your room not being clean and I'm sorry you felt the service in the bar wasn't up to standard. Holiday Inns are a 3 star brand,...

Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

On entering the hotel the staff were friendly and polite. The food was good and waiting staff again very good. However once upstairs the rooms are scruffy and dated. In most hotels now WiFi is complementary but not here, you have to pay for it!! The television does have an on demand movie channel if you want to pay £6.25...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Chris E, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful - customer service is of utmost importance to us so it makes all the hardwork worthwhile. I'm very sorry that you were disappointed with the rooms though, I have taken all your...

Ninove, Belgium
Reviewed 2 September 2015

This hotel was the opposit of what we had the night before in the seafront holiday inn in Brighton. Hotel rooms need to be refreshed as well as the lobby. While freshing up the lobby please change the reception manager as well. Not friendly at all and very brute to the girl with him on the reception. This is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Patrick C, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear about your disappointing stay and I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping manager with regards to the water boiler and bathroom - both totally unacceptable. Please accept my apologies. I have passed on, to the general manager, your...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed here on the Saturday and Sunday nights of the Victorious festival 2015. The hotel is in a great location, right near the seafront, it was a real shame that only one of the two lifts worked on what may have been their busiest weekend and they seemed to struggle to keep up with demand at breakfast. I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Lucy F, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. As you rightly thought, last weekend was busier than most and I'm sorry that we seemed to struggle with the demand at breakfast, but I'm pleased you enjoyed it once settled at your table. I'm sorry about one of the lifts not working, definitely...

Churchill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Reasonably priced hotel in excellent location close to historic Portsmouth, Gunwharf Quays, restaurants, bars, casino, shopping centre, car park and ferry terminals. Room was adequate and staff very helpful indeed. Perfect position to visit HMS Warrior, the Mary Rose and its museum. All just 5 minutes walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Trevor W, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your positive feedback regarding our location and staff - customer service is of utmost importance to us. I hope you enjoyed HMS Warrior and Mary Rose. Thankyou again and we look forward...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
6.4 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,148 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
753 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,453 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $143 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
7 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Telford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some road noise from the rooms at front but not excessive.”
petersA5889RC, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room to get a better view”
christophersawyer, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
  • What the...?
Bender_B_Rodriguez, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sixth floor for best views and executive room perks.”
marinerCoventry, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All very standard, go cheap and eat elsewhere.”
Plashfacker, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5